Fiction logo

The folded family scandals

fiction

By BobBamPublished 2 years ago 6 min read

When I had nothing to do, my old father asked me to sort out old photos, life is really a blink of an eye. I'm afraid it's a laurel tree outside the window of my old house, that should be about two or three years old memory it.

In 1964, my father was transferred from the district to the county party committee propaganda department as deputy minister, a family of eight enclosure from the countryside moved to the county. According to my brother, the family of eight came from the countryside to the county on foot, walking for more than 30 miles. At that time, there were three sisters a brother below a sister just born, respectively, 54 years older sister, 55 years twin sister, 58 years brother, 62 years I, 64 years sister. It is said that in 56 and 60 years there were also two sisters respectively, who died at an early age. The parents' fertility is really great. When the above three sisters were born, the state was still implementing the supply system (parents were both working before and after the founding of the country to join the land reform cadres, with three nannies, the eldest sister's nanny is a live-in, the second sister three sisters were foster care in the nanny's home until the age of four or five years old to return home. When the second sister came back, she stayed at home for a day and clamored to return to her home in the countryside with the clothes she brought with her. If it weren't for the fact that the husband of the second sister's nanny was beaten up as a bad element, perhaps her mother would have really sent her back, and it would have been another life. (The second and third sisters have always maintained a close relationship with the nanny to this day, pro over the mother, which is always haunted by the mother when she was alive) Our family in the county government dormitory transition for a period of time, the dormitory corridor outside is a vacant lot, planted a number of wutong trees, golden leaves will be spread all over the ground, a few months later we moved into a new home.

The new home is located in the county government gate directly opposite the end of a hundred meters straight street, was a wealthy family manor, the county government offices have a much longer history, is the late Qing dynasty county government, the gate still retains the majestic tall stone monument stone pillars. The entrance to the manor on the street is two thick wooden doors wrapped in iron, with two yellow animal head pull ring, a push open the door will creak, in the children's ears, the sound of good horror. Entering the door is five or six steps down the green stone stairs, down the stairs, is a large courtyard, green stone road at the end of a row of tiled houses is our new home.

The manor was the family home of the county party committee at that time, before us, has lived in a number of, earlier, higher positions are living in the main courtyard, that is a two-story wood and stone building, there is a large patio, three sides of the patio is a corridor divided into a number of rooms, one side is the hall, behind the hall there is a stone railing on the fish pond, in the eyes of children, the fish pond so deep, picking the gap between the stone railing can faintly see the lime green The golden carp swimming in the water. Some of the older children said that it was used by the landlord to hang and beat people, but now I think it was used to fix the crystal chandelier and so on. The second floor is unoccupied, and there is a thick layer of dust on the floorboards that have fallen into disrepair, and bear children often run from the east stairs, thumping like a gust of wind from the west stairs, raising a cloud of dust. There were a few empty rooms in the middle that were dark, and sometimes we would hear wild cats barking. The house we lived in was in the garden, probably owned by the housekeeper or someone who lived there, facing north and south, with a hall at the entrance and two rooms on the left and right.

After we moved in, the two families were fine with each other. Our side seemed to have two rooms and a kitchen. The room was deep, the window was not big, and there was a tall laurel tree outside the window, at least a hundred years old, with a dark and rough trunk that an adult could not even hold. I can only remember that there was a bamboo bed under the window with a wooden window pane, and standing on tiptoe on the bed I could just see the courtyard outside the window. The sunlight from the west in summer was projected through the window pane in the room, and the light and shadow reflected on the ground would slowly move with time. My parents went to work, my sisters and brothers went to school, my sister and I were imprisoned, feeling the light and shadow cast on our faces in the wooden window pane, imagining that we were prisoners, looking at the landscape of the yard for a long time was very boring, so we played the game of talking with my sister, I said: "I am a fly", my sister said: "I am a mosquito " (Indeed, there were many flies and mosquitoes, and under the laurel tree outside the window was a convenient place for my sister and I. My mother hung an old towel under the wall outside the window. At a fixed time every day, once we squatted, a big black dog in the yard got down in front of us, spitting its tongue and wagging its long tail, and once we got up, it used its tongue to clean the battlefield we left behind, and we used the old towel to clean our own warjan)

"I'm a leaf"

"I'm a leaf too"

   "No, it has to be different"

"Then, then, then I am the tree"

"I am the bed"

"I am the table"

  ......

 I said everything I could see, and finally couldn't find anything else to say. Suddenly my sister said:

"I'm a poop."

"I'm a fart."

Hahahaha! We all fell down on the bamboo bed laughing.

In the courtyard, besides the laurel tree, there were also some low holly trees. The older children would fold some twigs and sit around on the stone bench to play a game, winning the twigs from each other. There is a small door along the west wall of the courtyard, next to an old mulberry tree that bears mulberries in July, which are so sweet and sour that children will eat them with black teeth, and their fingertips will be contaminated with purple and black.

We would turn over the dirt and broken bricks in the vegetable garden, often with an unexpected harvest, either some ancient copper coins or a few shiny beads, once, accidentally dug up a small bronze table, an inch long, exquisite workmanship, perhaps a small accessory on the toy of which young master in the past, I treasured it in the small box of my mother's dressing mirror, until I moved The home is gone. The southwest corner of the vegetable garden is a public toilet, should be the original estate, has fallen into disrepair, no door, once I was catching small green insects on the leaves, a look up suddenly saw a woman is squatting in the toilet, the lower body of the black dripping blood, scared me wow to run outside, this is the first sex education of my life. After that, I never dare to enter the vegetable garden again.

Classical

About the Creator

BobBam

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BobBamWritten by BobBam

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.