Fiction logo

The Ferocity of the Animal World

The survival of the fittest

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 3 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

My writing has suffered in the last few weeks but I’m okay with that.

Why?

Because I’ve had a delightful visit from my big Sister, who lives over 4,500 kilometres away, so I don’t get to spend as much time with her as I’d like.

Therefore, it was always about not taking a single minute of our time together for granted. It was bad enough I still had to work but as I work the bulk of my hours at home, it wasn’t too much of a hardship. My beautiful big Sis and I could still chat the hours away.

All in all, not writing for a week or so was no great loss as I can write anytime but spending quality time with my sister is such a rarity.

Anyway I digress.

Cathylouise (Medium friend) invited me to try my hand at Bradan Writes Stories (Medium Writer) Seedling Challenge.

You can find Bradan’s original challenge here :

And Cathylouise challenge effort here :

So without further ado, here is my Option 1 - Dribble piece.

For those of you that don’t know, a Dribble is a flash fiction story told in 50 words.

The Ferocity of the Animal World

The survival of the fittest

The large python stalked the small piglet through the undergrowth, its skin undulating in stealthy silence.

With a resounding squeal, the piglet fought a hard fight as the python coiled tightly around its midsection, when suddenly the piglet’s mother flew towards the dangerous python and ferociously attacked in indignant fury.

Depending on where Google takes you when you search for the definition of a Dribble, as some sites say it’s a flash fiction story written in up to 50 words and other sites say a Dribble is a flash fiction story written in EXACTLY 50 words.

With this in mind, I decided to challenge myself to the utmost and run with the definition of a Dribble being exactly 50 words.

Not an easy feat!

I’d love to see some of the best writers on Vocal give this challenge a try.

Can you imagine a Dripple, Drabble, Microfiction, Postcard Fiction, Sudden Fiction, Short Story and Novelette, slowly building in the Horror Genre and written by Dharsheena Raja Segarran. Oh, it would be utterly delightful.

And then for the same challenge building by Cathy Holmes with her wicked sense of humour. Definitely be well worth the read.

(Refer below for the definitions of each of the challenge steps and the number of words that make up each classification, be that a Dribble or a Drabble etc.)

The idea behind the Seedling Challenge is to start a fiction story with a Dribble and then expand on your story as per the challenges instructions as follows :

Stage Breakdown:

Try not to skip around and start at the beginning. Grow and develop your story in stages but remember, have fun!

1. Dribble: 50 words (Optional start)

2. Drabble: 100 words

3. Microfiction: 101–300 words

4. Postcard Fiction: 301–500 words

5. Sudden Fiction: 501–1,000 words

6. Short Story: 1,001–2,000 words

7. Novelette: 2,001+ words (Optional hardcore ending)

Now I’m curious as to where my story is going to take me.

I do hope you enjoy Part 1 - My Dribble.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

Short StorySeriesMystery

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Sounds like more fun than I can handle, but only because I still have something like 40 tabs open with stories to be read from people I follow.

  • Oh wow, I've been challenged! I've not done a Dribble, Drabble or Mircofiction before. So I think I'll do those 3 in the same piece! Hope I can come with with some ideas. I'll let you know when I've published it! 😁

  • This is great! Who would've think it?... a Dribble and a Drabble! I learned something new today and will have to try these. One thing the shorter pieces do is refine editing.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.