Fiction logo

The Family Farm

By: JK Ripperger

By Josh RippergerPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Family Farm
Photo by Markus Petritz on Unsplash

Demons can smell out a troubled soul quicker than a pile of shit can attract a swarm of flies, and we had an infestation of both. It was the middle of summer when I went to visit my dying father. The crops were half-grown, my clothes clung to my skin, my throat was dry, and I was tired of driving.

When I finally made it to my parent’s place, I put my car into park and watched the dust settle. Behind the veil of dirt stood my childhood home with a red for sale sign resting in front. It had been ten years since I was here last, and not a single thing had changed. The siding was still white, the black tiled roof still matched the door, and the wrap-around porch was still green.

I gave the door a knock and listened as someone on the other side stomped towards me. The door swung back, and standing behind it was my older sister, Gloria. Her long red hair was tied into a ponytail, and her green eyes looked tired. She smiled, showing the small gap in between her two front teeth that always caused an airy sound to follow all of her words.

“Jason!” She wrapped me into a tight hug and pulled away before I could even return the gesture. “How good to see you! Come inside before you die from heatstroke.

“It’s good to see you too, Sis. How are things going?”

“Oh, ya know, same ole same. I could use a couple million, but who couldn’t, right?”

I chuckled and said, “Amen, how are the kids doing? Tim was just starting high school, and Kimberly had just gotten into junior high the last time I saw them.”

“It’s been that long since the last time we saw you? That writing sure does keep you busy.”

“In my defense, it can be a little expensive driving down here. Besides, the page can be a demanding mistress. Now, tell me, how are the kids?”

“Tim is good. He’s a senior and captain of the varsity football team, which I hope will help get him into college next year! Kimberly has been trying here lately, but I try to remind myself that I was the same way at her age. I just wish she would stop blowing all of my money on fancy clothes.”

I nodded but tuned out most of what she said. We had just walked into the living room, and reality came flooding back. Gone was the familiar kitschy farm ascetic, and in its place was a sleek modern look that any DIYer would be proud to have in their home. The wall in front of me was navy blue. It had a giant clock without a shell, and hanging beside it were these green plant strips. The walls on the side were a greyish color. They had a set of black picture frames with black and white photos of farm equipment in them. The only piece of furniture was a large bed in the center of the room with a withered man under the covers.

He didn’t look like the person I had at one time called dad. My dad had arms the size of boulders and trees for legs. The person that laid before me was a raisin of a man. He had no hair on his body and looked like he had died weeks ago. When I got closer, all I could smell was the pungent aroma of urine. I wanted to wrap him into my arms and scream at him for letting himself go like this. He wasn’t even sixty-five yet, yet he looked like he was a thousand.

“Don’t stare, dear. Your dad doesn’t like to be reminded of his condition.”

“I can’t. My dad is too tough and mighty to be in that bed.”

A cool hand pulled my face away from my father’s glassy stare. Standing in front of me was an older version of Gloria. Her hair had lost the fire of its youth, and there were more wrinkles, but no one could look at her and my sister and think they weren’t related. I wrapped my mom into my arms and squeezed.

“It’s so good to see you, son.”

“You too, Ma. I’m sorry it took dad getting sick for me to come down.”

She pulled away from me and sighed, “We can’t change the past, but I did hope you and your father would patch things up. Is there any chance you’d consider taking his offer?”

I balled my fist and could feel the vein in my temple pulsing. A small fly started to buzz around me, and in my frustration, I swatted after it. “No. This was dad’s dream, not mine.”

My mother sighed, “I know, dear but, the books you have always talked about writing have yet to appear.”

I let out an agitated cough, but before I could fight back, Gloria said,

“Well, I guess it doesn’t matter. I saw the for-sale sign when I came in. Have you had any luck so far?”

My mother gave me one last begging look and answered, “No. Everyone who comes to look at the place says it freaks them out too much.”

Gloria gave me a concerned look and asked, “What is so scary about a small-town farm in the middle of Illinois?”

“I think it would be easier just to show you, dear.”

I followed my mother as she led us towards the barn outback. As a kid, the barn was in top condition. Animals paraded around it, and a lot of early mornings were spent milking the cows inside. That barn was dead now, and in its place stood a skeleton of its former glory. The fire truck red was now a faded maroon-looking color. The paint was peeling, boards were dangling off the sides, and a giant hole was gaping through the roof. The only thing that remained the same was the smell of shit. As we got closer to the entrance, the flies became unbearable. The tiny pests crawled up and down my body, into my mouth, and buzzed in my ears. I don’t know how many I swallowed before I was able to get inside the barn.

Once my eyes adjusted, I could see a single bulb swinging from the rafters. All the stalls were gone, the dirt floor was now concrete, and somehow the walls were now made of metal. The hole that was present on the outside was missing, and all I could hear was the sound of death. Voices coughed, wailed, and moaned. Some even whimpered, while others prayed. The creepy ensemble made my hairs stick on end. I started to shiver, and all I wanted to do was run. I looked for my sister and mom but found myself utterly alone. I turned around to try and go back the way I came, but the door was gone, and the voices kept getting louder. I started to sway, and the barn’s far wall inched closer. If I didn't move soon, I would be crushed. Thankfully the wall stopped a few feet in front of me, and a door appeared out of thin air. Inside stood a person who looked both handsome and beautiful. When the figure stepped towards me, the door they had entered disappeared, and the voices finally stopped.

The being had long black hair, pupils with no iris, and skin that almost sparkled. Every part of me wanted to run, sweat poured down my body, my chest felt like it would explode, and I could feel the beginnings of a scream rising up my throat. The being snapped its finger, and the environment changed. We were now six feet underground, and dirt started to rain down upon us. I clawed the side of the hole to try and escape the torment, but all I got in return were two handfuls of soil.

The figure laughed, “Is death really this scary for you, Jason?”

“Everybody fears death besides, I’m being buried alive. I think it would be more concerning if I was calm.”

“Perhaps you are right, but what if I could make it to where you never died.”

“That’s not possible.”

“Maybe not for you and the other surface dwellers, but for people with my… connections, I can give you anything you desire.”

“For what price?”

The person tapped its temple and continued, “Bright lad, nothing gets past you. You see, my kind enjoys to feast upon the fears of your people. You have quite a few, and by ensuring you live forever, there is no need to be afraid of death. Therefore, I can gobble that fear up, and you can go on your merry way.”

“What’s the catch?”

“No catch. I take your fear of death, and you live forever. That’s it.”

“You don’t take my soul or anything?”

“Now, why would I do that? Once your soul is mine, I have no more fears to feast upon.”

I stared into this strange being’s eyes to try and see if it was lying to me, but I couldn’t tell. There was too much to think about, and the dirt was up to my knees. If I didn’t decide soon, I’d die, and all of this would be for nothing. But what if it was a trap? If it truly was as harmless as the person says, I should be able to say no.

“And what if I say no?”

The figure smiled, “Then you die, and I move on to the next person.”

“So you'll kill me?”

“No. Until a deal is struck, I can play no part in your life. You will awake in the broken-down barn and forget ever seeing me.”

“And if I say yes?”

“Then you, and your life, are contractually mine for the tampering. I will say, as long as you aren’t too greedy, you will live quite the extravagant life.”

The dirt was now up to my chest and each word I uttered hurt my lungs. I tried to wiggle to give me space to breathe, but it didn’t help.

“I’d hurry up if I were you. You are running out of time.”

“I thought you said you couldn’t hurt me?”

“I can’t, but you can hurt yourself.” The being then snapped its fingers again, and we returned to the strange barn. I looked down and saw that my feet were swinging inches off of the ground. My lungs burned, and when I went to massage my neck, I felt a rough and scratchy piece of rope tied around it.

“So, do we have a deal?”

“No,” I croaked.

“Name your price. I can make the deal sweet enough to bite.”

“NO!”

“So be it. You know where to find me if you change your mind.”

The figure snapped its finger one last time and left me gasping on the concrete floor. Lying next to me was my mother. I placed my hands on her neck and found that there was a slight pulse. Gloria was nearby holding a bloodied shovel. Below her laid my father with a matching bloodied face.

“Gloria! What the hell are you doing?”

“He attacked me! Kept babbling on about upsetting Lucy.”

“Who is Lucy?”

My mother slowly rose and answered, “The person who haunts our barn. Did any of you take her deal?”

“No,” I replied.

“Kind of,” responded Gloria.

“What did you take?”

“Don’t get snippy, mom. Lucy or whatever it goes by offered me all the money I could ever need.”

“What was the price?”

She walked towards us shaking her head. "Nothing too crazy.” She then hit me over the head with a shovel, and my mother screamed before Gloria continued, “I just had to give Lucy one of your souls.”

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Josh Ripperger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.