Fiction logo

The Fallen Angel - 5

The journey begins....

By Sara SparrowPublished 2 years ago 5 min read

Darkness. All around me is darkness. Am I blind? Or am I really in the dark?

“AHHHHHHHHHHHH!” I scream panicking and stand up. I hit my head onto something hard, and sit back down. Chains on my wrists. I search around above me... and feel a wooden block above me.

“Oh no” turning around I panic to find some source of light. Panic drives over my brain. I rattle the chains more. I stand up and hit my head again. I entwine the chains around my wrists in my struggling, I pull down and the wood breaks. I yank to the left, and hit into a wall.

“Ahh!” my heart pounds, I feel around the wall for anything, anything to help me see. A corner in the wall... I feel around some more... something... there is a button... I push it. A bright light shines into the room.

“Ahh!” I throw my arms to my face and I land on my back on the ground. Closing my eyes tightly I try to focus on my breathing... and find myself falling asleep.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Waking up, I see a bright light ahead of me. I look down on the chains still on my wrists, silver rusty chains, and broken pieces of wood lie ahead of me. A wooden seat is in the middle of the room and a broken wooden ledge above it. The room is a very small room, a white floor, white walls and a white ceiling. I look to my left and there is a massive silver door with no handle on it.

I stand up and walk to the door. I feel around... a smooth silver surface. There is nothing on it to let me out of this room.

But then... I think... who am I? Where am I? Why am I here? Confusion sweeps over my brain. I stand and stare at the door. I look down at the chains on my wrists. All I know is that I am locked in this small room, and there is no way out. This door with no handle is not helping me. Thoughts of hanging myself with this chain are starting to grow on me. I want to know who I am, and why I am here.

Something is flickering on the left of me... I look up, and see a camera, and a red flashing light. What is this? What does it mean? Is someone watching me? How will I ever know?

“What is that?” I ask myself. I walk over to it and look up. A small device attached to the wall. It looks like someone is watching me through it. But who? And why? So many different thoughts running through my head... and my first, is to get out of this room. But how?

I walk back over to the door. No handle, no nothing. How am I supposed to get out? Is this some kind of test or something? Is the whole world watching me? I don’t like any of this. I look back up at the device on the wall. A red flashing light. I turn around and scan the room. Broken wooden beams on the floor. White floor, white walls, white ceiling. And that’s it. No other means of escape of this white room of terror.

I look back at the door. Anger, sweeps over my brain. The thought of staying in this room much longer frightens me. Nothing but a red flashing light, the feeling that I am being watched.

I need to get out of here.

I grit my teeth, ready myself and then charge at the door with my arms out. The metal gives way and I go straight through the door and land on my front.

“No!” I get up in a panic and look ahead, I never thought what would be on the other side of the door nor did I think I could get out the room like this. I walk backwards into the room and look ahead. A long white corridor lies up ahead with doors either side of them. It looks never ending. The doors, very similar to the one I just broke down. I give a sigh of relief. Scared of what is to come, I make my hands into fists again. I step out of the room.

What if it is never ending? What if there are other people here like me? There is only one way to find out about this. I look at the door first on my left. A large wheel is fitted on the door. I am assuming this is how to get in the room. I grab the top of the wheel with both hands, and start to turn it to the left. I start to feel excited, knowing that I am going to find out what is in the room.

The door comes away, and I pull it back. A disgusting smell pours out from the room. I hold my hands to my face and look into the room.

“Uhhh” a body, with an arm sticking out from a head, a leg sticking out of a rib, a finger sticking out from a leg. A body like my own, gone terribly wrong. The smell is too much. I push the door shut and spin the wheel to the right, the smell has made my eyes water. I sit at the door and look at the door opposite me, dare I open the door to see what lies in the room?

Yes. Yes, I will.

I grab the wheel and spin it to the left locking it off.

“Help meee” a low weak voice comes from the other side of the door. Frozen in terror, I peak around to see what is in the room. White floor, white ceiling and white walls. All of these rooms must be the same. On the floor is a body, a body with no legs, skinny arms, a face so pale with no hair.

“Please help me” it stretches its arms up at me and moves towards me.

“Oh no” I say and back out of the room. I feel so helpless. “I’m sorry”

“Please help me” it puts an arm to my foot and I back away some more. I cannot tell if it is male or female.... at a guess... I would say female. “Please”

“I’m sorry” I stand out of the room and look up. Above the door lies the number 98 in silver lettering. I look opposite and see 99 on the other door, above the room I was in, 100.

“Please help”

“I’m sorry.... I don’t know what to do” I back away some more. Are there others here? Like me? Or worse. Well, there’s only one way to find out. How do I help this poor, defenceless, person? I have no idea... the only way to find out is to go in all of the other rooms and see what is in them. And the only way to help is to take them... if they are anymore... with me. I can only hope there is a way out of this place.

Short Story

About the Creator

Sara Sparrow

Diagonally parked in the universe.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sara SparrowWritten by Sara Sparrow

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.