Fiction logo

The Estranged Wife Part 2

Sarah Collins, a successful engineer and a divorcee never thought of seeing her ex-husband again. It probably is the worst day of her life to be in the same room with her ex-husband and have a meeting with him. The universe probably made a big joke on her when Alex Karydi was sent to handle the project and collaborate with her instead of his colleague. The tension between them escalated when Sarah's boyfriend, Andrew Kennedy, went all the way to Singapore to surprise and propose to her. The thought of his ex-wife marrying another man angered Alex even more and he did everything he could to make her suffer. Will Sarah and Alex rekindle their love despite Alex's extreme enmity for his accused cheating ex-wife?

By Jem RicafortPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 12 min read
Like

Sarah Collins’ POV

I woke up early today because I needed to be in the office before 8 o’ clock to meet with my team. I glanced at the clock on the side table and it was 5:30 am, just in time to try on different outfits that I planned to wear for today, take a shower and have a decent breakfast with George. I took a shower, made a neat bun with my hair and put some light makeup on. I decided to wear my black and white colour blocked fake two piece dress and black open toe pumps. I didn’t want to be underdressed for the meeting but I certainly couldn’t afford to be overdressed and make an impression that I was the CEO. I wore a pair of pearl earrings and a gold oversized watch. I pulled back the curtain from my bedroom window to see what the weather was like outside. It was raining heavily. I grabbed a coat from my closet and left the apartment. I saw George standing at the lobby waiting for me.

“The driver’s going to be here in 5 minutes. Let’s grab some pancakes and coffee on the way.” George flashed a childish grin.

“I don’t know if I’ll be able to maintain my composure when I meet the project manager later.” I uttered nervously.

“Same here! Oh God, is there any way we could back out from this or ask somebody to take over?” He replied anxiously.

“I’m afraid not. Let’s just give our best and hope that we won’t screw up.” I sighed.

“Let’s go, the driver’s here.”

We went to the nearest café and ordered some pancakes and cappuccino. I couldn’t even swallow my food. I am so nervous! After 30 minutes, we were in front of our new office. George opened the door for me and two women greeted us.

“Good morning, Mr. Harris and Ms. Collins. This way please.”

How did they even know our names? I wonder. The taller woman led us to the conference room. She opened the door for us and smiled.

“Have a seat. Can I get you anything?” She asked in a friendly tone.

There were people in the conference room talking in a language that I didn’t understand. I sat near the door while George sat on the other side of the table. I smiled at the other three men in the room. They were in late 40s or early 50s. I gave George a confused look and knew that he understood what I meant. I was told that we would meet with young engineers from the US so I figured that the three men were not the ones mentioned on the email. I heard the glass door opened and George’s eyes glistened with delight. They were talking to each other as they entered the conference room. Oh, it must be the Americans. My heart started to beat fast. I arched my head and entwined my fingers together. They walked behind me and I couldn’t see their faces. I was stunned when the man spoke. He sounded like my ex-husband. I lifted my head and my peripheral vision saw Alex Karydi standing next to me. I took a few deep breaths before I got the courage to look at the man beside me. I turned around and looked at him. There he was, my ex-husband, looking sternly back at me.

Five more men came and they introduced themselves to each other. After a brief introduction, the meeting carried on. I couldn’t wait for it to be over. It was hell for me. I couldn’t focus. I was completely disoriented. I just wanted to disappear. All I could think about was how to avoid Alex as much as I could. After the meeting, the secretary showed us our new offices. I liked my new office. It was spacious and very organized.

George and I spent all afternoon chatting in my office. Work hasn’t started yet; at least serious one hasn’t. I still feel exhausted after a week of unpacking, organizing, and decorating our new apartment in Singapore.

We were talking about the awkwardness I felt in the room with my ex and his best friend when we heard a knock on the door.

A lady with dark brown eyes and auburn hair opened the door and spoke, “Hi! My name is Lara and I’m from the HR. I booked a table for you and the rest of the team at SweetSpot. Don’t be late. Be there 3 o’ clock sharp.”

“Got it! I heard they make the best chocolate cake in town.” George answered with a smile.

I really didn’t want to go but I had no choice. It was just reasonable that I didn’t want to hang out with them because I was the only girl in the team but George insisted that I come so he wouldn’t feel left out. We arrived at SweetSpot at 2:45. George opened the door for me and we saw David and Alex seated on a table at one corner which I could say was the coziest spot of the café. David smiled and raised his hand with a cup but Alex had an indescribable reaction on his handsome face. I can sense trouble; or probably the trouble itself is just standing few meters away from me.

Alex Karydi’s POV

I thought Sarah wouldn’t show up for afternoon coffee knowing her apprehension towards men and their company. I was really surprised when my dad told me she was living in the same apartment with her gay best friend. She had only one male friend back then, the wife stealer Nate Hampton. So it’s impossible that it was Nate he was referring to. I need to find out what happened to her and that man.

My ex-wife did change a lot; from her fashion style to her attitude towards men. Her arm was linked to George’s when they arrived. She smiled graciously at David but didn’t bother to look at me. What is wrong with this woman? I want to strangle her to death. The cold-hearted woman looked stunning in her outfit and her curly auburn hair looked good on her. Damn, she’s devastatingly gorgeous! I just want to grab her in my arms and kiss her.

“What the hell are you thinking, Alex? She’s a cold-hearted bitch who cheated on you. You’re not supposed to be overwhelmed by her presence.” I chastised myself.

David stood up to greet them and I just walked tediously behind him. He guided them to our table at the corner of the café. He pulled the chair for her and stared affectionately at her. George caught me looking gruffly at them. I took my phone from my pocket and pretended that I got a call from someone. I moved few meters away but close enough to see what they were doing and continued with my lame act. I made a fool out of myself because I was annoyed with David’s stance to get close to my ex-wife. He's my best friend and he's supposed to hate this woman. I went to the restroom to freshen up and saw Sarah on our table alone.

“Where did George and David go?” I asked myself. I headed to our table and sat across her.

“So what brought you here, Ms. Collins?” I stupidly asked.

“The same reason you were here, Mr. Karydi.” She rolled her eyes at me.

This woman’s guts were indisputably aggravating!

“I thought you were uncomfortable around men. I guess I was wrong.” I stared at her beautiful brown eyes filled with rage.

“Let’s just say that my experiences changed me.” She answered frigidly.

“It must be really hard for you.” I commented sarcastically. I couldn’t help but to ridicule her.

“So, are you married?” I asked without hesitation. I’ve been itching to ask her this question when I saw her at the conference room today.

“No, but I have a boyfriend back in Oz.” She replied steadily.

I was tempted to ask for her boyfriend’s name but decided not to. I was impressed by how this woman maintained her composure despite the awkward situation we were in.

“I think your boyfriend doesn’t truly care about you. He should have flown to Singapore for a few days to make sure you get settled here.”

I said that to annoy her. I wanted to see if she would lash out on me if I kept pushing her buttons.

“He has more important things to do back home instead of keeping me company.”

She didn’t even blink when she said that. She was really tough. I need to do better than this, I told myself.

“More important than you?” I teased.

“Yes. Instead of sitting his bureaucratic ass on a chair and making other people miserable, he’s saving lives. And also, I lived in Singapore for 4 years so I consider this my home too.” She uttered in exasperation.

This is what I’ve been waiting for. I smirked with contentment.

“How does your boy toy save lives?” grinned wickedly at her.

“He’s a doctor, sir.” She emphasized the word “sir” with extreme disgust in her tone. “He’s a surgeon. If you need to remove something, perhaps a tumor in your brain that suppresses your ability to think clearly just let me know and I’ll give him a call.” She replied sardonically.

“You want to intimidate me by cleverly taunting me. You’re not going to succeed. And just so you know, you have a despicable attitude, Sarah Collins.” I gave her a smug look.

“You probably don’t understand the meaning of despicable, Alex Karydi. You can only say and spell it.” She exclaimed in a disgusted tone.

This was incredible! I was supposed to annoy her, but she surprisingly played the game better than I did. She managed to get into my nerves even before I got into hers. Where did she learn to be overly sarcastic? I didn’t expect it to be too difficult to bully her. I thought of a clever thing to say.

And this was the first thing that came to my mind, “No, actually I can’t spell it. But I can spell cold-hearted bitch. And that spells Y-O-U.”

“You lost your manners somewhere, sir. Do you want me to find them for you? Oh scratch that, I’ll just get one for you. They’re having it on sale on a store few blocks from here.” She hissed in disapproval.

“I heard you took your masters degree at the University of Melbourne. What program? I strongly believe that it’s Sarcasm and Infuriology. I must say they have an excellent program on that one.” I gave her a fake smile. I could see the frustration in her eyes.

“I saw an extortionist flag at the main entrance when I got in the office this morning. I didn’t know it was yours. Why would you bring that in the office? Do you think you can intimidate us with that?” She said mockingly.

“Trust me, it’s not the only thing that I brought. I also brought chains and whips for overly sarcastic and impudent fellow like you.” I said playfully.

“You are incorrigible!” She sighed in resignation.

She was really vexed.

“Isn’t that one of the things you loved about me, my ex-wife?” I said the word wife bitterly.

Our heated argument was cut off when George and David arrived with the rest of the team. I rose from my seat and greeted the newcomers with a handshake. Sarah politely welcomed them and returned to her seat. David sat next to her. Now she was seated in between George and David.

“You must be Sarah Collins.” The Singaporean project manager courteously said and offered his hand to Sarah. “I am Joseph Chow.”

Sarah smiled amiably at him and shook his hand. “Ni hao? Hen gaoxing renshi ni!” She said cheerfully.

Joseph laughed and spoke, “I see that you speak Mandarin. By the way my sister says hi.”

“Yes, I can still remember my Mandarin. How is Ariel doing?” She gladly asked.

“She’s doing great. She’s currently in the US. By the way, Ms. Collins is a friend of my sister. They were in the same class in NTU.

Joseph proudly announced. So that’s it. She got the job because she knew people inside. I couldn’t get her fired so I need to think of another way to make her miserable until she decides to quit. I simply couldn’t work with her. I was making plans in my head and got interrupted when Joseph raised a personal question.

“Are you married, Alex?” Joseph asked curiously.

“Actually, I was married sir. I gave Sarah an evil grin and continued, “My wife died 6 years ago. She got hit by a bus while crossing the street to meet up with her lover.”

“I’m so sorry to hear that.” He uttered apologetically.

Sarah almost choked on the chocolate cake she just put in her mouth while David scowled at me. George and the others gave me a sympathetic look. Sarah’s face, on the other hand, was burning with contempt.

Joseph then faced Sarah and enquired, “How about you, Sarah? Are you married?”

Sarah looked at me and flashed an evil genius smile. “I was divorced. My husband had some problem, uhm you know, it’s too complicated. How do I say this? He suffered from erectile dysfunction and that changed him. I kept telling him that it was okay but he constantly served me with his paranoia and one day, he surprised me with divorce papers saying our marriage was over.” She responded.

They all cracked up and I flushed. This woman is a notorious liar, I told irately to myself. Erectile dysfunction? How could this woman insult me like that? I stared angrily at her but she didn’t care. Instead, she gave me an “I told you not to mess up with me” look. I need to have a concrete plan on how to take this woman down. A brilliant idea popped into my head and I smiled devilishly at her. I think she got the message I was trying to impart on her. The smile on her beautiful face wore off. I will keep this ungrateful and arrogant woman in line.

To be continued..Part 3 will be submitted for SFS 3: Brown Paper Box challenge.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Jem Ricafort

Website: https://www.mycanadaprjourney.com

Twitter: cheekygirl727

Instagram: cheekylittleminx727

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/mwlite/in/jemmayel-ricafort

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/cheekylittleminx727

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.