Fiction logo

The Emergence

A cicada takes flight

By Cody SegravesPublished 11 months ago 3 min read

I waited in my earthen chamber for the longest time, my existence measured by the slow rhythm of the roots that danced around me, their hidden language humming in sync with my being. The soil around me, rich and dark, was a cacophony of unending whispers - the worms tunneling, the beetles scrabbling, and the tree roots reaching deeper. My world was dark but teeming with life, and it vibrated with a melody that was both hypnotic and comforting.

With time, something stirred inside me. An urgency, a desire that broke the tranquility of my existence, that was at odds with the regular pulse of life around me. It was a call that was as ancient as the very soil I lived in - a call to ascend. I obeyed, instinctually moving upwards through the earth. The soil parted, grumbling in protest at my insistent push, yet providing me with the necessary passage. I was bound by an invisible tether to a world I had never seen, guided by an internal compass pointing unerringly towards the surface.

The moment my antennae brushed against the cooler surface air, a shock ran through me. A new world of sensations exploded - the touch of wind, the smell of green, the taste of the rain-soaked air. I clawed my way out of the earth and onto the bark of a tree, clinging with all my might as the reality of what was about to happen started sinking in. I was vulnerable, a prey to any nocturnal hunter that happened upon me, yet I was compelled to stay, to complete what nature demanded.

And then, the final transformation began. My body heaved and strained, a pulsating rhythm that was painful yet exhilarating. The outer casing that had protected me so long cracked open and I wriggled out, my wings unfurling from the confines of my old shell. They were wet, fragile, but as I waited, they hardened and became strong. I was in awe of these translucent miracles that had emerged from my own body.

With a final effort, I took flight. I was no longer a prisoner of the earth but an explorer of the air, a participant in a world that had only been a distant dream. The night was filled with the songs of my kind, a symphony that echoed the ancient melody that had once filled my earthbound existence.

This was my world now - a world of flight, of music, of dazzling lights and tantalizing smells. The soil was now a memory, a reminder of a time that was no longer mine. But as I soared through the night, joining the chorus of my brethren, I knew that I was exactly where I was meant to be.

Yet, even as I reveled in the freedom of flight, I knew that this life was not meant to last. The intensity of my existence, the vibrancy of every sensation, all pointed towards one undeniable truth - my life was short. But this knowledge didn't sadden me. Instead, it lent a poignant beauty to everything I experienced. Every sight, every smell, every note I sang was savored, treasured, engraved into the very essence of my being.

And as my life drew to its inevitable end, I was content. I had lived. I had flown. I had sung my heart out to the moon. I was a part of the world, a part of the rhythm that tied everything together, from the deepest roots to the highest branches. As I took my final flight, my song fading into the chorus of the night, I knew I had fulfilled my purpose. My journey was complete. And with the rising sun, I returned to the earth, completing the circle of life. But I did not despair. For I knew that beneath the soil, my legacy would continue.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Cody Segraves

Originally from West Virginia, I've now planted roots in Fairfax, VA, with my wife and 2 dogs. My passions? Videogames, trails, fishing, painting miniatures, and gardening. I write about all these, with a sprinkle of sci-fi for good measure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cody SegravesWritten by Cody Segraves

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.