Fiction logo

The Elephant In The Sky

Looking Up!

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Elephant In The Sky
Photo by Xuan Luo on Unsplash

Ladies and Gentlemen, we are ready for takeoff. I am Pilot Ray, and will be chauffering you for the rest of your travels.

Looking off to the east, it looks like we have a beautiful ray of sunshine, a great day to sit back and listen to some tunes with the ear pods we have supplied you with, and I hope you have a wonderful relaxing day.

Thank you, everyone, for flying with Ginger Air Services.

Spirit In The Sky

I've been waiting so long to be above the clouds, close to you, my love.

I know you are near. I can feel your ever presence. From the moment of take-off, I could feel your cologne's gentle touch on the back of my neck. But now that we are flying higher, I know you are beside me.

I could never have flown alone, but knowing you would be with me makes this trip even more exciting. It's been too long since you left; your spirit excites me. Come close and cuddle with me.

Often when I lay outside, I laugh at how we used to look up in the clouds and find silly little things. Now I call you my elephant in the sky. Remember our trip to Africa when we did the safari ride? The big elephant that chased us.

"Mam," are you okay? We were somewhat concerned, you're talking out loud with your ear pods on, and the passengers wondered if you needed anything.

Oh my, how embarrassing. When I am home alone, I often talk away to myself or sing when music comes on. I am so sorry if I bothered anyone. I want some sparkling wine if you dont mind, and an extra cup. An extra cup?

Oh yes, my husband passed away, so I often have an empty cup for him and one for me. That must sound strange to you, but it's like he is with me.

Oh, not at all; we want you to enjoy your trip. I will be right back.

Oh, Francise we almost got caught.

Giggle, Giggle.

Hello Passengers

Pilot Ryan here; we are coming into some pretty nasty weather. Please buckle up and hang on tight.

The plane started going off track, swaying one way to the other. The stewardess looked very concerned,

Winds were picking up; air turbulence was getting bad. Passengers were swaying from side to side.

"Oh, Francise"

It feels like were riding donkeys up the Rocky Mountains, Yee Haw,

What a trip. Hang on to me,

Wow.

"Mary Beth," it's me Francise. Dont be afraid.

I haven't heard your voice for so long; why are you speaking to me now?

I am your spirit in the sky; listen carefully. Make sure you are buckled in safely; I am beside you, as you already know.

The turbulence allows me to speak; we only have a while before they stop,

I miss you, my love; I am so proud of you for travelling and doing the things we never got to do; I love you so very much.

Oh Francise, so much I want to tell you.

I've been with you on the journey until now. I have seen you and all of the family, but it's time for me to move on. Please do not be afraid; where I will be is beautiful and I am with my family before me.

Please capture beautiful things in life, and share with the family lots of love. Also, you are so young; please find love again. You are so beautiful, my one true love.

How dare you tell me that, Francise. No, I won't find another love.

How dare you.

I am sorry. I just hope you have others to share your beautiful life with.

Francise, I will always have you in my heart.

One thing Mary Beth, tell know one of me. Very rarely does the voice of a spirit come to life to talk. Our love and the turbulence allowed this to happen.

Thank you, Francise; this is the best trip ever. We're still going for the ride.

When it calms down, look out the window,

The Calm

Pilot Ray here, we are starting to calm, and the winds are going down. I hope everyone is safe, and it looks like a smooth ride the rest of the way.

"Francise," are you here?

"Francise," are you here?

Tears rolled down her cheek until she looked out the window,

"A Big Beautiful Cloud Shaped Like An Elephant."

"Thank you, my elephant, my spirit in the sky.

"Mam, would you like your glasses of wine now?"

"Only one, please."

By Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi~C - Ah, the story teller again; I can dig it! And, I so-get how you always close with an up-note; something my Sis, the English Professor, always insisted that I to do. Only thing is - where did you have the time to write all of this; while being a 'Gimp' {for lack of a more appropriate description} - I reckon you're just putting your boot-up under your desk and your mind to your words; a good thing! Coincidence: I've just finished (in my draft) a story with a 'Rhino' as it's heading: Better than a horn-poke in the eye." I don't know if it's 'African' or even if he's a He; but, with his Hump he/she may be a Trans-beast: Whew, can I say that? - It's fun to be silly - Get's your mind off of you; if just for a moment! I hope you have the time to go back on my scroll to 'At The Park' ...You may enjoy that? Once again, you amuse and amaze me: Don't kick me for saying that; the knee you hurt will be yours! Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.