Fiction logo

Hound A Way

Resort - Escape From Everyday Life

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Hound A Way
Photo by Sebastian Coman Travel on Unsplash

"Well, Riley, what's new?"

A litter of six has just arrived. Betty complains all the time. Poor girl, I do my best to help her, but those pups are a handful.

"What about you, Everett? I haven't seen you at the park lately?"

No, Milly and I stayed at a spa called "Hound A Way," That was some resort. You must get away and go there when you and Betty are up to it.

Yes, if that will ever happens. Would our landlord ever send us to a place like that?

Yea, you're even lucky to get shampoo now and again.

What are you implying, Everett?

Meaning they're cheap, Riley, not that you smell or anything.

Oh, that's good. The housekeeper bathed me in the guest tub a few days ago, and I still smell her strawberry shampoo. She is a great gal but never gets all the nats out of my hair. A good brushing would be great.

Well, look over there, woo wee, that Baxter's girl. They call her Cloe: White and Black and such a babe.

I'll say, (whistle -whistle). We better be careful, or Baxter will be over here beating the two of us if our gals got wind of it. Well, let's not even go there.

**********************************************************************

Let's walk over to the pond, feeling a little thirsty.

Tell me more about this Hound A Way Spa you went to,

We had a lovely suite for us, comfy soft beds. Tons of toys to chew on, and the yard we went out and played in was state of the art. We met a few other couples that got away for the weekend. (when you poop, do they scoop)

Now the food was terrific—no dry dog food for us. How about a nice juicy steak with gravy for dinner and all-you-could-eat milk bones for the day? We honestly are recommending it to all of our pals. They have them all over the Country.

Now the caregivers are the kindest people ever. They took the two of us out just before the sun went down, and man was that walk devine.

You better watch out, buddy; you will be the next to have pups like us.

Oh no, we have only one pup left with us, and now that will be it for us.

Our pup Bruno is waiting for his bride to arrive. She is coming from someone they met through the Hound A Way Resort. I hear she is classy, only the best for our boy.

Congratulations, Everett; so when is the wedding?

Well, I heard she is arriving next Saturday. Bruno has already met her and is head over heels in love with her. (he also met his soon-to-be inlaws too)

I am going to enjoy having a daughter-in-law.

Then it won't be long before we become grandparents; we are young.

I dont think so. Those pups will be fun for you two to look after when they want to go outside.

Yea, Im hoping they get to go to Hound A Way for their honeymoon.

How could I get our landlords to do that for us? Betty and I had our pups and were only going to keep two this time. So the rest go for well over $3,500.00 each. I feel they owe us.

What do you think, Everett?

I will be right back, my housekeeper keeps a pamphlet in her bag, and I will bring it to you.

There you go, Riley, keep dropping it on the floor before them. Eventually, they will look at it; if all is good, you will get to go.

Sounds great to me.

Also, remember that when Bruno gets married, your landlords will be at the house. I will drop a few around them too. You know how they love showing us off.

They sure do; we are both in that dog show competition next month. I hope they put that bow tie on me; I win with that every time.

To think I thought you won because of those rubber boots they put on you. Bark, Bark, Bark

You are just jealous because I am so hot.

Not, Im glad they dont dress me in anything but the fur on my back and my bling collar.

"Well, it's been a great day with you, Everett"; see you at the wedding.

"Dont forgets the Hound A Way for you and Betty; you will love it."

"Thanks, Buddy"

"Will Have To Bark Soon"

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.