Fiction logo

The Dreich

The Weather Is Always Cold And Damp

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 23 days ago Updated 22 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
19
An AI Image By The Author

Dreich is borrowed from Scots dreich (“hard to bear, dreary, tedious, wearisome; interminable, long-winded; dull, uninteresting; slow, tardy; doleful, gloomy; baffling, difficult; difficult to reach, inaccessible”), from Middle English dregh, dri, drie (“burdensome; depressing, dismal; large, tall; lasting, long; long-suffering, patient; tedious; of blows: hard, heavy; of the face: unchanging, unmoved; of a person: strong, valorous”)

The Dreich

It felt like it had always been there, but I don't think it was there last week, I may be wrong, but I can't remember it.

It appeared on the common land outside the village, like a cloud of cold premanent drizzle and mist. The grass in immediate proximity was not wet though, you would have expected it to be sodden and mussdy but it wasn't.

If you looked for long enough, you could see shadowy forms moving within what had been christened "The Dreich" . Every so often there was a gold or red glow, like a ray from a lighthouse , but no one I asked was any the wiser. It was just there.

This was an enigma, a mystery but no one could tell me anything about it, but I was feeling more drawn to it every day, but resisted the temptation, which is unusual for me. The thing is not everyone could see it, and I asked one person who came out of it what was in there, but he looked at me as though I were insane.

For some it appeared and disappeared, and when questioned they said "It's just the Dreich"

There were rumours that some went in and were never seen again, but we couldn't ask them about it.

Every day I went.

Every day it was there.

The temptation to enter was getting almost impossible to resist.

There were some who seemed to go in and come out but they seemed blissfully unaware of it.

I don't know if it is was my ludicrous curiosity, or just that I so often give in to temptation, but I had to go in and find out.

I walked through the cloud and rain wall into a world of grey mist. I wasn't sure this was right, so I turned back, but all I saw was rain and mist. I had only taken three or four steps, but three or four steps back I was in a world of grey swirling fog.

I saw a figure, and called out but it drifted away, like a grey ghost. I saw more but didn't know whether they were passing though or were permanent residents like I had seemed to become.

Towards what I assumed to be the centre was the odd flash, sometimes red, sometimes gold.

The cold drilled into my bones and the mist was soaking my clothes, there was no way to warm up, there was no sun, just a permanent grey, not darkness, but not light either.

The next figure I saw I made a grab for when it did not acknowledge me but it disintegrated into a million pieces then reformed in front of me and said these words:

"Do you not realise? This is your purgatory, your Limbo. You will stay here until your door opens. Red will take you to the flames of Hell, Gold to the Gates of Heaven."

Me: "I need to get home, my family are waiting for me. I also have a job to go to"

"There is no going back. You made the choice. You are gone from that world. Your door will open and you will depart from this to whatever fate your have built for yourself in your life"

I was in shock.

I would never see my family or friends again, and they would think I had just run off. There would not even be a body.

Then the RED DOOR appeared and opened ......

FantasyShort StoryMysteryHorror
19

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • LunwenHelp20 days ago

    The prevalence of essay ghostwriting https://www.lunwenhui.com/ in the UK presents a complex challenge to the integrity of academic institutions and the quality of education. While the practice offers a temporary solution to students facing academic pressures, its long-term consequences are detrimental to their intellectual development and the credibility of academic qualifications. By addressing the root causes and implementing proactive strategies, stakeholders can work towards preserving academic integrity and fostering a culture of learning that values authenticity, honesty, and intellectual growth.

  • The Writer 20 days ago

    patience

  • Oh no, a cliffhanger!! So glad there's already a part 2 available! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Lovely top story.

  • Gina C.22 days ago

    This is wonderfully done, Mike! I really enjoyed the concept; congrats on Top Story!

  • Oh dear… very ominous 🥺

  • Kendall Defoe 22 days ago

    Great Top Story...and when I see a red door, I want to paint it black... ;)

  • Call Me Les23 days ago

    Great job! And congratulations on top story!

  • Paul Stewart23 days ago

    Oooooh. This was so good. I was so invested and then...cliffhangery at end lol. Well done on a fine Top Story. Small editing notes - " I had onlt taken three or four steps" and "family or frinds" I really did love this story though and glad Vocal highlighted it as quickly as they did.

  • Cathy holmes23 days ago

    That was wonderful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Ameer Bibi23 days ago

    Splendid fiction, great writing style. I think so next part will coming soon.

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    Cool story. Great concept. Hope you'll be writing the next chapter(s) too?! Also, likely a typo (they for there): "Every so often they was a gold or red glow, like a ray from a lighthouse , ".

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.