Fiction logo

Playing The Fool

For Mikeydred's April Fools Dollar Prompt

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago 1 min read
8
A Cat I Know Who Is No Fool

Introduction

This is a microfiction for the challenge / prompt that I set here. Off course I won't be tipping myself, but I can't ask thers to do what I can't do myself. It does take elements that have happened to me in my life.

Playing The Fool

Throughout my life I have seen the ones who command the biggest popular respect are the ones who shout the loudest, and coerce others, often through threats.

I would often be called stupid, or an idiot, or puddled for using words with more than three syllables. When I had people working for me, people told me I was a fool for rewarding my staff, and praising them.

I was told it was foolish as they would just take advantage of me.

I wondered how these people actually kept a job.

So I decided to just play the fool for them.

My teams always got the desired results even though the shouters got the recognition.

In my opinion, playing the fool, got better rewards and results.

The praise and recognition convinced the real fools that they wore doing the right thing, and it was fine to be ignorant bullies, as long as they shouted loud and were heard.

But we and my team and my friends continued on our foolish path, getting results, and rewards, while flying under the mainstream radar.

We may not be getting the shout outs and recognition from the chattering classes, but we are the ones with the big houses, fat bank accounts, and fast cars who dine in the best restaurants.

When the idiots thing you are the fools, It's best to let them think that, and play the fool for them, while doing what you do best, being you.

HumorSatireMicrofiction
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Only fools would think others are fools. It's a reflection of who they are. Loved your story!

  • It fits with "The Office" where Michael Scott managed to keep the Scranton office open while others closed.

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Well said. Those who are the loudest surely get the most attention, but they'll never get my respect.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a month ago

    Nice!❤️

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Your piece contrasts societal norms with personal integrity effectively. Well done!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    So, good deeds really do go unpunished? Gotta rethink this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.