Fiction logo

The Demon Of Kazbat's Den

LIGHTNING HELL CLAWS - This is for the Vocal "Word Hunt " Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
11
Kazbat's Den

This is for the Vocal Word Hunt Challenge that you can read about below.

The Prompt

Write a story that incorporates three words from the provided word search puzzle.

Here is a video of Kazbat's Den for your enjoyment. It is real.

The Demon Of Kazbat's Den

The weather was awful, the sky was black laced with thunder and lightning, and the rain was streaming down in black sheets like hell was emptying itself onto the earth, well on the West road where I was.

Stupidly I had gone out had too much to drink, lost my wallet and phone and was just wearing jeans and a T-Shirt so I was soaked to the skin.

I was looking for shelter and was over the road from Kazbat's Den and it looked like the door was open.

It was late, so that seemed odd, but it would be a shelter from the rain.

I know Kaz and knew she would be fine with me taking shelter from the storm. Kazbat's Den is full of mysterious artefacts, magical cauldrons, skeletons, animal skulls, potions, and Ouija boards. Anything esoterically magickal you are likely to find in Kazbat's den.

I slipped in the door and it was dark, but there was a little light creeping in from the West Road, but I looked for a candle and found a black one. I knew Kaz would let me owe her for it.

Now I had to find some matches. I know Kaz has candles lit during the day so there must have been either matches or lighters to light the damned candles.

I was freezing and wet, I hope the water dripping from me wouldn't make a mess on the floor.

I found a lighter and lit the black candle and then felt I was in a Hammer Horror film set, symbols, skulls and witches' accoutrements abounded. If I didn't know where I was I might have been a little frightened but I have spent a lot of time here so I was not too disturbed.

Then I heard something.

I thought I was the only one here, but no, there was someone or something else, lurking in the shadows.

Me: "Kaz?"

No answer, just some scratching and scraping and a growl.

I'm a big guy and I can handle myself, but I was in a dark mystical place close to the Castle walls being stalked by an unknown assailant or creature.

I had no protection but the Den had lots of items that I could use to defend myself, witches' knives and chains.

Then all of a sudden claws raked my left arm drawing blood, followed by a Baskerville howl. I didn't know that Kazbat's Den had a demonic guardian and it had my arm in its jaws. Blood was everywhere,

I froze.

"OLLIE!!!!" at the door was Kaz

The Demon was her dog Ollie, just protecting Kazbat's Den from this intruder.

Kaz: "Ollie, off now, in your basket. Mike, what the feck are you doing? You look a complete mess. I've got some bandages and lotions, let's get your arm sorted out."

Me: "Really sorry, thanks Kaz"

I explained what had happened and Kaz said she had just been across in the Bodega Bar seeing a friend before they went off home, but had stayed a bit longer because of the rain.

Kaz lent me a tenner, called ABC Taxis to get me home , and so ends the tale of The Demon of Kazbat's Den.

Kaz and Ollie

Addendum

This account is complete fiction and never happened but Kaz and Ollie are both incredibly lovely and if you are ever in Newcastle get yourself down the West Road to Kazbat's Den.

I've included Sir Christopher Lee's "My Way" because, well you have to don't you?

I hope you have enjoyed this.

Short StoryHumorHorror
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Fun little tale and a fun shop to visit. Ozzie looks like he's ready to go another round.

  • Delightful story, especially with the picture of Kaz & Ollie at the end. And Christopher Lee--who knew?

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    I love the mystery here and that you chose a non-fiction setting! Very fun to read!

  • Awww, Ollie is soooo adorable! Your story gave off R. L. Stine vibes and I loved it!

  • A great scary story, I read it twice.

  • Rosie Ford 11 months ago

    A very spooky story and I love the reveal at the end! Kaz and Ollie seem great!

  • Heather Zieffle 11 months ago

    This made me laugh at the end, great story Mike!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.