Fiction logo

The Cold Hearted Merman & The Adventurer

A Bond So Unbreakable Who Would Believe It Started On Ice.

By Tasjanah Anderson Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 14 min read
Like

Mermaids, Merman, same thing!

CHAPTER 1

Mermaids! That’s the story. Well “Merman” actually. I’ve always been a believer myself. However the last thing I expected in this life was to meet him. To truly bond and get to know him. He let me learn his ways and I let him learn mine. I didn’t expect for it to get this far though…

Lowell Point, Alaska; is where our story begins. I was vacationing here to do a little soul searching. I was fed up with Louisiana and needed a whole new head space. I heard from a friend of a friend; that this was one of the most magical and beautiful places she’s ever been! Although when I got here, I could see that words just didn’t do this place justice. I couldn’t believe the vibe. It was like nothing I’ve ever seen before. Mountains covered in snow, bodies of water frozen; looking as if they go on for forever. The sunsets are still to this day, my favorite sight to see. Nothing compares. It seems as though, I am closer to the sky here. The Northern lights dance right above my finger tips.

After a few days of touring and sight seeing I decided to venture out on my own. I packed a travel bag to do some heavy hiking. I wanted to DISCOVER some new sights. My little secluded cabin shares its borders with a forrest. I couldn’t NOT check it out. So early morning; on The 4th of July, I set out on my new journey.

I packed all kinds of things just to make sure my adventure went smoothly but I see now that the universe had a different plan for me.

I definitely started out on the trail. Safety first right? But my curiosity just got the best of me. I brought my journal and my camera so how could I expect to find little beauties hiding from the world on this trail..I decided to take a scenic route. Past a few bushes here , under a few trees there. Then I was kind of just following this duck I saw. It was the oddest looking little duck I’ve ever seen. It was blue brown and green but seemed to change colors in the light.

I’m not really sure why but I had one of those feelings like, if I follow it, It’ll lead me to something special. I lost track of time and space really. I was lost but the duck knew exactly where it was going. We walked out of the thickness of the forest into a beautiful opening. It had a frozen pond dead in the center with a little shack on top it. I opened the shack up to see that it was obviously old but looked relatively used. It had hard, thick wooden chairs, fishing rods, jars of bait and other books scattered across shelves. There was also a circle opening cut into the ice that I assumed people used to fish. It was big enough for any average person to jump in. At first I thought “Great ! A place to rest.” Then I thought about how scared I’d be if the owner of this shack came and found me. So I decided to make my way back to my cabin but before I could, the ice cracked beneath me.

I slipped trying to get my footing and knocked my head on what I think was the chair.. maybe it was the ice I’m not sure.. it doesn’t matter now I’m disoriented and underwater.

I’m frozen. In shock and the water had such a strong current underneath. Going directly back up didn’t work. I was stuck. I was met by ice and more ice. The more I moved around looking for the opening the more panicked I got. All I could see was my hands above my head. My fingers, I couldn’t feel my fingers. My mind was surging. How hard am I hitting this ice. Can anyone find me. How long has it been? Stupid duck, brought me here to die! I couldn’t give up but I couldn’t find my way out.. before I could drift any further, I took one last look around, the icy water was so blue. I saw something so beautiful, I lost my last breath. It was him. Wrapped in gold & shells, swimming toward me with his arm out. However it was too late. I could feel myself losing consciousness and drifting deeper into my watery grave.

Now imagine my surprise when I awoke in my HOME. There’s no way I imagined that! But here I am in bed. Warm. Safe...alone..

I quickly got up to realize I definitely hit my head, but someone patched me up. I had this weird wet plant across my head and clothes that I had set out for myself were somehow on my body. How the heck did I get home. How did I get out of there. Then it dawned on me. He saved me. Yet how did he know where I lived and how did he get me here. I saw it ! I saw his tail..still I did hit my head pretty hard. So I decided to just step outside and take a breath. As I reached for the door, someone else was already on the other side coming in.

It’s him.

“It’s You!” He says

“Your alive and well praise the gods” But I’m too caught up in what he’s wearing to respond. He has a necklace, more like a choker, made of seashells. My savior is wearing my baggy night time shorts that fit him alil too good and he has 3 whole fish in his hand. How on earth is this really happening.

“I left many offerings for Poseidon, thank he, that you're awake.” He came in quickly and shut the door. With my face probably stuck on stupid I ask,

“How did you know where I live?? And where is your tail and do you really have a tail or do you just play mermaid in -60 degree water and why are you in my house and why did I have these clothes on and why”- He cut me off and said

“I may or may not have little minions who update me on my territory, I’m dry so why would I need my tail ? Silly question. And how RUDE, I am a MER-MANNN-A SIREN,really. Do you need to see my man parts? And I have saved you..Iv called these waters home far longer than you have and again..I saved you. Or was I destined to leave you in the water? Well I could throw you back if you’d like..” He stared me in my eyes & I realized that his were brown..green..blue..maybe they changed colors; I couldn’t really tell but I was just in awe. He put the fish on the ground and preceded to realize the situation that we were in. He put on a very stern face and asked

“Are you afraid?” I laughed alittle and grinned.

“Why would I be afraid? Your a fish, an imaginary or nearly extinct fish and I’m more than likely just hallucinating you right now any- ” Before I could even finish that thought, his face changed into a more scalley texture. His gills were now visible,on his ribs and lower neck .His teeth much sharper and longer than before. Mouth wider and eyes much..darker and glossier than before; he was so quick, he was next to me in a blink of an eye. I tried to move back but he caught me. Almost shoulder to shoulder he was much taller than me. Im 5’6 and he’s definitely at least 6’5. He Leaned in alittle closer and said

“You should be. I’m the predator, while you are merely prey.”

I could only stand still. It felt as if time did too.I couldn’t stop myself I reached up to feel his gills and he swiftly grabbed my wrist. He stepped in front of me, looking me straight in my eyes and I could feel him. I knew he could see into my heart. As I saw into his. I knew he wouldn’t hurt me. He quickly placed my hand on his chest and opened his mouth so I could see his teeth as well as feel his gills contract. I didn’t even think twice I just placed my other hand on his body and processed what I was feeling. A Merman. I mean a Siren, saved my life..and we were not nearly an inch apart in my living room.

I had so many questions. He said,

“I assume you have many questions. I must address something first. I have reveled myself to you, we are somewhat bonded now. Meaning you will be able to tune into my emotions and I into yours but it’s something you can tune out or tune into as you please..another is that I haven’t bonded with a human in centuries. I just knew. I had to save you. It’s odd though. I stay away from this territory because my mother was killed a long time ago in this area. Today is her birthday though and I just had a feeling...” I became so sad I felt as if my mother was slain in front of me, I began to cry effortlessly. I feel so much pain and hatred but I know my mother has not been killed. This must be how he feels. I wrap my arms around his neck and he holds me close and says.

“I’m sorry..You should not have been forced to feel my sorrow. All you have to do is say; This is not my sorrow and you shall be freed of my pain.” But I already felt better in his arms. And With his voice near.

He whiped my eyes and I held him alittle tighter. He’s softer than you would think. After maybe five whole minuets of silence, I had the courage to speak.

“I use to dream about this place. I never thought..I’d really be here. In this moment. I don’t know what to think.I’ve always believed in Sirens.”

He pulled us apart, looked out towards the door and said,

“Would you like to go to a place? A place where we could forget every worry and forget what’s normal and just be..”

I thought for a moment but that’s all it took of course and said,

“Yes.”

He grabbed my hand tightly and said, “Oh, how rude of me, what is your preferred name? I’ve had many over the seasons but I’m now referred to as, Archie.” I honestly forgot my name for a second. His name rang bells in my head like I’ve been waiting to hear that phrase my whole life. I quickly grabbed a grip over myself and said,

“Tasjanah but people call me Tay.”

He grabbed my hand alittle tighter and I felt this overwhelmingly happy feeling. As he said,

“Okay Tasjanah. Let’s go.”

As we walked out the door I had second thoughts. Am I crazy? Is he crazy? Is my head permanently damaged because this merman is still half transformed and I’m not afraid of him. So I stop, I let go of his hand and immediately feel regret & concern. I’m sure they’re both our feelings.

“Wait, Archie. I’m not so sure. This is too crazy.” He reverts back into his more human form, I know he feels my unease. He takes one step toward me and drops to his knee with his arm coving his chest & head lowered.

“ I feel that you are uncertain. But you have been unconscious for 2 days. I have nursed you and I would never let anything bad happen to you. You have been the only thing on my mind and I did plenty snooping through your things. I’m sure you’d appreciate seeing my home as well.”

I could literally feel the promise in his heart without him actually saying it. I was safe. So I grabbed his hand and relaxed. He walked slowly through the forrest, making sure I would remember my way back if I had to turn around. But I was enjoying the view. Everything seemed alittle brighter with him near. The earth and its inhabitants reacted to his touch. Animals followed near but none dared to get in his way. Before I knew it we were back in that clearing . Back to the frozen pond. My heart started beating a little faster so Archie turned around and looked me in my eyes and said.

“I know this is a lot but there’s going to be so much more Tasjanah. If your to go to my home, you’ll need this bracelet.” He takes off this rather ordinary looking bracelet. It has 7 brown beads of different shapes and sizes on a black string.

“This bracelet will transform you..into a siren like me, but only if you have it on when you jump in the water. And I must warn you the first transformation is painful. Your lungs will stop working while your gills are formed. Your legs attach together like conjoined twins, you’ll feel your tail grow in, your ribs will feel as if they are breaking but it will be more gills trying to form. Your jaw will clench and unclench as your teeth change and vision gets blurry as they gloss over but it will clear. Are you sure? You want to endure all that just to swim with me?” My heart was pounding . But so was my adrenaline, I was ready. I walked towards the shack and so did Archie. Slowly but close behind. I opened the shack doors to see blood stained on the chair closest to the door. Archie comes in behind me and now we’re so close again. He steps into the opening of the ice cold water and I watch him change from man to siren. In his full siren form he was beautiful. That was the only word that came close. His tail was shiny black with red fins. I wondered what color mine was going to be. I couldn’t see his entire tail it must be massive because he was so tall in his human form. Without another word he slipped down into the water. I still had a chance to run. To run straight home pack my backs and GTF. But instead I put the bracelet on slowly. It felt like a normal bracelet at first. But when I reached down to touch the water, i immediately started to tingle. My breath caught in my throat, I felt as if I swollowed something in my air pipe. So I just closed my eyes and hopped in. But Archie was wrong. It wasn’t painful at all. It felt right. I closed my eyes and let the water fill my body. I wasn’t sure where Archie was but I could feel him. He felt stunned and amazed. I wondered why so I opened my eyes slowly to see myself drifting down into the water. My hands were no longer the same. They were replaced with slimmer and shaper fingers, I had webbed fingers now. My skin looked as if it was waterproof but a closer look revealed scales. I had scales. Then I felt it. My tail, somewhat a mind of its own swishing underneath making sure I didn’t sink too deeply. It was beautiful. Red and orange that meshed into black toward my fins.. kind of like Archie’s but mine was better in my opinion. I flaped it really hard and I shot upward. This thing is a lot more flexible than I thought. I realized I had been swimming around and looking at myself, I forgot Archie was there. I turned around to see him eyeing me.

“How do you feel Tasjanah?” He said while admiring my tail.

“My tail’s better than yours right. Haha I fell amazing. I feeeeel..empowed.” The face he was making was hard to discribe. I sensed contentment. I felt the same.

“Let’s see how fast you are.” He took off right past my shoulder. For a split second I thought- no way I could catch him. I’ll pass him. I raced toward him, swimming as fast as I could. It felt more like flying. Weightless. Just speed. He was definitely In his element though. I thought he was graceful on land but in the water he is radiant.

He was way longer than me. His tail almost invisible in dark waters and so shiny in the bright. He kept dramatically swinging his sharp tail making sure I was hesitant to pass him.

I wasn’t going to pass him though. I wanted to catch him.

A more accurate picture of our tails :)

I see he’s confident that I won’t pass him. I dive lower until I’m directly underneath him. So quick, there was no difference between me or the waves. I’m swimming on my backside, looking up at him. I could beat him. So I flip over and swim as hard as I can. I don’t know where I’m going but I feel this rush inside me like I was born to do this. I swim faster, stronger, I'm more alert. I notice the fishes trying to keep up. There’s no talking but I feel the competitive vibe.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Tasjanah Anderson

Fireredd . Photographer/ Rapper / Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.