Fiction logo

Sixth Degree Burns.

They took our mother. So we’re taking their city.

By Tasjanah Anderson Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Eden

Before I tell you the details of our plan.. I’ll tell you our “villein” origin story. My sisters & I are an anomaly, if you wana call it that. We all carry active dragon genes. Which SHOULD be impossible (the government says). The norm is one active gene dragon per woman. That’s how it’s been for..for-ever. My sisters and I are all active dragons. Not just one kind of dragon but each one of us has our own clan, our own colors, and our own powers. There’s Red Dragons( Me),the Green/Emerald dragons(Casey) have powers like acid breath & toxic talons, the Gold Clan(Derrey) controls and manipulats electricity, Blue Dragons(Ash) have the gift of cloneing, Purple(Faye) can use absorption and fusion,Black or white dragons (Britt), can read minds & control illusions. I don’t know what caused this to happen but the breeders were sure it was our mom. She Herself, a dormant dragon, should never have been capable of making us. Let alone 6 different clan dragons. They took her from us. As soon as my youngest sister Casey, opened her emerald/green dragon eyes. She was no longer our mother. She belonged to the city. It was her duty to make more dragons. I guess our mom knew what was to come. She didn’t fight or plea. She looked at all of us one last time and said “stay together”. Which was easy for a while. They let us stay together since “none of us were of age.” So Since we couldn’t use our powers or make more dragons we were considered useless and not a threat.

Unfortunately for them. They were wrong.

Stay Together


"What kind of dragon are you!? No dragon at all if you can’t breath fire!” Frank is a talon length away from my face. But I keep my cool.

“I am a dragon, I don’t care about fire breathing, it’s just proof your full of hot air-” Quicker than I can finish the word air. Frank is on top me, talons out , and a look in his eyes that scream; I’m going to rip your throat out.

“FRANK! Your suppose to be teaching!”someone yelled from the high tower.

“I am TEACHING. TEACHING THIS MUTT A THING OR TWO ABOUT RESPECT.”

“Is this how your dad taught you?” I asked alittle but too quickly.

Now if I was smart, I would have saved that for later but it’s too late now. I see his head change from man to dragon. He snarles in my face, teeth as sharp as daggers, and I know what’s coming next. They do it to all unclaimed hatchlings. Pretty much bring you near death just to see how much you want to live. I thought there’d be a quick flash of my life or something but it was more slow motion. When he inhaled deeply, I thought that I would close my eyes and that would be that. I’d just be done. But I felt nothing? I closed my eyes and prepared to die but It didn’t burn. I couldn’t feel the flames.

Casey

Being a dragon isn’t something to be proud of. Just because of it, I don’t have my sisters. I don’t have my mom. And Im alone. They’ve separated us and now I’m here. Just hoping my sisters will save me. I’m tired of this prison. That’s how they treat you if your not doing what your told.

His fire didn’t feel like fire at all.

*gasp and loud wispers*

“RAWRRRRR” he reverts back to his human form.

“How is this possible!? Her eyes!” Frank backs off of me with the swiftness. Im still in shock just laying in the arena dirt. Other hatchlings start to crowd me, and I watch as their eyes get wide and they back away.

“Quickly, quickly, get out of my way! Get up! GET UP!” I am hoisted to my feet by a woman. She reaches for my face aggressively.

“No, it can’t be.” Her eyes. She looks scared. She grabs my still starring at me.


of drajon are
you?I No drag on
at.
YOU
cant
breath
fire!
a
drason
dent care
about
fire breathing
just prose
that your
foN
Hot Ar
and
aure
af
each others
throats
COnM
-PiS
Usual
I use
to
love this
Shool
we
all
were class. fied
oY
Nou
atS
all
about
Our
dray on
forM Our
Powers (or lacK Here of ) ,
anal
we
coutcl
do
for
the basalon
City. but
tas

I Meant
what t
said, Ingone
yet aheada
Yea - Yea
Axe-yea
Verse
"stenying Dookealgre busy,
twaS
Ther
get Me.
na
tay-inpared an
New looKs
-Poeted an BUsy (pusheil Myself"
But In the
one
a Cant
S
it back
Ilove
the thrill
eRitt
Igot
N6
chill-Firel
todriti
tass
city
ever
done
for me
Anily
Concept I Need you
+0
Do Better DObetter
Know you
fetl in leu e
copl
gO
-Setter
doin
Catch
her
- Asu for
SOyOU
betta
Ca
tch
her. (Goin Get x2)
cad nights you the sweater
The
Y
neva,
)gue
ou
better
Nebodle
@ova eva
better
Cal
henEra
KnOW IM
wetter
Now
adDlying
presur
e
Mie
Stom
vaS
better.
thoush+
an
do sether
I+二
CUz iN
doin better

-2/00 d
hat
Leas listerias
-
I
gertel, gettin
I
create
appreciakon
doy
I
SeO
grails, an
STiN
Heelins
as
DE
reAson
=
syself.
Cof
no
at
nose
LaT
been
Great
driPPiNs
S
Pisse
OFA
That
allergies
Mo?
7
S
it
bee
Ass Naked
all
dat
probably
Lue be
S
fine
5
being
ever un
today
its
busgin
e
e
play
aus
freely
Geels. Yesterdey
I
did
deer
sat
Aroune
rare
S
Me its
Ny
dafe
cont
Dia shes
I
center,
Sia
Mov=
thAs
down
IVeep
AC
on
M
period una
I re VeaIm
Jee
the
Divine
st back
T
loJe
tire
lost?
pais
the
Dre > T Sit beck
Tell ya
ho
I- feel love on the Run
I
feel
aton
bty
know.if its
really real
we
buil
oWe
oV
ke
ho
le
00
frel
My
wore
Bullets
武学龙
M
ONe
cant sit back

AdventurefamilyFantasyLoveMysteryShort StoryYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Tasjanah Anderson

Fireredd . Photographer/ Rapper / Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.