Fiction logo

The Butler

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago 1 min read
The Butler
Photo by Gift Habeshaw on Unsplash

I was hired to work for a wealthy family, the Walden’s. I did everything for them. I cooked, I cleaned, I answered the doors. I even shined their shoes.

After months of abuse, I was sick of working for them. They must have had something valuable in this house I could steal. I could then sell it and retire. I spent the next few months planning, exploring all the nooks of the mansion.

I found some jewelry, and planned on taking it the next time the family went on vacation.

That night they threw a party for all their rich, snobby friends and had me serve all of them.

A week passed, and they had gotten tickets to Europe. This was it, my chance to grab their jewelery and any other valuables I could find. I went to the master bedroom to sift through their jewelry box and it was empty except for a note.

“Dear John, you’re an empty headed butler and you failed to realize we’re not the real Walden’s. The real family never use this house, so we moved in, forged the deed, and sold the mansion to the Madison’s. Bye.”

I can’t believe I got played.

MysteryShort StoryMicrofictionHumor

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Wowser. The jerks! This was a great little story, and I was really hoping for John! The twist was a wicked ending for the poor butler! Great job!

  • Whattttttt?????!!!!! Omgggg that's so sad! I can't believe John got played! That was such a shocking ending! I loved it so much!

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.