Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Flames

A Firemen's Failure !

By RohanPublished 3 days ago 2 min read

In the midst of night,the alarm did sound,

A call to arms, where hope was drowned.

With sirens wailing, we raced through streets,

To face the flames,where fear defeats.

A house engulfed in a fiery blaze,

The heat intense, a smoky haze.

Through the smoke, a cry so faint,

A child's plea, my heart did paint.

I donned my gear, with purpose clear,

To find the child, to quell the fear.

Through burning beams and walls that groan,

I fought my way to the danger zone.

The air was thick, the flames did roar,

Each step I took, the heat I bore.

And there I found him, small and frail,

A little boy, his face so pale.

I scooped him up, held him tight,

Against the searing, blinding light.

I whispered words, of comfort soft,

As I carried him, aloft.

But fate was cruel, the fire too fierce,

My efforts failed, my heart did pierce.

The roof gave way, we were trapped,

In a hellish glow, my spirit sapped.

I shielded him, with all my might,

Hoping to keep him from the night.

But as the flames consumed our space,

I felt the end, saw his face.

A single tear, on soot-streaked cheek,

His eyes closed slowly, oh so meek.

I screamed in pain, for all I'd lost,

A life too young, a soul the cost.

We found ourselves in silence, still,

The flames had taken all their fill.

And as I held him, lifeless, cold,

The weight of failure, bitter, bold.

I did my best, I fought the fire,

But sometimes fate is dark and dire.

A fireman's heart, both brave and torn,

Mourning a child, a promise sworn.

In the ashes, I left my soul,

For a little boy, who paid the toll.

And though I live, I'll never be whole,

For in that fire, I lost control.

PsychologicalthrillerShort Story

About the Creator

Rohan

"Writing is the painting of the voice."

- Voltaire

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    It was fantastic Rohan.

RohanWritten by Rohan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.