Fiction logo

The Buried Lover

Ashes to Ashes

By Stephanie DownardPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
32
Photo by Stephanie Downard

It was the wee hours of the morning and the perfect time to do the deed. I knew it was wrong, but my selfish tendencies got in the way. Did his mom really think one tiny film canister was enough? What I was about to do was immoral on so many levels. Even my little brother, who would do anything for me, refused to help. I had some good friends, though. I knew this would follow us to our graves.

The night after the funeral was the only time it could be done. I knew the dirt wouldn't be packed down yet. Plus, no one wants to get caught digging up a cemetery plot. All I wanted was more of my lover's ashes. It was all I had left of him.

So we grabbed our shovels and waited. The hole was deeper than I remembered. We took turns digging and scooping. Until we finally reached the bottom.

I grabbed my jar and pried open the urn. Tears ran down my face as I caressed his ashes in my hand. It was an emotional victory. I slept with him close to me that night. This is a heist I won't forget.

LoveShort Story
32

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Betty Livell10 months ago

    I enjoyed it! thank you for writing

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Wow!!! Creative & impressive!!! Wonderfully written and an emotional read!!! Left some love!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    A heist to turn one ashen. Nicely done. Very poignant.

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    Fantastically written! I love the creativity and emotion compacted in this!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    That longing for her loves presence comes through in your story. Well done ❤️ Congratulations on your top story 👏

  • Daniel Ligairi11 months ago

    wow.. nice angle and hits me right in the feels - great work Stephanie - keep it up

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Oh I like your take on the heist story! This is such an engaging read!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, just shared it in Raise Your Voice before this hit 👍

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Your story made me quite emotional. You have a way with words.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Aww, that was really quite emotional. Fantastic work :)

  • Oooh darkly beautiful piece. Excellent work

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    WOW! Amazing writing Stephanie! Awesome work!

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Woah. I didn't realize this is something people did with ashes keeping some and burying some. I assumed it was all or nothing. Very unique heist!

  • This was powerful and emotional

  • As always, exceptionally well done! Crying like a baby at 34 weeks pregnant haha

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great job on this. The "prize" was certainly unexpected. Well done.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    That was unexpected, and awesome. Great job!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Great take on the challenge, good luck!

  • This was a heist I never saw coming! That was fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.