Fiction logo

The Second Feast

Roasting in the flames.

By Stephanie DownardPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo by Stephanie Downard

The breeze was cool, but the fire was warm. My freshly skinned game hung above the flames. It had been a long day. All my bones ached. I needed rest, but was it worth the risk? I refused to die hungry. I had to have one last meal.

My wounds were too deep. The blood trailed behind me. An iron aroma lingered in the wind. I knew they were close. I fled fast and far. It wasn't good enough.

Wild screams filled the air. They were hungry too. Soon the man-eaters would hang me above the fire, enjoying my flesh.

Horror
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Daniel Ligairi11 months ago

    simple - opens and closes hard - great story Stephanie - a potential scene for a survival film - awesome

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Loved the title and the meaning behind it. Great story, Stephanie.

  • I enjoyed the quick and simplistic story telling :) But, you know I love reading any of your works!

  • Excellent story and a great entry

  • Good luck in the challenge! This is a great piece. The last line made me shudder x

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh man, I love how this started off warm and comforting, then gradually became more frightening 😅 Really awesome job!

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    I love the variety of the Micro fictions :) a great contribution.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.