Fiction logo

The blind see

The child is getting older. When the discerning people no longer pick up such a tall child, the blind still lean against the poplar tree beside the school every day, waiting.

By tomjonePublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Every time the school, the nearby primary school, there is a thick crowd, paste in front of the iron gate, like a nest before the storm. That's parents waiting to pick up their children.

In a place far away from the crowd, a man, leaning against the cottonwood, stood silent and never looked at the school gate. Until one of the kids came running up fast, pulled him and said, "Dad, let's go home." He gave his left hand to the child, his right hand to lean on the cane, and they crossed the road.

Many years ago, the blind man squatted by the roadside, playing a very sad tune on the erhu. His skill is not good, the piano is also poor, the notes intermittent SOB, make people want to listen to quickly away. The rusty bottom of the broken tin in front of him with the broken money was always visible. I occasionally put a little money in, but also in front of my ears.

Later, he set up a stall, selling handkerchiefs and socks, business is very slow. One night on my way home, as soon as I got off the bus, Black Silence flanked me. There was a sudden power failure in this area. Even the street lights were out. Only next to the pole, a beam of light like index finger pierced the star. When I got close, I saw that the blind man was wearing a torch and selling candle matches at a very cheap price. I quickly bought a share, happy to feel back to the light to relatives.

One day after that, I saw a blind man on the roadside again. I went up to him with a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff and a huff. What kind of candles were you selling the other day? The candle grease ran everywhere and burned my hand. The candle twist was not bright at all, it was as small as a firefly wormtail.

He leng put the collapse of the eye socket to me, a long time to say, sorry, I... I don't know... Candle light... How big should it be. Firefly tails... How bright it is. That day when I heard about the power failure, I quickly approved the candles to sell. All I know is... Dark, uncomfortable.

I was stunned. That dark night, even if candlelight, or than complete darkness, I do not know how much better. A blind man, working for the sighted, I also indiscriminately accused him, I am very sorry.

Later, I didn't go to his stall to buy anything for a long time. After making sure he had forgotten my voice, I bought a bunch of groceries one day, put down fifty dollars, and told the blind man to keep the change.

I walked a few steps with the stuff in my arms, and he stopped me. Wayan, how much money did you give me?

I said, it's 50 yuan.

'I've never had such a big ticket,' he said.

When I saw him flatten his fingers, then raise his palms, and repeatedly rub the front and back of the bill, I said it was real. You can rest assured.

'I never got any fake money,' he laughed. If anyone bullies a blind man, his heart will be blind. I just can't charge you so much. I'm in business.

I knew I was wrong again.

I do not know where he learned massage, the economy gradually improved, from the countryside to find a blind girl, became close. One day, when I went to the park, I suddenly saw him and his wife walking along the flower path. Surrounded by beautiful lakes and mountains like a fairyland, I think, this for them, is really a kind of cruelty.

As they passed, they heard the blind man say, with a little flourish, how was it? I brought you here. Isn't it a nice view? Take a good look.

The blind wife said defiantly, as if you had seen it?

"Yes, I have," said Blind with certainty. Often come to see.

There was something sad and funny about hearing the word "look" repeated aloud by a blind man.

Blind wife retort, introducer not say you blind in the womb? When do you get a good view here?

Blind husband said, others with eyes, we can see with heart, with ears, with hands, with nose... The sum is as good as the others.

As he spoke, he took his wife's fingers in his hand, climbed the rough bark, and rested on a tiny leaf. Say, did you see that? How old a tree is, yet its buds are tender.

At that moment, I was startled. There are many things in the world, see as not see, our eyes in the absence of God. Remember and really understand things, will be cocooned in the heart.

Then the blind couple had a fruit, a boy whose pupils were as bright as autumn water. He grew up gradually, went to primary school, blind will be every day to pick up.

At first the child hid behind the blind man and followed him. Slowly grow bold, as soon as the green light, jump to cross. His father would hold him tight and poke the asphalt with his cane and say, "Let me hear more. We can't move until there are no wheels near..."

One day the child said to his father, "Dad, I'll show you the way." He pulled his father, looked here and there, and jumped across the zebra crossing on the ground. Then the blind man lifted his cane for the first time, and followed the child, whose eyes were burning, with no scruff, carrying his feet high and light as a fly.

The child is getting older. When the discerning people no longer pick up such a tall child, the blind still lean against the poplar tree beside the school every day, waiting.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.