Fiction logo

I Fear that No One Will Believe Me

I No Longer Believe In Ghost

By lsquarePublished 24 days ago 3 min read
Like

Years ago, when I was around eight or nine years old, my family and I resided in a peculiar, old house situated on the outskirts of a small town in rural Pennsylvania. During that time, the local school districts were undergoing a significant restructuring. As a result, despite being only a few grades apart, my little brother and I attended different schools and took separate buses.

Consequently, I became the last person to leave the house every morning and the first to return home in the afternoon since my school was closer than his. It became my responsibility to ensure that all the lights were turned off and the doors were locked before I left for school each morning.

One particular morning, I noticed that the basement light was on and the door was open. Naturally, I made sure to switch off the light and lock the door before departing. However, when I arrived home that afternoon, I discovered that the light was once again on and the door was open.

This perplexed me greatly, as I was certain I had secured it earlier. Fatigue from staying up late playing Overwatch often left me tired in the mornings, so it was plausible that I had simply forgotten to lock up.

Determined to rectify the situation, I proceeded to turn off the light and close the door. However, as I reached the top of the basement staircase, I glanced down and saw a looming, shadowy figure standing at the bottom. Overwhelmed with fear, I hastily slammed the door shut, barricaded it with a cabinet, and hurriedly sought refuge in my room upstairs.

For months, I kept this encounter to myself, convinced that I had witnessed a ghost and fearing that no one would believe me. It was around Halloween, a time when my youthful naivety and fascination with the paranormal were at their peak. Approximately six months later, my parents began to notice that various items were mysteriously disappearing from our home. Initially, they suspected my brother and me, but after vehemently asserting our innocence, we all embarked on a flashlight-lit exploration of the house to uncover the truth.

I told my friend, and she told me about her experience too. Her words was..I don't know whether these occurrences are of a paranormal nature, but they are significant to me. My father passed away unexpectedly when I was 14 years old. On a dark night while walking home along a country road, I felt as though I could hear the distinct sound of my father's shoes hitting the pavement.

He always wore dress shoes with metal on them, as he was a well-dressed man. Another time, while riding a bus alone, I suddenly caught a strong whiff of my father's favorite body spray, as if he were right beside me.

When I was 18, I attended a local cartoon sale with my partner's mother. Feeling off for a few weeks, I saw a man who bore a striking resemblance to my father approaching me. I was taken aback by the resemblance, and even pointed him out to my mother-in-law.

However, when I turned back to look at the man, he had vanished. I later discovered that I was pregnant with my first son, whom I named after my father. I believe that these experiences were my father's way of communicating with me, and I hope that he is proud of me and at peace.

I miss him dearly every day.

Upon investigation, it was discovered that an individual had managed to enter the premises without causing any damage. The figure spotted in the basement turned out to be a real person who had been entering through a small hole on the exterior of the house, maneuvering through a crawl space, and then making their way into the house via the basement.

The realization that I had been alone in the house with this person on at least one occasion was one of the most terrifying revelations I have ever experienced.

Consequently, I no longer believe in ghosts.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

lsquare

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.