Fiction logo

The Baby Trials

A short horror Story

By Sophie larissaPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
2

Working in the same company for 5 years, I never thought there would be a whole part of of it under ground that I never even knew about. Dr King had approached me a few weeks ago, taking an interest in the research I had been working on. That day in my lab I was nervous and terrified when my intercom announced Dr King's arrival. I rinsed the sweat off my hands before welcoming him in and introducing him to my project, that I named Genie. We were locked in discussion for an hour and by the end of my presentation his eyes were wide and bright. I waited anxiously for his thoughts, its never been known for Dr King to personally enquire about others research who is not in his personal team. He smiled and congratulated me on my hard work, claiming I am the key to his current research. I beamed with pride and thanked him and confirmed I can come to his lab after hours.

The rest of my work day flew, I was on cloud nine with my achievement and practically skipped my way to the elevator. Dr King's floor was clinically white, marbled and strangely silent. The receptionist was typing silently, his assistant was tapping away at his tablet occasionally mouthing something while touching his ear piece. I got to the desk and was about to state my business but the receptionist waved me away and gestured to a seat. I waited for 10 minuets before Dr King came down some twinning stairs. Again before I could speak his placed his finger on my lips and gestured me to follow. We went into a side room and he broke the silence with an explanation, "I prefer silence on my work floor, it helps me know if any unwanted personnel are on my floor". I nodded with my reply "Confidentiality is very important". He scoffed and took a seat in the corner "its more for security and protection, on this floor we do not prove theories we make things happen". I took a seat opposite and asked "Then in that case I am confused about what you would want with Genie, its purpose was only to prove genes can be modified". The Dr fixed upon my eyes with a dark reflection "your gene modifier is going to make my work become possible".

King dropped a file in front of me and I began to rifle through trying to figure out where Genie fits in. The file had research regarding fertility and the making of a human inside a womb, the last part was diagrams of what looked like some sort of machinery. "Dr I'm sorry but Genie is just a demonstration of what can be done, I never intended it to be physically used on anything living". I do not agree with the idea of genetical change, for a start the test runs would be devastating to the test subjects and immoral. Dr King looked up to the ceiling and sighed heavily "Jill lets not phrase it like we would take lives with no good reason, and say we are doing it to significantly improve upon the human race to come". I pondered his words more confused than ever, I questioned him on what improvement to a human would be worth a potential massive loss to life and unknown suffering. He smiled again looking off into a distant daze for a few moments before answering "lets just say they will make anything possible and be completely controlled". I jumped up in anger and disbelief refusing to be part of his fantasy to make the human race his play ground of life.

I marched through his lobby making sure I made as much noise as I could out of frustration. I waited for the elevator tapping my foot in the hope I am annoying them. I slowed my tapping when I noticed some workers leave a room to my left, they came to join me in the elevator and typed in the number 100. I hid my surprise as the elevator only went up to 50 on the key pad and there was no screen to show a typed number. I kept quiet behind them and allowed them to continue to floor 100. I had to admit I was even more astonished when the elevator went down and not up. It felt like a long ride and the space began to get cold, as soon as the doors opened there was a blast of cold air. The men walked off on there way and I hung back to figure out where I was. It was freezing without a coat, the walls are cemented and the only source of light was the occasional light bulb placement. I took careful steps forward trying to blend with the silence, the men have vanished and the place seems deserted. The hallway was long and dingy, I attempted to peak through the windows on the doors but they were all in pitch black.

I decided to just on an off chance to try one to see if it opened, I tried to feel for a light switch but no luck. I stepped in and felt around in the dark to try and find a lamp. All I got was plastic ruffling around me as I brushed up against the sheeting, I assumed it was a renovation room. Not sure on how to make my way back I fished out my phone hoping I had enough battery for the torch light. It brightly lit up my feet as I turned it on and then brought to light the unexpected horror I was amongst all this time. A cry escaped from my mouth before I clamped my hand over it while backing off banging into a lot more plastic. I reached the door and used the frame to steady myself and traced the room with the light. Fear filled me telling me to run, this was not right or natural. It was rows of hanging plastic cocoons with black eye sockets watching me through the sheeting. My voice breaks as I sob into my hand and try to hold back the reaching as I whimper "There just babies".

I stumbled down the hallway willing my body to function without collapsing under the fear. I pushed through some double doors into a room that was dully illuminated by blue light. I scanned the room in a panic there was no one to be seen just lots of huge glass tubes on either side. I tiptoed up to one and peered into the liquid, the next thing I knew I fell back hitting my head and went unconscious. It was a hand, a hand of a baby that reached out for me on the glass. When I came to I remembered and scuttled back away from the tube and looked around. The rest of the tubes were alive with shadows dancing inside them, machines beeped and registered vitals. Coming back to composer I heard a muffled cry nearby, following instinct I went to the sound. It came from a room at the back of this one, I gapped the door and peered in.

Blood pooled across the dirty tiled floor from a body barely alive, while a baby cried on a metal table. The men I followed here were hovering over the baby discussing there next move. I had not realised I was holding my breath, it feels like the world has gone to hell. I wanted to rush in and save them both but the woman's lifeless eyes bored into mine, it was to late for her. I reverted back to the baby ready to charge, a few steps were made before the cleaver came down. I froze and sank to the floor unable to stop watching the blood spurt and splatter. The separated limb hung slightly over the edge of the table and the room went quite momentarily. The men now noticing my presence sprang to action to apprehend me. I did not put up a fight I was still fixed upon the flailing body left on the table. It soon failed and grew silent, the table was stained in the dark liquid and the men cursed. One went over to the body and picked it up by the arm that was left and chucked it across the room to meet its mother. The other grasped a handful of hair and dragged me out, my head stung under his fist. He imprisoned me in a narrow walk way sealed off with a metal door.

The stone was so cold I shivered but I felt to numb to care, I let my body spread on the floor wishing it was all a nightmare. I must have fell asleep at some point as once I woke I was no longer in my cell. I was laid flat in some sort of roped hammock, I tried to raise my arms but they were tied as well as my feet. Tears swelled and it began to get harder to breath, I uselessly thrashed my limbs and screamed in frustration. Suddenly the ropes begun to move operated by a pully system, my body was altered so my hips were tilted up. A man entered the room and greeted me warmly then went to my feet, armed with scissors he snipped my underwear off. With a care free attitude he ignored my pleas and whistled while inserted a liquidly substance into my vagina. I was left hanging there so long parts of me were numb and ached, then I was strapped to a bed and wheeled to another room with other captives.

There was rows of five on either side each bed occupied by a woman, all chained by one foot to the bed. They placed me on the end and attached my metal leash before just leaving without any words. The other women seemed to be avoiding eye contact, I searched frantically for at least one to offer some sort of reassurance. When I thought things could not get worse a few hours later the woman in the next bed told me what this place was. It turned out to perform there tests on babies they need breeders to provide them as well as to birth the experimentally created babies. A few weeks later I was pregnant again the girl in the next bed told me it was a blessing. Apparently those who do not conceive for the normal babies go straight to see if they can survive a pregnancy and birth of the created ones. The number of survivals is currently zero. I thought a lot during my captivity about how Genie would complete this horror show. I couldn't be sure however I knew it could be a possible exit from this place.

I tried to tell them that Dr King had asked me to help them out and that I would like to speak with him about genie. I waited but he never came, I assume my offer is off the table. A month later they had a doctor come in and assess us and our babies. I felt fine however he ordered to have me taken to a treatment room where again I was restrained. Many tools lay around the bed and not the blunt kind. I tried to rock the bed a little in the hope I can get one of them to fall onto the bed. There was no success with my attempt before the doctor arrived. I begged him to let me go but he only had a lacky come in to tape off my mouth. What happened in that room I still struggle to think it was real. The doctor injected serval different concoctions into me, some hurt and some made my skin feel like fire. I was crying in pain for hours alone before they came back to check there results. What came next was the worst to come, they held a blow torch above my stomach and slowly edged it closer until it was nearly making a connection.

I seemed to have dropped into a dazed state, the pain was to much it was like my body cut off from feeling. I felt sick and so weak everything seemed blurred and out of sync. It was stirring up inside me the movement getting stronger and rough. Before I knew it there was a tearing of flesh and blood splattering across my face. My senses dulled and lights began to darken as I felt his soft hand reach my face and his abnormally illuminous eyes gazed into mine. I knew I was bleeding out and my breaths were shallow but he stayed by my side caressing my cheek. Just before my time was up I saw my child raise his head and fire up every inch of him in a blaze. I felt the anger in the air, there was no mistaking that a whole new hell was rising.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Sophie larissa

I have beautiful children and an amazing other half. They are more than enough for me. They are my reasons for doing what I love.

Instagram account- sophie_larissas_writing

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.