Fiction logo

A new age

Chapter one

By Sophie larissaPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
4

There wasn't always dragons in the valley. Once the dragon hunters had died out or left, the mighty creatures slowly came back to seek revenge. At least some did anyway, others sought to live in peace beside us. Rumour has it that there could also be some living among us but not in a dragon form, in a human skin. The rumour started a few months ago when a local claimed they were gathering supplies in the mountain and spotted a human transform. No one really believed a word of it at first but that person did mysteriously disappear a few weeks after the sighting. Now a few months on its nothing more than whispered gossip in the corners of the camp. My father had noted in his journals over his career of being a dragon hunter that there was some magical abilities dragons possessed. But the human transformation thing was not specifically mentioned but I wish I knew for sure. If I made that discovery at least I could restore honour and respect back to the family name, and I wouldn't be looked down on for my mothers choices. You see my father was a well loved man and he put his life on the line on many occasions to protect the camp from dragons destruction and slavery. But after his death my mother started to act strangely and it was found that she choose to help dragons and rumours say she offered to be a breeder vessel for them.

Since then growing up was miserable and lonely, my mother took off before the council in the camp could execute her, leaving me to be an orphan that was tainted in every ones eyes. People only communicate with me when its unavoidable and children do not look me in the eye or even dare walk to close to me. I spend my days walking miles to collect water from the mountain and gather myself some food no one in the market wants to sell to me. In fact I am not allowed to live in the same camp as such I'm only allowed to attend public displays, council meetings and to bring them water. I take up residence in a man made hut from disposed wood others no longer needed after there's were build. My parents hut was taken over by the council members to host public meetings and events. On a good note though the view I get from the mountain side is pretty tranquil especially on a night. I love laying on my hammock and watching the sun set and the stars twinkle while the moon glows, however one night that changed to dark gigantic shadows.

I laid there frozen with fear as the shadow waved over me and when the gush of air hit me and almost knocked me from my hammock. I tried to breath quietly with no idea what to do, fearing my gruesome demise if it spotted me. I stared wide eyed at the creature while it drank from my cooking pot on the fire. I prayed silently that it would leave promptly after its done stealing my stew, in the hope it would be full an not require my flesh as dessert. Thinking I got away with it I made the mistake of letting my guard down and sneezed which startled the creature. It jumped and flashed its teeth at me, I screamed and tipped my hammock in panic. Scrambling to my door was a pointless exercise the dragon yanked me away within seconds holding me in a tight grip with its claws. I pleaded for my life in the metallic grip shielding my eyes from the fiery fate. Instead my body was met by heavy warm breaths and large emerald eyes piercing my existence. I slowly lowered my hands and rested them on its cool turquoise scales that illuminated at my touch. They were smooth and reactive under my connection lighting up and rising in unison.

The dragon studied me with curiosity and eventually decided me to be unworthy to eat and dropped me to the ground with a thud. I scooted back in the dirt and cowered afraid it will change its mind. It sniffed the air and turned it back to me to proceed with its earlier meal. I took my chance and pushed myself to my feet and forced my way into my hut ensuring my door was secured, not that it would do much against a massive beast like that. I observed its behaviour while it ate my food and curled up into a ball after wards to sleep. I never left my window over time my fear lessened and wonder grew. I tiptoed out my door and crept every so slowly towards the dragon. Some thing about it seemed to draw me in urging me to feel its energy and bond with it. I placed my hand carefully upon its neck and moved in a petting motion, the more I stroked the more I felt connected to the dragon. It almost felt like it was meant to be, like we already knew one another some how or shared a connection in some way.

I let the thought cross my mind wondering why it felt like we knew one another. Little did I know a voice answered but no one was around, confused I took a step back, it just cannot be possible. Not sure what to think I retreated back inside telling myself it was a dream or I was hallucinating. Exhausted I eventually fell asleep not waking up till later in the afternoon from losing all night to my insanity. I walked outside stretching and feeling refreshed with the hot sun hugging me. Only to be interrupted by a looming figure of the dragon I thought I imagined on the ridge in the mountain above me. It sat majestically looking upon me cocking its head to the side, once more the voice spoke to me. "Your not insane we are connected that's how were hearing each others thoughts" stated the dragon. I nervously laughed and backed off not taking noticed of my surroundings and fell over my fire pit.

"Oh boy" said the dragon as it picked me up with its hand like feet and planted me on to a log next to the fire. It placed its claw upon my chin and tilted my face up to get a better look "you look just like your mother" it told me. My eyes grew like saucers and without thinking I screamed and ran and didn't stop until I fell to the ground after cutting my feet on the sharp rocks. I shot a look in all directions whimpering at the pain in my feet, I struggled to take my weight when I stood. Trying to get my bearings I glanced all around wondering where I was running to. I caught my breath and started running again, I begged for help as loud as I could hoping some one in the camp was out farming to hear me. I was about to fall again until something took hold and lifted me, the ground vanished into a blur. I twisted my neck to see the dragon flying while I half dangled in its hand.

We landed softly not long later on a ledge some where with a cave like space behind a waterfall. It let go of me but every time I tried to run it placed a claw through my dress securing me in place. In frustration I demanded what it wanted with me while I uselessly pounded my fists against its claw. I pulled and thrashed getting more and more upset and angry until my dress tore in which I had to stop fighting to cover myself as best I could. Tears stung my eyes and embarrassment swallowed me whole, he then responded more gently to me "I need to explain that were bonded as a mating pair and now I found you I cannot let you go".

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Sophie larissa

I have beautiful children and an amazing other half. They are more than enough for me. They are my reasons for doing what I love.

Instagram account- sophie_larissas_writing

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.