Fiction logo

The Awakening of the Winged Ones

The Earth was forever changed by their return

By Jason ProvencioPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

There weren't always dragons in the valley. Yet here we are, a fortnight into this unusual, unprecedented resurrection.

We've been told countless tales of the dragons and their destructive ways. These tales were handed down for generations from our elders. Old, withered up family members who cackle as witches, while we listen and squirm as small children. We're forced to listen to their scary tales and yarns they spin about the infamous, dubious dragon species.

We tend to believe almost anything an elderly person tells us. They are supposed to be full of wisdom, not misinformation. They are reveled for their experience and knowledge. But clearly they have been wrong about the dragon species.

It all started 14 days ago. A turbulent, sudden eruption from deep within Mother Earth. The ground shook, the mountains rumbled, and our people panicked, running for cover.

What could they have done to save their own petty, inconsequential lives? The world shook and around us. Earth and dust flew everywhere. We heard the audible screaming and screeching of the awakened, so what was truly the point of running from such powerfully forceful chaos?

But run they did. Yet more screaming and screeching, but this time from man, woman, child, and beast. Panic ensued with everyone and everything running for its insignificant lives.

I didn't run. Perhaps it was the surreal landscape I was seeing of thousands of majestic, winged beings erupting from the ground, foothills, or water.

Shock set in far more easily than panic, for me. I was paralyzed, unable to move. Nor could I speak, and was rendered dumb and mute. I was only able to observe, stare, and wonder at the drama that was playing out in real time, yet seemed to move in slow motion.

My vantage point was from one of our closest foothills above our village. I could observe and take in so much of the bard-like scenes playing out in before me.

I had gone for a late morning trek to find mushrooms and other plants to use for our nightly supper. Never had it crossed my mind that I'd be witnessing an occurrence of this magnitude that seemingly came directly from tales of lore that were handed down from our village elders.

I gazed at the melodrama that had instantly unfolded before me for what felt like an eternity. There were so many explosions from the ground, the hills, and our close by lake, it was impossible to absorb the meaning and magnitude of each one individually.

The noon time sun instantly was eclipsed by thousands of soaring beasts who had been awoken from their ancient slumbers. I observed a multitude of dragons from quite far distances. A handful of them flew a bit closer.

They were terrifyingly magnificent and my soul ached to see even one at a near distance. I couldn't escape the feeling that I may have been raptured into a dream, and not truly watching this in reality.

Most of them seemed to be flying slowly, stretching out their wings, muscles, tendons, and shaking off the dust from lying dormant for centuries. What could have caused such an incredible event happening at this exact moment in time? What type of fate were we about to endure, against these powerful flying beasts?

I didn't have long to ponder such thoughts. Our villagers were in a sheer state of panic. The dragons did not appear to be attacking, but were curious about these tiny, loud, panicking creatures who were screaming, yelling, crying, and scuttling about. That's when I began to notice it.

A number of the dragons had begun to approach our village. A few flew over casually, trying to observe the actions of our town folk. This caused additional panic and and uproar. It was then that our villagers began to attack them.

They fired arrows at these magnificent creatures. Small children grabbed stones and tried in vain to hit the dragons from obviously much too far of distances. Men grabbed swords and stood between their families, waiting for the multitude of dragons to advance on them and attack.

Yet they didn't. I had yet to see even a single beast breathe the fiery flames our elders had so often scared us about during their late-night tales around our campfires. These beings had all of the firepower and strength in the world, but chose not to use it against our villagers.

I felt a sense of sadness and empathy for these mythical creatures. The ones that flew over ceased doing so and flew away from the village. A number of dragons that had landed nearby and cautiously approached on foot started to take a number of slow steps backward, with befuddled looks upon each of their giant, scaly, sad faces.

I shed a tear while watching this from my bird's-eye view of a scene I wished to have observed so very differently. As this tear rolled down my cheek and struck the ground, a rumbling directly beneath my feet started to shake the very ground I stood upon.

Predictably startled, I jumped backward and sprinted away from the ground that shook and appeared to be moving. After turning to look back from a safe distance, I saw the most majestic dragon of them all standing before me, eyeing me curiously.

This dragon had a glowing aura about it. The sunlight had reappeared as most of the flying creatures had dissipated and flown out of sight. The rays of light danced across it's powerful shoulders, wings, and face. It's giant, mesmerizing eyes pierced my own. I marveled at its beauty and structure. I had never seen anything so magnificent, at such a close distance.

I didn't feel defensive. There was absolutely no reason to run, hide, or attempt a futile attack. I was in awe to be in its presence, in this intoxicating, spiritually uplifting moment. I felt moved to kneel before this creature, and in doing so felt that this was an instinctually correct move.

The dragon's countenance had changed, from an initial curiosity to an ever so slight sadness, almost undetectable by a less perceptive person. I could sense this, though. He sighed and in that moment, I knew he could speak.

"Son of this World. Why do you kneel before me?" he asked of me, quizzically.

His voice was far calmer and soothing than I had expected. Of course it was. He was a perfect, legendary being. I felt a bit more at ease, yet still intimidated to be speaking to such a colossal creature.

I chose my words carefully and answered him. "I am not sure. That's actually a valid question. I have no experience dealing with such creatures as yourself. I really am at a loss for words, but I'm truly honored and overjoyed to be speaking to you. I offer you all the gratitude I have, for choosing to talk with me." I stayed on bended knee as I spoke this initial greeting.

He arched one of his giant, expressive eyes. I then saw him kneel to match me, on his left front leg. Another tear cascaded down my face and I felt a kinship to this incredible being. I was in awe and immediately humbled by this creature matching my gesture of respect.

As he observed my overwhelming, emotional moment, he quietly spoke once more.

"The tear you shed just moments ago while observing our awakening. The matching one you just showed in my presence. This is how I know."

I didn't understand what he meant by this. I wiped away my dirt-stained tear and felt at a loss for words.

"No, Son of this World." Do not be afraid to show your emotions. Those tears have led me to you. You are the one we require help from. You are the one whose kindness, empathy, and caring nature will help our kind survive the battle we face, now that we have awoken."

I felt shaken. I fought the urge to sputter out so many questions at this mythical creature. I controlled my breathing, closed my eyes for a couple of seconds, and carefully thought of my next words.

Opening my eyes and gazing into his serene, peaceful eyes, seemingly full of wisdom and hope, I uttered the following words:

"I'm in."

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.