Fiction logo

World in Tatters Ch. 34

By Kevin Barkman

By Kevin BarkmanPublished 23 days ago 10 min read
Like
World in Tatters Ch. 34
Photo by Wendy Scofield on Unsplash

We ride through the night and morning. We’re exhausted. The soldiers are exhausted. I’m sure Richard’s exhausted too, not that he’d show it. I ride toward the front of the caravan near Richard and Kiera. Unlike everyone else, Richard sits straight up on his horse, jaw set, intense eyes locked on the horizon.

Before the Birmingham camp is even in sight, the breeze carries with it the scent of smoke. As we get closer, I can see a pillar of white smoke rising into the sky. Moments later, one by one, the soldiers notice it too. For the first time since we broke camp last night, Richard’s marble expression betrays something. Fear.

I only catch a glimpse before, without a word, Richard kicks his horse into a gallop. Kiera soon follows suit, spurring the soldiers to join the mad dash. The sound is like thunder as the small battalion bolts off toward the ravaged camp. At this speed, it doesn’t take long for us to reach the outskirts of Birmingham.

It’s a grisly sight. As far as I can see, tents and buildings have been razed to the ground. Dozens of people are scattered around. The scent of burning wood and flesh sears my nostrils. Many are injured, others carry the limp bodies of their comrades around on makeshift stretchers.

Richard and Kiera don’t slow at the vision of devastation, but the rest of the soldiers are stopped in their tracks. I can’t blame them, considering the level of carnage. I pause with them only for a moment before following Richard. I glance behind me to see Rachel, Jason and Chris halt with the men. Alice quickly catches up to me, riding by my side as we trail Richard and Kiera.

Richard comes to a stop outside one of the smoldering ruins. A large brick building the survivors seem to be using as a temporary hospital. He jumps off and runs inside, Kiera not far behind.

Alice and I dismount, tying the horses to a nearby post. We follow them into the improvised clinic to find the place in utter chaos. Medics…or at least, anyone willing to help…swarm around mangled bodies. The groans and screams of the injured permeate the open gymnasium.

Children with half their bodies black from char. Hardened soldiers scream in agony from bullet wounds and burns. Blood-soaked rags lay scattered across the wood floor. Doctors, nurses and medics rush about, triaging patients as best as they can. Old and young alike lie injured or dying, family members crying over their loved one’s lifeless bodies.

It’s brutal.

Richard makes his way through the carnage, occasionally stopping by one of the beds to comfort someone. The pain evident in his every move. He wasn’t lying when he said he’d lost all of them. He really cares about every single soul affected by this attack.

By the time Alice and I catch up to them, Richard pulled aside one of the medics. “Where is Jedd?”

“I’m not sure, Richard. I haven’t seen him since…you know…”

“You have any idea where he—”

“Look,” Clearly frustrated, “I overheard that some of the leadership set up a command post down the road.”

“What happened to City Hall?”

“Fire bombed. Like the rest of the camp. Now please. I have work to do.”

“Of course.” Tapping the woman on the shoulder, “Thank you, Mirene.”

Richard heads toward the back door. Before following after him, Kiera pulls one of the volunteers aside. “The rest of our troops are out by the south edge of camp. Get them down here. We have a couple of field medics and a bunch of able bodies.”

“Yes, ma’am.”

“’Scuse me.” I interject. “Before you go. My family is out there with them. Please have them join the effort. They’re names are Rachel and Jason. Tell them that Steven sent you. I’m sure they’ll be glad to help.”

“Sure.” The messenger nods before heading off to his task.

“Hey.” Alice grabs my sleeve. “I’m going to stay here. Put my medic skills to use.”

“Yeah, okay.”

“You sound surprised.”

“No. Not at all.” I give her a quick smile. Pleased that she’s decided to help. “Now you know why I insisted we come here. Thank you. I’ll be back as soon as I can, okay?”

She nods as I turn to leave with Richard and Kiera.

Kiera and I trail behind Richard as he almost jogs toward the command post. He stops by a soldier looking worse for wear, but not badly injured. The soldier gestures toward one of the buildings nearby. Richard waits for us to catch up to him before heading inside. He’s clearly nervous about what he might discover about his grandfather. He takes a moment to compose himself, squeezing Kiera’s hand before opening the door.

The building is little more than tenement housing. At the end of a long hallway, there’s a large common area occupied by who I assume are the camp leadership. They’re gathered around a small round table in the middle of the room. Every last one of them distraught, no real surprise there. Most of them are covered in soot and ash.

Two of them seem to be having a heated debate about next actions. A tall woman, furious about Drum’s brazen aggression, advocates for swift retaliation. Her opponent, a middle-aged man promoting caution. He’s obviously afraid. Can’t blame him.

Sitting off to the side sits a wiry older gentleman, hands folded in front of his soot-covered face. Neither anger nor fear keeps him quiet. I recognize the expression. I saw it on my mother’s face a thousand times playing chess. It’s the expression of someone thinking several moves ahead. Considering all the possibilities before making his thoughts known.

As soon as the old man notices us coming down the hall, he rises, pushing himself up by the arms of his chair. A giant grin breaks across his face, deepening the lines around his eyes. Relief washes over Richard as they embrace. The sudden display of familial affection distracts the others from their heated debate, drawing their attention to us instead.

“Richard, my boy! It’s good to see you.”

“You have no idea how good it is to see you too.” Richard momentarily buries his face into his grandfather’s shoulder before separating. Steel returns to his voice, “What the hell happened here?”

“Nothing for you to worry about, my boy.” Jedd comforts.

“Nothing to—!” Shouts the woman, cut off with a glare from Jedd that could slice through glass.

“Jedd, seriously.” Richard insists.

“Drum’s men infiltrated the camp.” The last person in the room, a dark-skinned man with a gruff voice speaks up from the corner. “We have no idea how long they were here. Early yesterday morning, the interlopers set several buildings ablaze. While everyone was mobilized trying to put out the fires, a group of five or six came out of the woods and opened fire. Bullets and napalm were flying everywhere. We couldn’t rally in time. Then just like that,” Snapping his fingers, “they were gone. It took hours to put out the last of the fires, but by then...”

“Kiera, my dear, can I get you anything?” Jedd, clearly trying to change the subject.

“Thank you, Jedd, but I’m alright. I’m just glad you’re okay.” She gives him a quick hug.

“Who’s your new friend?”

“I’m Steven Tucker. Your grandson and the lovely Mrs. Kiera helped my family and me out of a bad situation.”

“It is very good to meet you. Mr. Tucker.” I take Jedd’s extended hand. “Tucker? As in Charlotte Tucker? Are you any relation?”

“You know my mother, too?”

“Of course.” In Jedd’s eyes, I see a kindness and sincerity. The same kindness I saw in Richard the first time I spoke to him. I can’t help but smile at the resemblance. “Your mother is a force of nature.”

“That’s what I keep hearing.” Letting my voice drop, “So, it is true?”

“True? What is?”

“It’s nothing…”

“Hello! Can we get back to the matter at hand?” The tall woman interjects. “What do you suggest we do? We can’t let Drum get away with this.”

Jedd turns to her, kindness draining from his expression, replaced by an intensity hotter than the flames that torched the camp. The heat isn’t from anger exactly, just a presence. Enough of one to shut her up. I wonder how often Richard musters that same power. “Regina. Tonight, we bury and mourn our dead. Treat our wounded. What we do tomorrow, we’ll talk about tomorrow. There will be no retaliation. Not now. Drum will get what he is due, but we are in no position for a fight.”

“But Jedd—”

“You’re all dismissed.” The other council members clearly know not to challenge Jedd’s final word. The woman called Regina, jaw locked shut, nods before leading the others from the room. “So,” Jedd claps, “How about we go find something to eat?”

“You never change, do you, Jedd?” Kiera smiles.

“Whatever do you mean, my dear?” A mischievous smirk creeps across his aged features. Kiera loops her arm under Jedd’s as he heads toward the door.

Richard pinches his eyes, obviously overcome by a series of emotions: relief from seeing his grandfather alive and well, and exasperation at Jedd’s incessant positivity at the forefront.

“Is he always like that?” I nudge.

Richard finally cracks a small smile, letting the relief gain ground. “Yeah, pretty much. He’s always told me that no matter what is happening, there’s always a reason to smile. And always time for lunch. Drives me nuts.”

“Good for him. Lately it’s been pretty hard for me to find something worth smiling about.”

“I said the same thing after my dad died. Jedd just said,” mimicking his grandfather’s inflection, “’Well, you’re alive aren’t you?’ Besides, you have your sister, Alice, Jason. And now you have us. Oh! And let’s not forget,” lowering his voice so only the two of us can hear, “You have your mother back.”

“Yeah, we’ll see about that last one.”

“You still don’t believe me?”

“That she’s alive? I’m starting to. But to be honest, I’m still reeling from the news. I just don’t know how to feel about it.”

“Cautiously optimistic?”

“Something like that.”

“Well, you’ll get to see her soon enough. Prove I’m telling you the truth. And that you can trust me.”

“We’ll see.”

“Alright, fine. Fair enough. We should probably catch up with my lovely wife before Jedd whisks her away.”

Richard and I follow Jedd and Kiera back out the front of the tenement. Jedd leads us through the streets of Birmingham for a little while. As it turns out, the wanton destruction we saw on our way in is citywide. Buildings burned. Homes destroyed. Displaced residents carry what’s left of their belongings to one of the several relief stations set up by the council.

We wind through the once bustling city until we come to one of the relief stations. A group of volunteers have some tables set up serving what little food they could scrounge up. Jedd sends us to stake out a spot on the field while he acquires our lunch. Richard finds us a grassy spot with a simple picnic table in the shade of one of the nearby buildings.

Jedd joins us a few minutes later with bowls of gruel. One for each of us. It’s not very appetizing, but it’s what they have. Besides, I’ve had worse.

“Jedd, how can this have happened?” Richard pleads.

“Kiera, my dear. How was your journey? Fruitful, I hope?”

“It was. Mostly uneventful—”

“Jedd!” Richard cuts her off. “Don’t avoid the question. Please.”

Richard clutches his hand on the table, reigning in his frustration. He stares into his grandfather’s eyes. It’s strange seeing these two together. They both radiate a peculiar pressure, an intensity I’ve only felt from a few people.

Sighing, “My boy…”

“Don’t ‘my boy’ me. Just tell me what happened.”

“You know what happened, Richard.”

“Then how could the council let it happen? Tib said there were infiltrators. The council was supposed to shore up the defenses weeks ago.”

“Tiberius has a big mouth.” Jedd whispers under his tongue.

“Are you trying to say it’s not true?”

“I’m saying not everyone needs to know about it just yet.”

“You can’t cover this up, Jedd.”

“I’m not trying to, my boy.” A gentle smile spreads across his face. “But there is no need to cause a panic.”

“Did you know about the spies?” I interject. “I mean…before all this.”

Jedd’s smile vanishing. “We had heard rumors. We were tracking one of the suspects. Our agents must have spooked them, because… well…” Gesturing to a scorched building nearby. “Best guess: this was always the plan, just moved up the timeline.”

“This isn’t like Drum. It’s too brazen. Too public. He nev—”

“Really?” I interrupt. “Because, based on everything I’ve heard about him and his tactics, this is pretty on brand. Seems to be his pattern. Infiltrate, attack, destroy, rebuild.”

Jedd’s smile returns, this time with a hint of mischief. “Very good, Mr. Tucker. You’re absolutely right.”

“Okay…” Kiera chimes, “Even if it is his modus operandi, why here? Why now?”

“Large rebel camp, two days ride from his capital?” I suggest, “Seems like a prime target to me.”

“But they’ve known about us being here for months.”

“They may have been here for months.” Richard puts his hands up to his temples. “There’s no way to know.”

After a tense moment of silence, Jedd is the first to speak, “Well! What’s done is done. We can only move forward now.” Rising from his seat at the table, “For now, I have council business to attend to. Richard, would you accompany me?”

“Of course.” Richard rises from his seat as well. Kiera and Richard share a tender kiss before he follows his grandfather, leaving Kiera and I alone at the picnic table.

Kiera and I sit in relative silence for a while, finishing our bowls of gruel. I can’t help but think about all the people here, suffering because of one man’s thirst for power.

Sci FiYoung AdultSeriesAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Barkman

Somehow, my most popular story is smut. I don't usually write smut. I did it once, and look what happened. Ugh.

Anyway, Hope you enjoy my work. I do pour my heart, soul, sweat and tears into it.

PS: Please read more than my smut story.I beg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.