Fiction logo

The Alien In The Cafe

A tale of friendship

By Carol TownendPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Alien In The Cafe
Photo by daan evers on Unsplash

It was raining outside and there wasn't much to do. I felt down and fed up. Instead of sitting there looking like the wet weekend, it was outside, I picked up my umbrella and headed to Carly's, my favorite cafe.

Carly's was the cheapest Cafe in town, and it only cost £1 for a large cup of Latte. I waited patiently in the long queue, and then I sat at a table by myself. The smooth, sugary, hot liquid went down fast, but at least it made me feel better than the weather did.

I felt lonely sitting there by myself. Normally I'd take friends with me, but none of them wanted to come out. It had been raining for almost a week, and the wind was pretty bad too.

There weren't many people in the cafe. Hoping to spot at least one friend, I sighed as not one of them entered the cafe. I glanced over at the table in the far corner, and that's when I saw what I thought was a man.

He looked like a man. He wore a tailored suit as if he had just stepped out of the office, he had short brown hair, brown eyes, and the face of a human.

I was bored of sitting there alone, so I decided to say hello.

The man just looked at me, and I noticed something unusual about his eyes. They were wider than a human's eye, and they often turned green and then blue as I spoke to him.

The man reached out to touch my arm, but I did not move. I let him feel my skin, even though I noticed that his touch was more rubbery than the human touch.

I tried to start a conversation with him,

"Where are you from?" I asked.

He just stared at me.

I realized that he didn't understand human language. However, I wasn't scared though I was a little nervous.

My first thoughts were maybe he was from another country, but that didn't add up. Then a thought struck me,

maybe this man wasn't from our planet at all. Maybe he was from a different planet altogether.

I had heard rumors that beings from other planets did not exist or were dangerous, but the being in front of me seemed friendly. It appeared to me that he wanted to get to know the humans, but he seemed a little afraid.

I reached out to touch him gently, in the same way he had touched me; but he jumped and moved away in fear. I remained calm, and put my hand up to let him know that I understood. He seemed to understand that better, and he pursed his lips upwards as if to smile. He then pointed to my cup.

It was a little difficult to notice whether he was just observing me, or wanted to try my drink. I decided to buy him one. When I left the table, he kept staring at me with wide eyes; almost as if he was afraid that I would leave him. I nodded, and he appeared to understand because he did the same thing in return.

I sat back down at our table and offered him the cup. He lifted his hand to say thank you. He then surprised me by giving me a hug after the coffee.

He enjoyed the coffee so much, that I bought him another cup before I had to leave. However, I didn't want to leave him there by himself, and I didn't want him to go out into a new world that could be potentially dangerous to new beings. People viewed alien life as dangerous in our world, and the media made it worse. There was a risk he would be hurt or even murdered if I let him out there alone.

If there was one thing that I had learned as a human being, it was that trust was hard to come by. However, I decided to allow this strange being to live with me. I taught him how to speak, and I taught him the ways of the human world. Teaching a being from another planet wasn't easy because they were used to their own world.

However, when a lifeform from another planet enters ours, it needs to learn how to live among humans, though in a world that sees other lifeforms as a danger, it wasn't easy. I had to protect him from the brutal treatment he became exposed to from people who had misconceptions that life on another planet was dangerous.

The being learned all about names, and we named him Mike. twelve months later Mike was able to ask for things and make friendly conversation with others.

He still lives with me, and now he is friends with our people. Allowing this being to be social in our world, has changed people's perceptions and misunderstandings about alien life.

It has changed our world, and Mike's life for the better good.

Short StorySci FiLove
Like

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.