Fiction logo

Testaments of the Stone Man

Freedom's Aura

By Dakota BollPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 21 min read
Testaments of the Stone Man
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I.

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. Although, they’ve been here as long as I have.

“They used to live secluded in the Hill Peaks,” Pau Pau let out, as usual, while we made our rounds in the quarry. “Back then, everyone was so focused on fighting each other that not even one person paused to think the dragons might someday leave their dens.” I gave him a glance before I reared back my arms to prepare for another swing. He was picking lint off his shirt as he spoke. “And why would they? Those beasts stayed cooped up for thousands of years; why would that ever change?” I threw my shoulders into a deep thrust, twisting my hips and bracing for impact at the last moment. CLANK. Debris flew past my face and onto the ground behind me, clattering as it fell. “Sure, many were wary, but–”

“Well, does it really matter now Pau Pau?” I didn’t even stop to look at him. “It did change, and now, you and I get to live out our merry days, mining ores for them and their hoards. Which, by the way, if you spent less time talking about the past and more time workin’, maybe I wouldn’t have to pick up your slack so often.” CLANK. I went to wipe the dripping sweat from my forehead, but before I could, Pau Pau did it for me. Frazzled by his swift cuff, I looked up to meet his gaze.

“Have you forgotten everything I’ve done for you, boy?” The smolder in his aged amber eyes let me know this was not the time for a sly retort. “All those years I, I–” his voice trailed off, yet his glare remained. He pursed his dry black lips, eyes twitching. The grey fur on his nape was standing up, and his pointed ears were perked more than usual. “I took good care of you. The least you could do is let an old man share his memories without being interrupted, and surely your young body could spare a few swings for a geezer like me!” he bellowed, as stern as his well-worn lungs would allow. Still, he daggered me intently. I sat down my pick and scratched the back of my head.

“You’re right, I’m sorry Pau Pau,” I said, moving towards him. “I think I’m just really tired today. We’ve been going with no days off for weeks now, and I let it get to me.” I paused, looking down, and kicked the dirt. “But, no matter how tough it gets, you know I’ll always have a few extra swings for ya!” I flexed and felt my bicep with the opposite hand, smirking. His expression softened, and he pulled me in for a hug. We both reeked despicably, and our clothes were riddled with dust and other scrap. Nevertheless, I appreciated his firm embrace. Then, to end the sweet moment, he smacked me hard on the back, orienting me toward the vein once more.

“Great!” he exclaimed with a grin, “and seeing as we only have fifty more bits to cover between us, surely you wouldn’t mind taking over the rest of today’s quota! I’ll be at the tavern when you’re finished! Oh, and first round’s on you!” He scurried away in an odd, hunched-back dance that only an old man could be proud of. Realizing I had been conned once again, I chuckled, grabbed my pick, and continued the back-breaking labor… CLANK.

Somehow I managed to complete the haul right as the sun was setting. I peered into the remaining beams of light under cover of my palm, watching as the orange-pink hues blended together. No clouds? I thought, surprised there would be no rain tonight. For a moment, I studied the grey-brown crag that loomed over this expansive stone pit, pondering what kind of life may be waiting, just out of reach. Cleansing my mind from the thought, I quickly loaded up six worn, dusty sacks filled with ore and stone onto a steelwood cart, and each time I dropped a pack it spurted clouds of fine powder into the air, coating my sweat-stained face. Once I’d finished loading, I took the ropes attached to each end of the cart, strapped them against my waist, and started to heave the whole load over to the Collections Bureau.

Right outside the quarry is where our town’s charm really began. There were hundreds of bustling people, Beastman and Humana, Okhri and Gaierin, all living together in one conglomerate city. Pau Pau used to say that Beastmen and Humana would have never lived side by side with Okhri in the past, but everything changed when the dragons made themselves comfortable in our lands. Frankly, I quite liked having the Okhri around. They always seemed to find a way to be cheerful despite our situation. Small gatherings would often sit around a fire, singing and playing the most mesmerizing music. I’ve spoken with a few of them before, and although there is still a sense of pride around them, they’re good people.

“Ah, so yoo’r jus’ gettin’ dun for da dae, ay sof-skin? Oi was dun tree hours ago!” A raucous laughter exploded from a nearby group of Okhri to my left. The one who spoke had a large leg of scabber in his hand, grease dripping from his face. “What took yoo so lon?” he jeered. I pulled the haul nearer to the bonfire, which was nestled in between the intersection of two huts just off the road.

“What do you think Drim-Lo? Pau Pau pawned off the rest of the work on me so he could go lose more bitties in the tavern!” I boomed in jest, removing the ropes from my waist to set the cart down. I shuffled closer to the crowd and dusted off my hands. “He got me again with those beastie eyes,” I shrugged. Drim-Lo let out a chortle and gestured for me to take a seat next to him.

“Ole’ Pau Pau uh? Dat man noes ‘ow to play yoo like a lyre!” he cried, smacking my back more times than necessary. “Ah haha! Dat ole’ dog got more in ‘em den Oi taut!” the group again filled the air with their howling. “‘Ere, take a piece o’ scabba Tah Ren! Dat’l make yoo feel betta, my fren,” he shoved a chunk of the meat, juices gushing out, right into my mouth. I chewed into the flesh graciously, not paying mind to the grease dripping down my chin, and then ripped it out to breathe. As soon as I got some air I dove back into the deliciously spiced scabber, probably boiled in broth seasoned with gabra and papaki, then simmered for hours. The pungent, spicy aroma from the gabra only made me want to eat more quickly, and the smooth, creamy glean from the papaki made the texture incredibly tender. Drim-Lo sure knows his way around a spit. I scarfed the remaining morsels down, and started choking. “Slow down dere sof-skin! Oi noe oi make rye scabba but yoo need to pace yoo’rself my fren,” he proceeded to grab a waterskin and tossed it over to me, which I promptly drank with unadulterated zeal.

“Ahhh,” I sighed, content with the state of my now unclogged throat. I took a moment to check out the other Okhri, still sniggering in between whispers. “Well, my friend,” turning back to the man I knew, “while I truly appreciate the food, I do have some unfinished business with Pau Pau.” I began to stand up when Drim-Lo put his rugged teal hand on my shoulder and sat me back down. The navy blue stripes on each side of his cheeks wrinkled mischievously, a twinkle in his sea green eyes.

“Well my fren, before yoo go, couldn’t you show my bruddas dat little trick yoo doo wit yoo’r Aura?” he smiled from ear to ear, revealing his many jagged teeth as he nudged my shoulder and scanned the group. I stared at him reluctantly, hoping he’d let me off the hook. “C’mon Tah Ren, not evrybody has da blessing of an Aura yoo noe! Oi noe yoo might not tink it is special now, but yoo haf talent! Ay, stone mahn?” The others joined in.

“Ai brudda, show us!” one chimed.

“Nutting to feah, rye?” They started to murmur with excitement, and after a few more nudges from Drim-Lo, I sighed and leaned down to start searching the ground.

“Oi a’ready got one for yoo.” He said it with a sense of pride, before flicking a small, dense stone my way.

“Right, thanks.” I closed my eyes and took a deep breath. I concentrated for a bit, feeling the stone resonate in the palm of my hand, and began to focus on extending my energy into it. I visualized the magnetic thread that joined us, my exertion of force over the hunk of hard earth. The other Wielders in our town say that every Aura is similar in nature, but unique in practice, and that each Wielder must discover its secrets for themselves. Although I haven’t fully grasped the truth behind this ‘blessing,’ I suppose it is a neat trick. The breath of surprise filled the space around me as the stone began to float slightly above my hand, spinning slowly. I started accelerating the speed at which it spun, and over a few seconds the stone compressed into itself, becoming more dense with each moment. I opened my eyes, the pebble now swirling rapidly enough that a light buzz was emanating from the friction it caused in the air. “Target?” I asked with a crooked smile, turning toward Drim-Lo. “If I remember correctly, this was your idea, was it not? Drim-Lo? My friend?” The other Okhri snickered amongst each other, though Drim-Lo was sweating.

“Aha, listen my fren. Did’n Oi feed yoo rye scabba, ah? Don we go way back?” He put his leathery hands halfway in front of his face, slightly flinching at the ever-louder buzz. “It is okay, Oi won ask you again my fren, jus put da rock down. We can eat more scabba!” he cautiously backed away, while the guffaw of his brothers grew more hysterical.

“I think we all know what's going to happen here, right?” I mused, surveying the others. They cheered in response, laughing boisterously and spilling drink on each other restlessly. I faced Drim-Lo once more. “Well, you’re the one who wanted a show, Drim-Lo!” His face fell, and he accepted defeat. I moved from the inner circle into the open, and condensed my connection to the rock, pulling it closer into my palm. As soon as I felt it scrape against skin, I extended my arm toward Drim-Lo, and released the thread all at once. A jolt ran through my shoulder as the sphere exploded from my hand, hurtling through the aether before my friend could think to react. A sharp whir followed behind as it struck right into the center of Drim-Lo’s chest, knocking him back a step. The projectile bounced off his hide-like skin into the road, leaving a hole in his shirt and a tiny drop of blood trickling through. He let out a gasp when he realized the worst was over, followed by an eruption of teasing ridicule from his companions.

One of them cried out, “Ai! Brudda Drim-Lo got terra in is eyes!”

“Drim-Lo yoo’r legs are tremblin’, no?” another cracked. The rest of the gang went on about his ‘sof-soul.’

“TAH REN!!!! Yoo are lucky Oi am not a sof-skin brudda, what if yoo had taken me out?” Drim-Lo shouted, massaging his chest.

I punched him in the arm and joked, “C’mon Drim-Lo, we both know a stone isn’t enough to break through you, even if I can shoot it faster than you can think!” The Okhri looked proud of his resilience, and flashed a quick smile.

“Yoo are rye ‘bout dis my fren, Oi am tough, ah?” he gestured to the slight tear in his chest, “only a scrash!” The rest of the brothers confirmed his analysis, and stood to pat him on the back. I stayed with them a few more minutes, then said my goodbyes and hooked back up to the cart.

It didn’t take long before I could see it in the square. It was surrounded by small stalls with vendors frantically presenting whatever they could find, or rather whatever they could sell. I avoided their attention, and trudged through the commotion until I past the noisy stonewood saloon. It wasn’t grand, but it was ours. I was shocked out of thought by the scent of fresh food and drink as it weaseled its way into my nostrils, prompting my stomach to glide over; though I still had to fulfill the quota. Luckily, the Collections Bureau is just on the other side of the pub, and soon I would be sipping on firewater with Pau Pau, watching him lose our bitties, and basking in a brief respite before we start again tomorrow. The cacophony of voices pouring out sounded like it was a good night, so I hurried past with the rest of my strength until I reached the bureau.

It was a short building made completely of stone, the newest and cleanest structure in our town. A fresh sign hung from the sleek wooden post beside the drakewood door, that read:

“COLLECTION’S BUREAU - NO BITS SHORT”

To the right of the office was a veranda, under which serves as the loading area where we deposit our bits for the day. Jutting out from the wall there’s a slot to pour materials into, and a scale connected to the pan inside it. I watched the seventy-five bit weight on the outside slowly rise to become level with the slot as I ran through three full sacks. Perfect! I pulled a small lever next to the slot, releasing the pan and dropping the contents into a much larger container below to be sorted later. I repeated the process with the other three bags, and left the cart in a nearby corral before I strode inside the office.

The interior was quiet. One lone table sat in a corner with a lantern lit on top of it, and a couple plates to keep it company. Silky red cloth lined the stained windows, and a long dark wine-colored rug lay out in front of the door leading up to the front desk podium. Behind which stood slimy, scaly, scum of a man, arms stretched across the face of his arrogant pulpit. He had thick skin, thicker than Drim-Lo, and it was an odd mixture of grey, brown, and green, swirling together in an almost dyed fashion. The tips of the top row of his teeth slithered out from his lips, and his yellow eyes harbored a thin slit for a pupil. On top of his head was a crown of ivory horns, the tallest being nearer to his ears and the rest getting smaller toward the middle. Undoubtedly Draconian.

“Hmmm…” he hummed, snidely. “Tah Ren, to what do I owe the pleasure?” he put his right hand on his chest, bowing faintly. I started walking toward the counter without a word, and he chuckled. Standing upright, the lizard continued. “Now now, sir, there is nary a need to be disrespectful. Don’t you agree?” My stride did not break until I reached the podium.

“Raggah,” I uttered, leaning against the platform, “I just finished turning in my quota, as well as Pau Pau’s.”

“You’ve got to let that old dog know he’s responsible for his own work, Tah Ren. I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night thinking about how unfair it is for you.” He half-smiled. I pushed away from the desk and folded my arms, gaze unwavering.

“Oh, don’t you worry about me Raggah, I’ll be fine. I’m just here for our bitties.”

“Ah, yes of course! We wouldn’t want your hard work to go unnoticed, would we?” He started rummaging through a bag in the cubby of his podium, the click-clack of bitties being tossed around drew my attention. The serpentman muttered to himself as he completed mock calculations. “...so he did seventy-five… plus, seventy-five… hmm… okay, great! You, sir, are to be rewarded thirty fine bitties. You are very welcome, no need to express gratitude.” A small bag of the coin slid across the table to me.

“Thirty?” it slid back across.

“Thirty!”

“I’m supposed to get thirty-five bitties for a hundred and fifty bits.”

“Well, yes; if you were keeping them for yourself.” He wet his lips. “But, since I know you’ll just go split with that lazy no-good mutt, I figured I might teach him a lesson in work ethics.” Once again, the bag slid my way. Fury raged inside of me, like dozens of warrior’s fists were pushing against my skin from the inside, begging to be unleashed. Raggah simply kept that same smug look on his face, blinking as if to say, ‘is there a problem, sir?’ The thin, durable razors he had for claws caught my eye as he tapped the countertop rhythmically. I grit my teeth, snatched the pouch and spun around, swiftly striding toward the door. “Thank you for your hard work!” he sang. “Oh, and do come again sir…”

The brisk night air cooled me off. By now, lanterns and torches were lit all over the square, and the scurrying of bodies itching to wind down filled the space. I scanned the crowds, some cheering to good health, others praying for it. I peered down at the bitties in my hand, tossing the sack up and down while I thought of a way to get back at Raggah. Stumped for the moment, I figured some firewater couldn’t hurt, and started making my way to the tavern. I wandered through the throngs of people, squeezing between them in what was now a much more lively square. The vendors had some interested buyers, and others were simply enjoying the atmosphere, drinking and laughing and talking. Keeping to myself, I stepped further toward my destination and stopped at the beaten-down entrance. I juggled the pouch of coin one last time, and took a step inside.

I had a few moments to appreciate the familiar ambience of the pub before my focus was attracted to a heated debate. Pau Pau was engaged in a game of insults with some Gaieri woman, clearly after a rough loss. I glanced around at the other regulars, going about their own conversations, when I briefly saw someone I’d never seen in the tavern before. A Humana, probably my age. I noticed he was wearing some sort of cloak, but before I could get a good look he got up to go the washroom, and vanished behind the stalls. I decided to pay him no mind and strolled up to the bar counter. Jardin Po, the barkeep, smiled and sent a wink my way.

“If it isn’t my favorite patron, Tah Ren! What can I get for you this fine evening, good gentleman?”

“Hey, Po. I’ll take a Dragon’s Breath, please. Oh, and make one for Pau Pau too, he looks like he’s gonna need it.” I looked over my shoulder to Pau Pau’s booth, and it appeared he was even more frustrated now, standing up from the table with his hair on end, seething. I laughed to myself at the sad state of the old dog, but hopefully I could bring up his spirits with a free drink. I reverted back to Po, who was without a care, busy mixing spirits and giggling to himself. At least he enjoys his work.

A crash rang out from behind me, and the whole bar fell silent. I spun around and saw a withered Ohkri sprawled out on the floor, coughing up blood. He reached out his arm, perhaps a way to cry out for help, when a foot stomped hard into it’s flesh, grinding back and forth.

“AHAHA! YES! OHG’LI!!!!!” the owner of the foot shrieked, “I GOT ANOTHER NO GOOD SLIMY FISH MAN FOR YOU!!!! AHAHAHA!” I took a look at the offender, foot still grinding. He was a stubby Draconian runt with a sick distortion on his reddish-brown face, like inflicting pain was his greatest desire. “C’MON C’MON C’MON! DIDN’T I DO WELL?! AREN’T I SO DILIGENT?! DON’T I DESERVE PRAISE?! EHH?! OHG’LI!!!!!!” A thump sounded to my left, and a large, seasoned Draconian stalked toward the commotion. He was three times as big as the runt, with a massive warhammer slung across his scaled back. He wore nothing but a cloth around his waist, and his eyes were a wildfire. While he finished the drink in his hand, the runt carried on. “RAGGAH CAUGHT THIS ONE TRYING TO SKIMP HIS BITS! WHEN I HEARD, I TOLD HIM, ‘CAN’T YOU READ THE SIGN, CAN’T YOU?! YOU DUMB FISH!’ AHAHA, YES! I AM A GOOD SERVANT, THE BEST MAYBE! DON’T YOU AGREE, OHG’LI?! I DESERVE A–” He was cut short when the larger lizard swung his arm out to the left, smashing the glass against his kinfolk’s head, sending him flying through the tavern doors screeching.

“I’ve grown tired of your inane babble,” he grumbled in a deep, raspy voice. The remainder of his drink spilled down his fist and onto the floor, pooling under the old Okhri’s legs. “So,”–he wiped the liquid off his hand–“trying to skip out on work, are we?” The giant stood over him, peering down with a stoic gaze. “You do know that everything you have, everything you call yours, is thanks to us, right?” The poor man below started to speak, but the oppressor slammed a palm into the back of his neck, lifting him off the ground with one hand. My fingers burned into the bartop, and I clenched my jaw in rage. “That means, that we could just… take it back, right?” he hissed, tightening his already stiff grip. “AND NO ONE, COULD DO, ANYTHING ABOUT IT! RIGHT?” He bared his teeth, pulling the man right up to his maw. Then, the Draconian started shaking his hand, flailing his prey. Disgusted with the display, I ripped my hand from the counter and stepped forward with a grunt, when a hand pressed against my chest to halt me.

“I know, but we can’t really do anything right now, can we?” I looked to my right, trying to break free. The strange cloaked Humana held me back, his head pointing down. “We can change this world, but not right now.” He looked up, and I saw his eyes for the first time. They weren’t the kind one would expect to see on a Humana. They were undoubtedly Draconian. Unable to speak, I took a quick glance at the rest of what I could discern of him. I noticed a hunk of scaly red tissue protruding from his scapula, and immediately remembered something Pau Pau once told me.

“You’re a half-bree–” his hand cupped my mouth, and he glared at me intensely. He shook his head; I nodded and turned back to the scene unfolding. Everybody in the tavern was looking away in agony, gritting their teeth. I saw Okhri crying with fists clenched, and Beastmen holding back snarls. The tyrant was chuckling now, swinging the now limp body of the aged man. He was dead. I’ll never forget the way his mouth gaped with tear stains down his cheeks, his eyes strained. When he was finished, Ogh’Li hurled the lifeless body outside, breaking a door off its hinges, and returned to his seat. For a few moments everything stood still. Then the reality of my life set in as everyone slowly resumed their evening. As if nothing ever happened. I felt a tug on my shirt and turned around to face the half-breed, who gestured with his head to follow him. I looked to Jardin Po, and saw a man I didn’t recognize.

“Here you go, Tah Ren…” he solemnly passed me two glasses while looking down. I stared at them for a brief time before picking up a glass in each hand, and walked past the strange man toward Pau Pau’s booth. I noticed Drim-Lo was sitting with some of his brothers at the next table, his face in his hands. With a pang in my heart, I dipped my head toward them and sat the drinks down next to Pau Pau. The Gaieri woman had left during the commotion, and the aged Beastman sat alone with his hands in his lap.

“Somedays I wonder if we’ll ever go back to the way things used to be. Then I watch something like that, and realize freedom may never breathe again.” Pau Pau reached to grab one of the glasses, and took a long sip. “Sure, back then we never got along with Okhri. But we never shook a man to death in front of his people,” –he raised a clenched fist– “we fought with honor.” I watched as he sipped again. He set the empty glass down and looked at me.

“Sounds like you’re itching for a fight, old dog.” The half-breed slid into the booth and swiped my drink. “I may have an opportunity for you,” he whispered, before gulping down the whole thing. “Ah, that’s better.”

“Have you no respect?” Pau Pau fumed, “A shark that swims toward the smell of blood without thanks is no better than the dragons.”

“But I am no shark, I am the fish that cleans its teeth.”

“What are you on about?” I chimed in, “and why did you stop me earlier?”

“If I hadn’t you’d be just like that Okhri by now, maybe worse. And you’d never get the chance to hear my proposal.” I squeezed in next to Pau Pau.

“I thought half-breeds were extinct.”

“Maybe they are, but you’re focusing on the wrong thing.”

“Well, what should I focus on then?”

“The fact that one half-breed won’t change anything, and neither will one more Humana dying in a bar in the middle of nowhere.” He stared me down. “That said, I happen to know of something that might interest you. That is, if you’re looking to turn this world on its head,” he said, twirling the glass. “Listen, I can’t give details now, but if you meet me on the ridge just above your mine I’ll tell you everything.” With that, he stood up and walked out the door before I could think of a response. I looked at Pau Pau, who appeared as if his mind starting working for the first time.

“Go with him, Tah Ren. I’m too old, but you can go with him.” I couldn’t even get a word in before Drim-Lo spoke from behind me.

“Oi am goin too. Oi cannot sit here an watch my bruddas be killed anymore.” He stared at me, stone-faced.

“Aren’t you sick of this life, boy? Working in the quarry, day in and day out? I don’t fully trust that man yet, but anything is better than a life such as this. Please, go with him. For me. For us.” I remembered how I felt a few minutes ago, when everyone forgot about the dead Okhri and went about their night. I felt helpless, and I never wanted to feel that way again.

“Okay,” I said, “I’ll go.”

After packing some essentials, I said my goodbyes with Pau Pau, and headed out beyond the quarry. I walked with Drim-Lo under cover of night, only a few torches were still lit. He was carrying a stick as tall as him, with odd slits cut into the sides. I wanted to ask what it was, but figured silence might suit us better. We made it to the mine and started to climb up the rocky crag. At last, we reached the summit, and spied a silhouette standing at the edge of a cliff about a hundred feet away. I took one last look down at my home, the only place I’d ever known, and proceeded with Drim-Lo toward the man.

“Ah, there’s two of you, great! Only, my wings can carry one of you at most, so…”

“Yoo tink yoo need to be born wit wings to fly?” Drim-Lo clicked a button on his staff, releasing wide spans of cloth up and down the shaft, with the widest arc at the front. “Dis is my people’s wings.”

“I’m impressed, I thought the only gliders were in the Rolling Mountains, but it seems you’ve kept one hidden here this whole time. Well, let’s go then, time is wasting.”

“Wait, why are you both talking about flying?”

“It’s the only way to sneak out of this place without being seen, plus it makes it way easier to get to my home. Your friend looks like he knew what was happening, he didn’t tell you?” I looked to Drim-Lo. He sighed.

“Tah Ren, Oi am much older den yoo tink. Oi remember da day I first came here dat dere was a cliff leadin to da Rollin Mountains, but Oi never left because of my bruddas. But tings have changed... Dey want me to go wit yoo.” I still didn’t fully understand the situation, but the half-breed locked his arms around my chest.

“Ready?” he asked.

“Whoa, hold on a minute. You expect me to fly down this towering cliff face with someone I don’t even know?”

“Well, if that’s the only issue you have, the name’s Ryder,” he declared.

“Tah Ren.”

“Drim-Lo.”

“Okay! Tah Ren, Drim-Lo. Let’s go turn this world on its head.” I opened my mouth to protest, but we had already jumped off the edge, the wind ruffling through my clothes as we soared into the night.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Dakota Boll

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dakota BollWritten by Dakota Boll

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.