Fiction logo

Ten Fantasy Genre Writing Prompts - Part One

Your sword to fight writer's block!

By Allyson HowellPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Ten Fantasy Genre Writing Prompts - Part One
Photo by Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

Writing is hard. There's no doubt about that. Writer's block makes it even harder. But there's nothing like finding the perfect writing prompt the moment you need it. Or even stumbling across prompts and ideas to save for later.

A hundred writers could be given the same prompt and still create a hundred different stories, so whatever you make is up to you. These writing prompts are pretty broad. So, feel free to distort, fix, or copy whatever you want!

I made these prompts off the top of my head, so prompts for part two will definitely be brewing in my mind and in my notebook until the next prompt post. I added questions to some of the prompts to really get you thinking. I haven't seen it done before so it's new and enjoyable to me, and I hope it is new and enjoyable for you as well!

Without further ado, here are the prompts you came for!

1. A heavily guarded experiment facility is broken into - and the discoveries within are certainly worth guarding. Does the main character share what they found, or help guard the facility themself?

2. The climate becomes too extreme and the main characters build a protective building to survive. Over the course of the story, they uncover why the climate has become so dangerous.

3. Main characters living in totally different worlds swap lives for a while and everything they thought they knew is distorted.

4. The main character wakes up in a different world and spends the duration of the story trying to adapt and blend in. Do their efforts help the conflict, or make their experience weirder?

5. A sword is crafted from a crystal that was disregarded as a myth long ago, and it's almost impossible to handle carefully.

6. A new type of food is discovered, and people have mixed feelings about it. Is it real? Is it deadly?

7. It's not the moon or the sun, but it's bigger and more visible from Earth than both. What is it?

8. An animal species is revived from extinction, but it doesn't behave the way researchers predicted. Are the animals more dangerous, or more domesticated?

9. Unicorns are found in a previously closed-off part of the world. Do they match their mythical character, or defy it completely?

10. One person can see things beyond human vision. The only thing between this person and the rest of the world is a vivid description.

I think these prompts could be really fun and captivating when used by a great writer. Personally, fantasy is my favorite genre, both in reading and writing it. My second favorite is science fiction, which I'll likely have prompts for in my next post.

I really liked coming up with these prompts, so I hope you enjoy using them!

My writing has always been fantasy and science fiction, and I write in all sorts of mediums. I write screenplays, novel works-in-progress, and short stories. Now that I'm writing this, I feel like I could make a monthly journal about writing like I'm doing with my business.

So many ideas!

On another note, it's likely that I'll be using these writing prompts sometime in my career. When I do, I'll be sure to post them here on Vocal. Given how hyperactive and impulsive I can be, it wouldn't be very surprising if I did use and post these prompts on a whim.

If you enjoyed these prompts, consider checking out my page. I write about fiction, business, writing, and more. I am a teen going through the adventure of forming my own business, starting with this blog on Vocal. I post as often as I can.

Thank you for reading my prompts, and consider subscribing to my stories for more.

Happy writing!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.