Fiction logo

Switch

Don't Be Fooled

By J. AndresPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Switch
Photo by Max Kleinen on Unsplash

I sat there with my head lowered. My heart raced, beating uncontrollably under my chest. I moved my hands that were tightly gripping each arm of the chair to the top of the desk in front of me. I tried to take slow deep breaths that I inhaled and exhaled from my nose, but could not keep my body from shaking. I swallowed before unclenching my jaw,

“What do you expect me to do?” I said slowly, my voice trembling.

My eyes moved towards him, trying to find him through my peripherals. He took a step forward, his black shoes just beside me now within vision as I looked down. His suit rubs together as I hear him extend his arm out towards me. I suddenly feel the pressure of a cold metal barrel at my temple. I try not to flinch, but a sound comes from my throat. I try to calm my stressed breathing. He started slowly,

“You’re gonna open that computer, you’re gonna find that video, and then, you’re gonna delete the video.”

“I don’t know what you’re–”

“Yes you do,” He dragged, asserting an almost playful tone that somehow made him scarier. He chuckled, “yes you do.”

“Listen,” I paused trying to gather my words, my chin trembling, “My brother and I don’t really speak anymore. I haven’t seen him in weeks before–.”

“Yesterday, before yesterday, ain’t that right? We saw you’s gettin’ a little cup of coffee together yesterday and he told you what he did.”

“He didn’t tell me any–”

“Yes he did.” He was firm now.

“No! I swear.” The panic was setting in.

“You’re lying.”

“He didn’t! All he said was that he had something that was important.

“And he told you about the video he found.”

“Video? What video??”

“The goddamn video!!!” He pushed the gun harder into my head, and threw his face next to mine. I shut my eyes. “The video he took of something that wasn’t any of his goddamn business!”

I fought my urge to start crying, and as much as I could, a couple tears escaped. I opened my eyes and looked at the blood that was pooling on the hardwood floors. I took a deep breath before speaking as calmly as I could,

“All he told me was that he had something, and it was important, and he was going to keep it safe on his laptop. That’s all, I swear.” He sighed. “That’s all I know. He didn’t tell me about any video, I never saw any video, I promise.” I was pleading now.

He removed the gun from my head and took a step back. He was wearing a matching gray suit and pants. Now really looking at him, he was probably younger than I thought.

“Regardless if you saw it or not, you’re gonna open the computer and you’re gonna find it and get rid of it. You’re gonna help me out right?”

“I can try.” I muttered, my face covered in disgust.

“I’m sorry, what was that?”

“I’ll try!”

“That’s what I like to hear” He waved his gun, gesturing to the computer. “Well get to it.”

I breathed in and out, trying to stay calm. I reached to open the laptop, my hands shaking. What did Bryan get himself into? I should’ve reached out to him, and the last we spoke before yesterday was at our nephew’s birthday party over a month ago. I wish I tried harder with him. I shouldn’t have yelled at him yesterday. Tears began to fill my eyes again. I clicked on his user icon and the desktop opened immediately. I was slightly surprised he didn’t have a password.

“Okay, I’m in.”

“Now find the video.” He responded unimpressed.

He was pacing and circling around me, then came to a stop. I can see past my vision that he had squatted down to the floor. I opened his computer files and became even more surprised. I kept clicking and searching. I was shocked and I didn’t wanna speak up about my findings. I paused before I turned around,

“I don’t see where–”

He was bent down next to Bryan’s body, my brother’s body. Anger filled me, just seeing him standing next to him, careless and unbothered.

“Yes?”

I cleared my throat,

“He doesn’t have anything on his computer.”

He stood up,

“Look again.”

“No, I mean he doesn’t have anything on his computer, at all. No pictures, no documents, and no video.”

“Let me see.”

He got up and quickly walked over to the desk. My eyes stayed looking at my brother. He was wearing a shirt I got him a couple years ago. The silly graphic tee was soaked in his blood that had flowed onto the floor and was now starting to dry. I felt the urge to scream and cry swimming in my stomach, but I just stared. I turned back towards the computer. He’s clicking and poking,

“What the hell?? How can this be? He told you it was on his computer.”

He set the gun on the desk as he looked at the computer. I saw on his desktop, one single app was there. I moved my fingers over the trackpad and clicked on the icon. A page of what appeared to be a separate file organizer opened up.

“What is this?” He impatiently asked.

“Um, I don’t know, it looks like another drive with files on it.”

We both interestingly observed.

“Yeah okay, okay. I see files, documents– videos. Right there. Click there.” He jabbed at the laptop screen. “This is where he probably kept all his shit for his articles. You know, your brother has been busy the last couple months. Been pissin’ off a bunch of powerful people, not just us. We been watching him for a while.”

“Who are you? Who is ‘we’?”

“You don’t needa worry about it.”

“You’re going to kill me anyway right.”

He slightly smiled,

“Let’s start with finding this video and we’ll work the rest out. Now click on the button.”

I clicked on the screen and we immediately were met with a pop up. To my fear, it was a password screen. Bryan knew what he was doing. I swallowed,

“I– I don’t know his password.”

He turned to look at me,

“You don’t know his password?”

“No, why would I?”

“Well you better start guessing!” He screamed at my face.

I winced and closed my eyes.

“It could be anything.” I said with my eyes still closed.

“Well good for you it says ‘rest your password’ right there.” He pointed at the screen.

I looked at the computer then at the unattended gun. I looked at him,

“You know my brother uncovered a lot of truths that corrupt people were trying to hide. Whatever he found, it will come out.”

He turned at me. One hand on the desk and the other on the arm of the chair, and he leaned right in my face.

“Is that a threat?”

“You must be new to this.” His face grew angry. “You could’ve just taken the computer instead of waiting around for me to come.” He was enraged now. “And you should’ve checked if there were cameras.” I pointed up to the bare ceiling. He instantly looked up with angst just as I hoped.

I immediately punched him right in the throat. He fell back onto the floor, both hands around his neck. I sprung up and reached for the gun. I whipped around and threw my arms out. With the click of the safety, the man stopped moving. He looked up to see me standing over him. His eyes met the barrel of his gun pointed at his face. He tried to sit up keeping one hand still on his throat, his coughing stopped as he caught his breath.

“Haven’t you seen any movies?”

He stared at me, his nose scrunched, as I put my finger on the trigger.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

J. Andres

Brooklyn | 26 | He/Him

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.