Fiction logo

Suspicious Package

What a mystery!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Finally, the summer had arrived, and all the kids were out of school. There was no more rushing around trying to get everyone fed and out the door on time.

It was a sunny summer day when the clouds rolled in as I sat at the park watching the kids play. They ran around chasing each other while some slid down the slide, and others swung on the swings.

The sounds of laughter filled the hot summer air. I could hear the song from the ice cream man's truck as he had come around the corner.

Kids running towards their parents asking them for a few dollars. Then they took off down the street as fast as their little feet could carry them.

With so much excitement in their eyes as they reached the ice cream man's truck completely out of breath.

He liked to drive down the street just a bit farther. He said it was his way of making his customers healthier.

I walked over to the truck and reached it just before he was about to take off. I got my favorite ice cream bar. It was a Chocolate Crunch bar. I had bought my sons some Fudge bars too.

After we sat at the picnic table and finished our ice cream we headed back home.

It was about a 5-minute walk. But not too bad as the air had started to cool off. It looked like a storm was about to roll in. The clouds were a shade of dark grey it reminded me of the sky at night.

When we had arrived at the end of our driveway, we spotted it. Sitting on our porch was a suspicious package wrapped in brown paper.

No one knew what it could be. We tried our best to remember if we had ordered anything that had not been delivered yet.

We had received my parent’s birthdays gift a few months back. Just the other day the gifts we had bought for Mother’s Day had finally arrived.

We could not think of anything else that we had been waiting for. So, we looked at the address on the suspicions package wrapped in brown paper. Thinking maybe it had been addressed to one of our neighbors.

Sometimes we get our neighbor’s mail. But nope it had my name on it. The suspicions package wrapped in brown paper was definitely delivered to me. We sat there for a few more moments not knowing what to do.

It looked heavy and was big and round. Not what we were used to from all the rest of the packages that have normally been delivered.

So, the boys each picked up one of the sides and carried it into the house. They set it on top of our kitchen table.

We were filled with anticipation. What could it be? We started to make a few predictions.

Maybe it was a new Xbox console, or a basketball hoop. Maybe it was a pool for the backyard, or a really cool telescope.

We could not wait anymore. We tore off the brown paper and to our surprise. It was a customized big drum with a black and white tie-dyed hide.

There was a small jar of bear grease that came with it too. It had been ordered months ago and we had forgot all about it.

So, this suspicious package wrapped in brown paper was not all that mysterious. We should already have known it was something we had ordered, and it had to come sooner or later. But in this case much later than we had expected.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.