Fiction logo

Summer Solstice Swim

Lightning - Phoenix - Motorcycle

By Joyce O’DayPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Summer Solstice Swim
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

The night of summer solstice was one to remember. My new friend and I were swimming in the sea off the west coast of Mexico in the state of Nayarit watching the sun set when lightning struck. I felt chills like an electrical current run through my body. I looked over at Antonio who shot up from the surf twenty feet into the sky like a Phoenix rising from the ashes. I swam over to where his body landed; he was hot to the touch, but he was gone. I tried to drag his corpse back to shore, but between the crashing waves and the thunderous storm, it was too much for me.

Back on the sand, I wrapped myself in Antonio’s semi-wet towel, grabbed my bag and Antonio’s backpack, and in the pouring rain, I walked home to the studio apartment that I had rented for the month, and draped Antonio's towel over the balcony on my veranda to dry. Once inside the apartment, I peeled off my bathing suit and took a warm shower. Afterwards, I dumped the contents of Antonio’s backpack on the small kitchen table.

Anxious to roll a joint with the weed Antonio had shared with me earlier that day, I quickly found the container I was seeking. Luckily, the stash and rolling papers had remained dry in the leather pouch. I took a couple of hits to steady myself. What a crazy day. I had only met Antonio that morning at the coffee spot I discovered the week before. He had been to my hometown in Southern California a few years back when he was visiting a cousin. His English was solid, and we immediately bonded over a shared love for papaya.

With a bit of hesitation, I jumped on the back of his motorcycle to drive to a nearby orchard where we loaded up on mangoes, bananas, and, of course, papayas. We stopped off at a scenic vista to smoke a joint, and I invited him to my place for a fruit salad. We talked for hours, and ended up in bed. Afterward, Antonio took me to his favorite place for the best scallop meal I ever tasted. We smoked another joint, and Antonio suggested a sunset swim. It had been a perfect day, up until the point when the lightning struck.

I started sorting through Antonio’s belongings: a wallet with 420,000 pesos, a set of keys, a clean t-shirt, and a journal. Although my Spanish was poor, it was clear that the journal was more like a ledger with financial accounts of some sort. I was not sure what to do with it. I took the cash and stashed it in my tampon box. I threw the wallet, keys, t-shirt, and ledger back into the backpack. In the morning, I would leave it near where we had parked the motorcycle.

Bam. Bam. Bam. Two gangster-type men in their late 20s burst through my door. I backed up until I was sitting on the disheveled bed. In poor English, one of the men with a Pancho Villa-style mustache asked me where Antonio was hiding. The other guy had already grabbed the backpack and was riffling through it. I did my best to explain the whole lighting disaster. They spoke to each other briefly, but the words came out faster than I could comprehend. The guy with the mustache and poor English asked if there was anything else, and I handed over the container of weed and zigzags. “Keep it,” he said.

“How did you find me?” I asked.

He pointed to the beach towel draped over the railing outside my door. “You should leave town,” he advised, as they quickly descended the stairs.

I didn’t hesitate. I could see a few neighbors peeking out from behind their window blinds. I threw my belongings into my suitcase, abandoned the beach towel on the railing, and walked a few blocks to a popular hotel, where I paid for the night in cash. The next morning, I was on a plane to San Jose. It was a shame about Antonio. He was handsome and charming. We could have had some serious fun together. Still, the cash I had lifted from his backpack bought me a few years in Costa Rica.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Joyce O’Day

After retiring from teaching world history for over 20 years, I am living every day on holiday: enjoying life with my family, traveling, gardening, engaging with my community in Las Vegas, and reflecting on the current state of the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.