Fiction logo

Strawberry picking

In March, the weather was sunny and breezy, so it was a good season to go out. At the suggestion of our children, we went to pick strawberries in Weijiafan with our family.

By Karen M BryantPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Strawberry picking
Photo by duong chung on Unsplash

In March, the weather was sunny and breezy, so it was a good season to go out. At the suggestion of our children, we went to pick strawberries in Weijiafan with our family. We left for the thousand mu strawberry garden in the direction of the wildlife park ......

Walking on the Xiao Crow Highway, I looked out the window and saw a colorful green background everywhere. In the distance, the rape blossoms in the mountains had already withered, and the green rape spikes were growing, and under the spring breeze, layers of green waves were blowing. Suddenly, I saw a blue sign in front of me, which read: "National Agricultural Demonstration Base". I said happily, "Finally, we are here!"

Since we had a reservation in advance, the owner received us warmly. The child grabbed a pot and dove into the shed. I, and the boss while visiting, while talking: "Our place is called Wei Jia Fan, I am a person from this place. I was married to the intimidation, our family planted strawberries, and then our land was occupied, so I took my family back to my mother's house, rented land in the village, and continued to plant strawberries. This large piece of strawberry land is all from our village, there are more than a thousand acres. I have ten large greenhouses." "Ten, so many? Then let's take a look together! Huh, how come these greenhouses don't have their clothes on?" I looked at the ten greenhouses side by side in front of us, all still covered with a white film, but they were not as tightly covered as in winter, and at the lower end of the greenhouses, the film had been lifted, so I asked a question. The owner said, "Now the temperature is high, and the strawberries are already the second batch of fruit, so they don't need to be fully covered, so they are only half covered."

When we walked into the greenhouse, bright red strawberries poked their heads out from the green leaves as if they were greeting us warmly. I am also a "tasty guy", so I couldn't wait to squat down and pick one, and I was about to put it in my mouth, but I was afraid of the drug, so I asked, "Boss, can I eat it directly without washing it?" "Of course, you can eat it. When we sold the strawberries, many customers thought we had smeared the fruit with 'reddening', but in fact, there was no such thing. It's just that when we planted the seedlings to prevent insects, we did not smear the redness on each fruit as many people think. You can eat, eat directly, we are directly picked to eat." The boss said, he also picked up one of them and put it into his mouth. There were some villagers nearby who were picking strawberries from the owner's shed, so I ate several of them. Wow! They were sweet and sour, soft and juicy, and so delicious! "Eat them, just eat them in the garden, but they cost 15 yuan a pound." "Haha, to eat the money back." Everyone was laughing and joking while picking and eating strawberries. I ate several in a row before observing the strawberry trellis.

I found that the strawberries were growing one by one, like a neat line to welcome us. The strawberries were big and small, green and red, and they stayed quietly on the ground. The red strawberries made me salivate. The strawberry looks like a chicken heart, but it is much bigger than a chicken heart. The stems are too thin to support the strawberries, so the strawberries always lie on the ground, the sunlit side is red and purple, while the side that is stuck to the ground is white and red. When I started to pick the strawberries, I bent down, plucked the leaves with my left hand, and gently picked them with my right. I found that some strawberries were bright red, some had a little white on the tip, and some were not ripe at all and were green, so we picked only those bright red strawberries. Most of the strawberries were cute heart-shaped, but there were also some strange shapes, like a dollar, like a wallet, like a butterfly, cute, and I put them all into my pot. Suddenly, I saw a huge "giant" strawberry in the grass not far away. I was so happy that I swallowed three mouthfuls and reached out to pick it up. I didn't realize that the bottom half of the strawberry was bad. "How come the bottom half of the strawberry is bad when it looks so good?" I asked the boss. The boss looked at me and said, "Because strawberries are a very delicate fruit, if they are next to the ground, they do not breathe, and if they do not breathe, they are bad. Therefore, there are some rules when planting seedlings. The concave side should be facing the ditch so that the fruit will hang on this side of the ditch and will not rot." Oh, so that's how it is. The strawberries were sweet and sour, soft in the mouth, and crunchy with some golden strawberry seeds. The children gobbled them up, and the bright red strawberry juice splashed on their red cheeks, which was especially cute. The strawberries were full, but there weren't many in our little rook.

"Why don't we pick them from a different shed?" The child said. "Sure, I'll show you the 'cream strawberry' in the shed on the side. It's another variety of strawberries, and its fruit is sweeter. Even the green ones are sweeter than this 'Spring Fragrance' variety." "Really?" We couldn't wait. When we came to the "Cream Strawberry" greenhouse, we found that the seedlings of this variety were taller than the "Spring Fragrance" variety, the stems of the leaves were longer and greener, and the planting method was one cage at a time. I picked up a half-red, half-green one and tasted it, "Hey, it's really sweet!" I picked up another green one, which was also sweet, but it was too hard to find a full red one. The owner said, "The cream strawberries are bigger and sweeter, but the yield is not as good as "spring fragrance." So we picked a few more "cream strawberries", and there was half a pot, so we were ready to bring them home and call it a day.

When we came out of the shed, we saw a wooden box in front of the wooden house built by the owner, and the bees were busy flying in and out. The bees spread pollen to the strawberries to produce sweet fruits.

With the strawberries in my hand, I was happy to go home, and I felt that I had gained a lot from the trip: I had enjoyed my eyes, my mouth, and my knowledge!

Short Story

About the Creator

Karen M Bryant

Like to use words to record the drops of life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Karen M BryantWritten by Karen M Bryant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.