Fiction logo

Stingy rich man

There was a miserly rich man in a certain country, and his neighbor was a poor man.

By FlenderPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

There was a miserly rich man in a certain country, and his neighbor was a poor man. It was a famine, and the poor family had nothing to eat. He went to the rich man's house next door and pleaded:

"Lend me two marks, and I'll return it to you in a few days."

The stingy rich man rejected him and drove him out viciously.

After a few days, the poor man lay in bed and moaned:

"Oh, my eyes hurt!"

He said this to all who came to see him, and his eyes did not move, and everyone believed him.

When the rich man heard that his neighbor was blind, he came over and asked him hypocritically:

"My brother, what happened to you? God have mercy on you!"

"It's called a disaster!" the poor man replied, and then quietly said to the rich man: "Tell everyone else to go out, I have a secret to tell you."

When they were all gone, the poor man drew the rich man to his side and said:

"Everyone knows that you are the richest and most respected person in the country. You don't need other people's wealth. I trust you like I trust God, so I tell you the secret. When I dug the ground the day before yesterday, I found a gold cellar, a cellar of real gold shining with gold - my eyes are blinded by the light of gold, and the poor are this poor life: I am afraid that the gold will not be safe at home. You see, I have no cabinets and no boxes, where do I hide it? After thinking about it, I can only ask you to help me and ask you to keep my gold and your treasure together. If I die, it will be yours. Anyway, I have no children and no children, and I am widowed. If God forgives me, I will come to you to get it if I want to use it. This excessive request, be sure to ask your neighbors to share it and promise me. "

The miser was so happy that he didn't know what to say, and hurriedly asked:

"Where is the gold?"

"Tonight, when everyone is asleep," the poor man continued, "I will grope and carry the gold to your house, and you will hear me knocking on the door. Knock three times, and you will open the door."

"Okay, okay, I'll wait for you." The rich man went back happily.

In the middle of the night, the "blind man" came to the rich man's house with a heavy leather bag on his back, knocked on the door three times, and the rich man immediately opened the door. The poor man handed him a leather bag. The mouth of the leather bag was tied tightly, and there was a clanging metallic sound - in fact, it was an old chain that tied mules and horses. The miser took it happily. He thought that the poor man's eyes were really blind, and boldly opened the dark wall where the gold and silver treasures were stored in front of him, and put the poor man's leather bag in it.

"Don't worry, it's safe with me!"

The poor man inquired about the place where the rich man hid his treasure, and after a while he turned back, took all the gold and silver, and went to a foreign country.

The next morning, the stingy rich man wanted to see what kind of gold the poor man had stored and how much, and saw that the door of the dark wall was opened, and his gold and silver treasures were gone, but the leather bag was still there. When I opened it, I saw that it was full of rusted old chains, horseshoe feet and other rubbish.

The rich man fainted and fell to the ground.

The rich man was ill, very ill. When the god of death came to him, he called all his family, relatives and friends, to him, and said intermittently, "Don't be mean, don't be greedy, don't be like me... Remember: stinginess and greed will bring death..." He left these last words and went to see God.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Flender

Record the dots of life DiDi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.