Fiction logo

Stefan and the Enchanted Realm

Chapter 1

By Mandy JoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

Stefan sat at his computer, staring at his three screens with spreadsheets. Slowly he sat back in his purple racing style gaming chair. His eyes slowly closed.

The open windowed bullet shaped train encircled the top of the volcano, and the ground began to shake. Within a few moments the train turned and descended down the side. Stefan slammed against the side of the train. His eyes popped open, looking around, he didn’t know where he was at. The conductor walked down the aisle asking for everyone’s ticket. Stefan put his hands in his pockets looking for his. He couldn’t find out.

“Sir, do you have your ticket?”

“No, I can’t find it.”

A voice from behind him spoke up, “I believe I have his and mine.”

Stefan turned to see who was behind him. “Dude! It’s so great to see you. Thanks Jonas.”

The conductor punched the tickets and said, “Make sure those seatbelts are tight, the train is starting to speed up a bit faster than normal.”

As it picked up speed the windows automatically rolled up. Palm trees flew by on each side.

Stefan looked at Jonas and exclaimed, “I don’t think we are going to be able to stop!”

Jonas sat there watching out the window and glanced back at Stefan, “Yeah, it will.”

“It’s picking up more and more speed. We are going to end up in the water if we don’t stop.” He frantically responded.

Jonas smiled at him, “It’s going to be alright.”

Stefan shook his head, threw his hands up in the air, and let out a blood curdling scream. The train hit the water and splashed it all around. It continued running along the top of the lake until it started going in a circle. Soon it was spinning like a top, when it dropped to the land below the water and the opening sealed behind it.

It came to a stop at the train station. Stefan fell back in his seat with his eyes and mouth wide open, but silent.

“See, I told you it was going to be alright.” Jonas assured him.

“How did you know? I’ve never had this happen before, have you?”

“Yes, this is not my first trip to The Enchanted Realm. I come here on a regular basis. In fact, Kai and Maila have also been here with me. I am glad that you could join me this time.”

He squinted his eyes, tilted his head, and looked over at Jonas, “How did I get here? The last I knew, I was sitting at my computer. I must have fallen asleep and when I woke up, I was on this train.”

“This is a great realm that I discovered a few years ago. With everything that is going on on the surface of the earth, it’s an opportunity to get away from it all. This area is completely protected by the forcefield. It opens only to let those on the train in.”

“So, I can come here any time I like? How do I get back home? Does anyone miss me while I am here?” Stefan questioned.

The conductor came down the aisle and stopped next to Stefan, “Are you ready to get off the train and explore?”

“Yes! Yes! I cannot wait to see what’s out there.” He excitedly replied as he jumped up out of his seat.

Jonas and Stefan stepped out onto the wood platform where the station was encircled by weeping willow trees. Dragons of multiple colors flew overhead. The two of them walked around the station and off into the gardens where the fairies flew all around them. Kai and Mila appeared at the edge of the garden. Stefan picked up his pace and walked up to Kai.

“Girl! I had no idea this place was here. Why haven’t you told me about it?” Stefan asked her.

She looked up at him, “I tried, but you didn’t act like you wanted to hear about it. I am glad that you are here though.”

He leaned down and gave her a hug.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Mandy Jo

Mandy Jo loves writing fiction and travel. Currently her writings are a fictional story but also a walking training manual; some recipes that she made over Christmas; a mystery series, and a fantasy series.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron2 years ago

    I caught myself looking for more. This has the makings of a television series.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.