Fiction logo

Stars in My Eyes

(Hey, I have a horse with that name!)

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
11
Stars in My Eyes
Photo by Lefty Kasdaglis on Unsplash

“Do you have to tinkle?”

I smiled, then choked back a chortle when I caught the flinty Scorpio gaze lasering me back into place – you know, the place where no laughter is allowed at the expense of the narc.

“Oh. My. God. You’re serious?!” I said. “Don’t ever say that. We’re both grown-ups (debatable, in hindsight). Don’t ever say that again.” ….........

For one thing, you’re not conversing with a two-year-old, but also, I am an adult who knows when I need to pee (was the rest of the conversation going through my head.)

In the eight years before I married the asshole, I don’t think I’d heard that phrase. (I should have ended it on our first date when he chewed his pizza too loudly, but that’s a story for another day...live-and-learn, right?)

Now, every time I think of that word, the childhood nursery rhyme comes to mind. You know (sing along):

“Tinkle, tinkle little star …”

The voices in my head are laughing – they think I’m hilarious!

We’ve now been divorced for more than twenty years. Me and my x-husband, not me and the voices. They remain in my custody.

****************************************************************

Thanks for reading!

MicrofictionHumorHistorical
11

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Ah, stupid exs and those inside voices!! Glad you only kept the one, lol.

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Very, very good! It reminds me of why my ex is my ex also. 🤣

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Oh, this was so well done and so clever!!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    OMG, this was hilarious. “Tinkle, tinkle, little star…” I am never going to think of that nursery rhyme in the same way again. Now I wonder, though…is the relationship with the voices in your head a happy one, or did you reluctantly get custody of them?

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    At the risk of repeating someone else's words... those last three sentences tied up a very neat package - KUDOS!

  • A handsome exchange, if I do say so myself. I'll never approach teaching beginning cello lessons the same way again, lol. Never surrender custody of that sense of humor, my friend.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Lol. This is great. Loved that last line. 🤣

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Got a good laugh out of this one. Especially the last few lines about the voices 😂

  • Oops! Not really fiction - should be in "confessions?"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.