Fiction logo

Starcrossed Lovers

My version of how the Sun and Moon came to be.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
65
Starcrossed Lovers
Photo by Tyler van der Hoeven on Unsplash

As the sun will set

The moon will rise

Never to meet

Each other’s eyes

Destined to be apart

One’s time will to end before

the other’s will start

A glance but nothing more

Once lovers with passion

Unrivalled by the Gods

Who felt no compassion

By putting them at odds

The punishment they bare

For flaunting a love so rare

Giving her a heated flare

And him the cold night air

Destined to remain apart

Punished for their love

Longing for the other’s heart

Watching us from above

She became the sun

And he the moon

Their love story is done

Each singing a new tune

Their love will never be requited

Together again, they will never be

For this the Gods will be delighted

Having separated them for eternity

A note from the author:

This is my version of the myth of how the sun and moon came to be. There are a lot of versions of the story of their creation, some say they are lovers and others say brother - sister. Some of the mythologies even state they have no relation what so ever, which is very intreguing to me.

In my version I have chosen lovers that have flaunted it before the Gods and were thusly punished. Doomed to rule separate realms of the human word and unable to meet again. Used as a warning and lesson to others who dare flaunt their love before others.

This was inspired by a poem I read a long time ago about the sun and moon falling in love and giving birth to the stars. I wish I could remember the author and where I read it, so I could add the link but unfortnately I am at a loss.

However, I altered the story by adding a bit of a twist to it, to give it more of a tragic/ star crossed lovers feel. I hope you have enjoyed my version of this myth, thank you for the read!

Short StorySatireMicrofictionLovefamilyFableClassical
65

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Had a little bit of free time and what better way to spend it then in your profile! I guess this is why some people keep things private. Because we never know who's genuinely happy for us and who's actually jealous. It's just so sad that they're people like that. I loved that you added your own twist to this myth! I enjoyed the reread! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Carly Bush9 months ago

    Such a cool take on an interesting prompt. Love this!

  • ema10 months ago

    It's a wonderful poem Donna ❤. The impossible love between two such different and opposite entities is heartbreaking. The gods are always cruel and envious!

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Gorgeous poem and I loved the concept behind it too. Congrats on top story!

  • Pravi10 months ago

    Enter the vocal writing contest! https://awards.vocal.media/nomination?grsf=pravi-0j1k2t

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I really loved this poem and the authors note that followed. Great work, Donna and congrats!

  • Zeeshan May10 months ago

    Starcrossed Lovers: A captivating tale of the origin of the Sun and Moon, reimagining their creation in my own version!!! https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    This is such a lovely poem, it touched my heart. Well done!

  • Petro Wolmarans10 months ago

    O My word. Everything flows in one. Loved it.

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Oh my goodness, spectacular! Absolutely love this myth! Great job and congrats on top story!

  • JBaz10 months ago

    A great tribute to the unknown author, and a beautifully tale you told. Love it Congratulations

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    You are on a roll my lovely child Donna. Enjoy the glitz and glamour of stardom . May you ever shine like the sun. Congrats.

  • Awesomeeee! You got a Top Story for this! Yayyyyyy! Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Andrei Z.10 months ago

    It's interesting that you chose the sun to be feminine, and the moon masculine. I've (haha, and the Greek mythology as well) always had the opposite associations in my head:)

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Hey, great work Donna. ☺️👏 Congrats on your top story.

  • Kennedy Washika10 months ago

    Wonderful work. this reminds me of past events in my life.

  • Yulianto Arif10 months ago

    Congratulations.!

  • Simply Explorer10 months ago

    Loving it... Amazing feel :) Congratulations.!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congratulations! 🎊

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    Have you ever seen the movie, Lady Hawk? Great movie and this reminds me of it. Love it.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Swoon!!! Love and loving this!!!❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on T S too!!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯😉🎉

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wonderful, evocative words, Donna! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I loved this version, this is almost like my childrens book i wrote about the same thing!!!! Love this so much! 🖤

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Passionate; Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.