Fiction logo

Squad 156

I signed up for this...

By Ahna LewisPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - September 2023
44
Photo by Eduard Delputte on Unsplash

To set the record straight, I signed up for this. The uniform, the drills, the sleepless nights, I willingly volunteered. I knew my life would end the day I entered the Academy. I just didn’t expect it to be so soon.

“Miles Anderson.” The sergeant’s voice gathers like condensation, dripping with liquid power. “Approach.”

As I step forward, I try to hide the trembling of my hands.

“Anderson, reporting as called,” I respond according to custom.

The sergeant eyes me, inspecting my uniform, scrutinizing my face, combing me up and down in search of any…weakness.

I try to take a deep breath, but the tight fit of my government-issued vest makes it impossible to relax. The seconds pass painfully, tiny pinpricks of torment. I can no longer be still. If I don’t speak, I’ll go crazy.

“I am ready to serve in any manner. I’m strong. I’m among the fastest runners. I received top marks in my class. I—” I freeze, the words at the edge of my tongue suddenly feeling cheap and insubstantial.

The sergeant’s eyes have glazed over. He is bored with me. I have failed to impress. Instead of speaking, he waves his hand lazily to the left, the area designated for Squad 156. My last sliver of hope disappears.

~~~

Oliver, my blue-eyed brother, is playing down by the stream bank. His unruly hair catches the shifting sunlight as it ripples through the swaying tree branches. He looks so content.

“Miles! Miles, look!” Oliver holds a toy boat he has fashioned from sticks and river grass. There’s even a little sail rising proudly from the center. “I’m going to see if it floats!”

He places the vessel in the water and watches as the sail he has fashioned from forest leaves flips upside down beneath the current. His smile sinks right along with his ship. He snatches the vessel before it can get too far downstream and I see his eyes well with tears.

I’m beside him now, my hand resting on his shoulder. “It’s okay, Oliver. We can fix this. You just need a little more weight at the bottom. What you need is a keel.”

“A keel?” His face scrunches in confusion.

I nod, taking a thick piece of tree bark and wedging it vertically into the bottom of the boat. “Try this.”

I hand him the boat and he places it gently in the water. To his delight, the ship stays afloat this time, the sail pointing straight and true towards the blue of the sky.

~~~

We’ve been marching for days now. Crossing the frosty tundra, we navigate a maze of dwarf shrubs and tussock grasses. My feet are raw and blistered. The ear flaps of my hat are frozen outward at an awkward angle, making me feel clownish and ill-prepared despite my Academy uniform. Now that I've been assigned to the Squad, the number 156 is embroidered on the front pocket of my vest. Seems a bit of a waste.

“Company, halt!” The squadron leader’s voice blankets the desolate landscape. He pauses, checking his map and compass. “Just beyond that ridge is the enemy threshold.” He throws his hand in the general direction. “We divide here, striking in three locations. Conrad, your team will go east over the far ridge, Everett, your team west around the moor, and Anderson, you’ll meet them head-on.”

I swallow, trying to calm the lurking terror. I knew it would be me. Ever since the cold eyes of the sergeant, I never had a single doubt.

~~~

The recruiter is standing on our porch. I should know, I’d recognize an Academy uniform anywhere. His dark hair is greased back and military hat tucked beneath his arm. My heart is drumming against my ribcage and a cold sweat forms on the back of my neck. I feel nauseous, but I have to open the door.

“Good afternoon.” I nod curtly. “How can I help you?”

“Congratulations, Mr. Anderson.” The recruiter reaches out to shake my hand. “You will be pleased to learn a member of your household has been summoned to the Academy.”

After six years of fearing the worst, the worst has finally come.

“I’ll go get my things.”

I start to turn when the recruiter clears his throat. I turn back, and he looks me up and down, visibly frowning.

“Oh, we’re not here for you, Miles Anderson. We’re here for the boy, your younger brother. According to our records”—the recruiter checks his clipboard—“Oliver has all the qualities the Academy is seeking. The boy has potential to be a great leader one day.”

There’s a twist in my stomach, his words stabbing like a knife. My mouth goes dry and it’s all I can do to muster my next question.

“But he’s so young, Sir. Surely, there’s another option?”

The recruiter shrugs. “Well, there’s always Squad 156, but I’m pretty sure you don’t want that.”

It’s as if my whole world has frozen. All I can hear is the blood rushing in my ears, the pounding of my heart. I look the recruiter dead in the eye. “If I volunteer, you won’t take Oliver?”

He nods. “That’s right. Only one recruit per family.”

~~~

Machine gun fire splits the air, tearing the calm into a thousand pellets of molten lead. Distant explosions glow red and white, the sky flashing like sirens. Tick, tick. There’s no escaping. Smoke, gray and pink, furls in billows around my head. I try to make sense of my surroundings, but the ringing in my ears is impossible to escape. I press further into the folds of enemy territory. The destination is just ahead. Enter the gates. I just have to get inside. Tick, tick.

I hurdle a mound of rubble, ducking my head at the onslaught of gunfire that follows. One hundred more steps. An explosion cracks above me and I instantly drop to the ground. Sliding my arms forward, I army crawl several meters through the ash-strewn street. A thick cloud of smoke enshrouds me and I roll to my feet and start to run. Fifty more steps. Tick, tick.

As the smoke clears, I hear the voices of enemy soldiers. Their finest gunmen are tracking me now. What was incredibly dangerous has now become insanity. Tick, tick. An array of bullets shatters the glass of a building behind me. I swear I could hear each bullet spiraling past. Ten steps. I feel the heat from fires sprouting up around me. Beads of sweat drip down my face and neck. Tick, tick. I’m nearly there. Five steps. Tick, tick.

I hurl myself into the gates just as the ticking in my vest runs out to zero.

Short StoryCONTENT WARNING
44

About the Creator

Ahna Lewis

Just a high school English teacher who never quite got over her dream of becoming an author. :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Pearl and Marina !4 months ago

    Noooo the cliffhanger!!! :( This is so amazing -- Great job on getting the military aspects correct! :D (Also, this is Sam and Star reading this. We're so happy you've found something you've enjoyed doing and you're passionate about. We do miss you, but are very proud you're excelling in life.) (P.S, thank you for accepting the fact that we were very different from everyone else, while the others didn't give us a chance. Thank you for being the best English teacher ever.)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wow, intense. Great story!!

  • Wow! I did not see that coming. What can I say Ahna you have outdone yourself. Excellent story. So well written. I am completely impressed.

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Great story. And wow, an explosive, well potentially explosive ending. Congrats 🍾🥇

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    If you are a veteran "Thank you for your service." this is a great story.

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This was great story-telling. The ending took my by surprise. It had a "Hunger Games," feel to me. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Madhu Goteti 8 months ago

    Your writing has a depth which appeals to my soul …frankly, battling such intuitive instincts of expression hasn’t been a cakewalk for me either …but you said the unsaid ! Certainly, hailing you for that ! Fantabulous ! Keep it up! You inspire! 🙏

  • Omgggg, I didn't expect that ending at all! Whoaaa! Miles rather choose a suicide mission than let Oliver go. So tragic! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    This was outstanding and deserving of the top story it got! A prime example of simply horrific

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    This was outstanding. Utterly compelling and so well written. My wife is AD and served in Afghanistan. Makes me feel an overwhelming sense of sadness that anyone has to go to war. Phenomenal stuff - great to see you back.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉💖😉📝💯✨👍

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    The structure is key to the emotion. This is so much more than a battle story. I felt Miles' sacrifice and the love for his brother. Amazing character development in such a short story. Cheers - and congratulations on the Top Story.

  • Margaret Brennan8 months ago

    my brother didn't write too much of a diary or journal during his time in NAM but what I found among his things was truly heartbreaking. He wasn't KIA but I believe his PTSD is what helped his health decline faster. He never spoke of his time in NAM but one of his fellow soldiers told me that he, in Rich's words, "was a hero." My heart goes out to anyone who served our great country.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Congrats on the Top Story!! I’m so glad you are back here writing again 🥰

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    Such a captivating story and incredibly well written! Great work :D

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    This unfolded brilliantly with the flashbacks. So much in a short story which takes some skill. Congrats on TS.

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    What a horrible tale, grippingly told. Congratulations on the Top Story, and WOW you've got a way with words, Ahna! I loved the flashback scenes. They so effectively gave us a reason to root for Anderson other than just being in his head. It made the end that much more emotional for me.

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Bruuuuuuutal! This really hits home, being an older brother, I'd do exactly the same thing to save my younger sibling from conscription. I'm really curious about this war they're fighting, against whom? For what reason? You've created something that really grabbed my attention and I'd love to read more about it :)

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    OH this was suspenseful and so well done omg And volunteering for his brother Congrats on top story!

  • Leon Jonas8 months ago

    It is quite.... suspenseful. Just a bit short. Something I wonder about is the nationality of Oliver and then does 'the ticking in my vest runs out to zero' refer to a suicide bomb?

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Ouch. Sacrifice on a whole other level. Well written, Ahna! Congratulations!

  • Powerfully told, Ahna.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    😭 this is so sad! I love it! I had to read it again after I got to the ending to appreciate your hints in the beginning.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Oh my goodness, Ahna, your imagery is so incredibly vivid, it made me emotional. I felt every word, every breath. Ahhh, his sacrifice 😭 Fantastic work! You are such an amazing writer! 💫

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.