Fiction logo

Somebody is death

Someone has died

By Blaise TichaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Death-dead-somebody is death

Somebody has passed on. Of this, I'm sure. I know it since I generally know it. As I lie here alone in this large, void bed and stand by listening to the downpour, I recall it as it gets back to me, this belief, this fear, skittering all over my throat with 1,000 little legs. It gets comfortable in my stomach like an incredible stone, a strong, nauseating weight. It is foul in its greatness and unquestionable in its commonality. Somebody has passed on. I don't have any idea who.

I sit up, and I take a long breath, testing my sanity out from underneath the covers so they can hang over the hardwood — cold where I press my feet. The remaining parts of the chipped red clean variety of my toes. I had expected to paint them this week, yet I was unable to pick a variety. I have been informed that I am awful at deciding and excessively anxious to pick some unacceptable one. Yet, I don't believe that is valid. Another person has just forever been there to make them for my sake. In any case, I will make one at this point.

I will call my little girl, I think. I move to the nightstand to recover my glasses. They sit abnormally on my nose, and I push them once again into the right spot as I take a gander at my cell phone, connected to the wall there. I sit tight for it to ring. I gaze. I anticipate it. However, it doesn't.

I had told my significant other, at one time, that we ought to keep the landlines, one in the kitchen and one in the room, for storms or when the power goes out. Be that as it may, there was no point, he had chosen, no moment that we had a family plan, which was costly. In any case, staying here now, perhaps there was a point, I think, and perhaps I had not demanded sufficiently.

An individual can't quiet landline telephones, all things considered, not actually, not how they do cell phones around evening time. Perhaps somebody has called me as of now, somebody with the most over-the-top terrible news, and I didn't hear.

Connie doesn't have a landline possibly; she may not answer now. Or then again more terrible, she may as of now not have the option to. I shiver, getting the gadget. No missed calls. I turn on the sound and start to flip through my contacts, squinting in obscurity.

Connie will reply, I think. Furthermore, she will be disturbed that I woke her in vain. She will say that the youngsters are sleeping and that she just kept an eye on them. Howard is unconscious next to her, and indeed, she is positive, certain, 100% sure that she can see the mood of his chest, all over, all over.

He is relaxing. He is breathing, and he has worked toward the beginning of the day. Thus, I truly shouldn't annoy them so early. Pretty much nothing remains to be stressed over, and she will visit me soon. Furthermore, we will finish our toes together, the sets of us. It should be the tempest, she will say, the tempest provoking me up.

However, Connie has consistently thought I stress excessively. What's more, perhaps I do. I place the telephone down.

I won't call her, I think. I don't have anything to worry about. The telephone has not rung. Nobody has called. Also, they generally make it happen so carefully, in quieted voices, as though the most ridiculously horrendous piece of the declaration is the waking, the gracious, so upset for upsetting you, ma'am.

I gaze at the telephone once more. I pause. It doesn't ring. I float a hand over it. In any case, I don't get it to settle on the decision. I shouldn't upset her. In any case, somebody has kicked the bucket. Of this, I'm sure.

My dad passed on when I was six years of age. I previously felt this curious queasy inclination, the vibe of knowing, as I lay in a bed a lot more modest than this one — with a fragile white metal headboard, fashioned into the state of blossoms. I got up and gazed at the roof, taking a long, worked breath and pulling the weighty blanket up to my jaw, similarly as I generally did to ward off the breeze that could occupy that room in the cold weather months

HorrorFan FictionShort Story

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BTWritten by Blaise Ticha

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.