Fiction logo

Some Things Are More Important Than Gold

Enough Is Enough

By Rachael WilliamsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Some Things Are More Important Than Gold
Photo by Daphne on Unsplash

The faint patter of footsteps echoed through the cavern. They're not even being quiet about it anymore, the thought flitted across my mind as I forced my eyes open. It has been years since anyone dared enter my lair, but it appears they have forgotten the stories and some pesky human has decided to try their luck again.

Hero or thief? I wondered as a yawn escaped my lips. I suppose it doesn't matter, they've just volunteered to be lunch. Uncoiling my stiff body, I rose onto all fours, stretching like a cat and shaking off the last few years of hibernation. A few dull scales fell free, clattering to the stone floor. As the sound bounced around the vast room, the sound of scuffing shoes paused. My ears pricked, trying to determine which tunnel they had come from when a tiny sniffle floated from the one leading to the river.

Crying already? I sneered, These humans are so pathetic. My talons clicking, I stalked down the long caverns made by a volcano much older than I, until the sound of weeping became stronger. Ducking a particularly low section, I rounded a corner expecting to find either a cavalry of foolish would-be heroes, or an even more foolish pack of idiotic thieves. Instead my eyes fell on a child. Its tear-filled eyes stared up at me in wonder.

The smell of ash wafted from the little creature as it wiped a soot stained hand under its nose. "Hello Mr Dragon," It croaked, then sniffled, then wiped its nose on its sleeve again. "Sorry if I woke you up, I hope you weren't having a good dream," its tiny voice was filled with genuine regret at disturbing my slumber that I was stumped. Dragons don't dream, I replied. His little eyes filled with wonder again as my voice floated into his mind.

Dragons also don't talk to humans, even little ones, I reminded myself. Shaking my head, I looked past him, expecting some idiot human to have used this thing as bait in some new twisted human trap. What are you doing here? I asked. Where are your parents? Sorrow filled his eyes and his tiny shoulders drooped. "They're gone, Mr Dragon," he whispered. "Everyone's gone. It's just me now." That explains the ash then.

Going against my instincts, I told the sad little human to follow me, and lead him back to the main cavern in my warren of caves. The scuff of his boots told me he followed after my tail and soon the trickle of running water echoed along with his footsteps. Turning, I sat on my haunches as his little face lit up at the sight of my lair. Piles of gold and precious rocks that I could name in my sleep were piled precariously in one corner, in the other was a pile of wood I used to keep warm in the winter. There was a little babbling brook that wound its way through part of the floor as it rushed past and above it was a hole I'd installed last century to allow some light and fresh air in.

Rushing to the stream, he plunged his filthy hands into the icy water and drunk heavily. Who knows the last time he had had something to eat or drink. When he had drunk his fill and tears no longer glistened on his cheeks, I tried again. What happened to your village, Little One? His hands froze where they had been fiddling with the wooden toggles on his shirt.

"They came before the sun rose," he whispered, so quietly that I had to lay on my belly and rest my head a few feet from where he sat. "They had horses and torches. My father pulled me out of bed and into the storage hold under the floor and made me promise to be quiet." His little hands clenched into fists. "That's when I heard people screaming, and I could smell smoke. I could hear mummy crying and asking the bad man to stop, but he wouldn't stop." Tears once again carved paths through the grime on his cheeks and dripped from his chin.

"Then it all went quiet and got really hot. I had to crawl through the hidden door that father said I was never to show anyone. Everything was on fire and there was people laying down everywhere. I could hear horses and got scared and ran. Someone tried to chase me, but I lost them in the woods." He stopped to take a deep breath, and smoke curled from my nostrils. It was one thing for humans to attack us dragons, we were stronger, quicker, and smarter, but for them to attack defenceless humans! The thought was enough to make my blood boil as I felt my fire burn within me.

This poor child had witnessed the slaughter and destruction of his home, something I was all too familiar with. I'd witnessed Younglings butchered for their parts, eggs stolen, and Ancients killed by cowards. I was done with killing. I was sick of these humans getting away with murder. I rose and turned towards the tunnel through which he had entered. "Where are you going?" His little voice echoed to me, fear lacing the words.

I'm going to make sure they can't hurt any one else, Little One. His sniffles haunted me as I stepped into the daylight and followed the plume of smoke that filled the sky with the smell of death, ready to create some carnage of my own.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Rachael Williams

I am finally following my heart and sharing my stories with the world.

My heart is for books and travel, which means my mind is constantly swimming with stories, and now it's time to let them out...

Insta: The.Journey.Of.Writing

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.