Fiction logo

Some Cake Would Be Nice

A Nigerian baker and a Japanese tech heiress bond over cake in 2063. [500 Words]

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
8
Some Cake Would Be Nice
Photo by Nupo Deyon Daniel on Unsplash

After sky-cycling from Kyoto to Lagos, Yuzuko decided some cake would be nice. Abukar didn’t look like a billionaire with his oven mitts and baggy jeans. Nor did she drenched in sweat.

“Thank you for coming.” Abukar hugged Yuzuko like an old friend. “Sky-cycling through Russia…you must be freezing and hungry. At least it’s warm here.”

Yuzuko knelt on the floor. Panting, she massaged her burning thighs. Her stomach grumbled as she nodded. “I’m glad the iBroom is solar-powered.”

Abukar dragged Yuzuko up with his arms. “Let’s take you on the coach. Lunch is ready. The orphans are coming soon, I hope that’s alright.”

“Of course.” Yuzuko made an observation about Abukar’s apartment. Peering over the balcony, the lack of technology made Yuzuko disoriented. Had she travelled back in the 2020s? “There’s not many robots here.”

“Robots aren’t really a thing in Nigeria.”

“Really? I can’t imagine a world without them. They’re so helpful.”

“I’ve heard about those AI Ovens your grandfather invented. They cook complex dinners in 5 minutes.”

“They’re really cool.” Yuzuko smiled. “They’re an absolute life saver.”

“Do you like cooking?”

Yuzuko pondered. The last time she entered a kitchen was in school. “I haven’t cooked from scratch a few years.”

Abukar bought over a tray of assorted baked goods. “I love cooking. Baking brings me so much joy. How are your family?”

“They’re all good.” The food looked so good, they were works of art.

“And your grandmother, Sia?”

Yuzuko shoulders shrugged. “Don’t know…nor care.”

“Yuzuko, my dear…” Abukar took a bite into one of his pies. “Your grandfather is no saint, and your grandmother is no devil.”

Yuzuko brought a cake near her mouth only to place it in her lap. “How can you support her after everything she’s done?”

Abukar steered his head towards the window where a great fountain towers over the block of apartments. “You see that fountain over there? Your Grandmother built that. You know the great well of Nigeria?”

Yuzuko nodded. “My grandfather built that in 2034, right?”

Abukar shook his head. “No, your grandmother did. Your grandfather had a nasty habit of taking credit for his ex-wife’s work.”

“I struggle to believe she’s related to me.”

“But she is, I can see it in you. You inherited her beauty and wit. I’m grateful for her game. All my dreams came true.”

“Your dreams?”

“I wanted to open this bakery ever since I was a boy. I never want to lose a loved one to starvation again.”

“Would you return to the show?”

Abukar nodded without hesitation. “I would gladly do it all again.”

“Even if you would die?”

Abukar’s smile widened. “Then I die knowing my family are safe.”

Yuzuko digested guava chunks in a cinnamon bun. “This is delightful.”

The buzzer rang. “That must be the orphans. They’re so excited to meet you.” Abukar smirked. “How long are you planning to say?”

“Two days.”

“Stay longer,” Abukar requested. “I will show you Lagos and we can bake together.”

Short StorySci FiMicrofictionHoliday
8

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Moshood14 days ago

    Very interested story

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Great story!

  • This was such a wonderful story! I loved both Yuzuko and Abukar!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.