Fiction logo

Sick of You

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2023
Sick of You
Photo by Fares Hamouche on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. The reflection frightened me so much, I knocked the mirror to the ground and it shattered.

"Crap. That's bad luck," I muttered.

I picked up a broken piece and looked at my haunting reflection again, this time undaunted.

My reflection was a skinnier, balding, more pale version of me and had the facial hair I had just shaved this morning.

"How is this possible," I muttered and dropped the mirror. I left the room to find another mirror.

I ran to the guest bathroom and checked that mirror. The reflection looked the same, balding skinny, pale and full of my freshly shaved facial hair.

My heart was racing. I turned away, but my reflection stood still. I turned back around, and the hairs on my neck went up as my reflection started to smile.

"Who are you? What do you want?" I asked.

"My kind watches your kind through the glass. We've done so for millenniums, since we learned how to send our watchful signals to your waters. Our technology was flawed though, because you could see us too. So we learned to look like you. We made you think we were you. Then we built obsidian reflectors so you could bring them with you and we could see you everywhere, anytime we wanted, not just when you went to your rivers, lakes and oceans. We convinced your kind that vanity was important and they needed to carry reflectors with them so they would know if they looked good! We improved on our technology again and again, building bronze, silver and copper reflectors. Your kind started to call them mirrors. Now we have glass pane mirrors to satisfy your kinds vanity," He said.

"Why are you watching us? And why are you telling me this? Why now?" I asked.

The reflection crawled out of the mirror. He turned and stared at me. I started to back up and tripped over my floor towel, then used my elbows to crawl backwards until the back of my head hit the door.

"Well, Todd, I'm getting pretty damn sick of watching you screw up your once perfect life again and again. Watching you is like watching a bad soap opera. I'm here to replace you. It's your turn to watch me now. But don't worry, I'll only make your life better. I'll even get your girlfriend back for you," The reflection said.

"I don't want her back, she was nuts," I said.

"She was nuts because you never listened. I happen to be a great listener," the reflection said.

He grabbed my shoulder and I tried to get away. His grip was incredibly strong and I couldn't escape.

"Leave me alone," I said.

"Oh, don't worry. You'll like the other side. All you have to do is sit around watching me all day," The reflection said.

“I’m not going to any other side. What makes you think I won’t just crawl back out of the mirror like you did?”

“You don’t have the controls to open the doorway,” the reflection said. I made a fist and punched the reflection as hard as I could. His chin turned sideways and he grunted.

“Oh, good. Your kind can be hurt…” I said. I lifted my fist to throw another punch and he held up his finger.

“Nunc servus meus es. Facies ut dico,” he said. I couldn’t move my body.

“What did you do?” I asked.

“That was a Latin curse. It makes you do as I say. I will now drain you of blood, I’m hungry anyway,” the reflection said, and long sharp teeth extended from his gums.

“What are you, a vampire?” I asked.

“Why do you think we have no reflections? We are the reflections,” the reflection said.

The reflection slowly walked up to me and bit my neck. My body became cold and turned pale as his body filled with color. I could feel his once cold lips become warm as he continued to slurp the blood from my veins. He finally released my neck and announced he was full.

“Now walk inside the mirror and watch me fix your life, you listless piece of garbage,” the vampire said.

“Yes, master,” I said and walked into the mirror.

The room inside the mirror was colder then mine and everything in it shined, even the dull objects. For the rest of my life, all I could do was stare at the vampire that came out of the mirror live my life and do all the things I dreamed of doing. The vampire would occasionally glance at me and smile, as if he enjoyed the fact I was trapped here forever.

Sci FiMysteryHumorHorrorFantasyfamilyFableClassicalAdventure

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Brilliant! Your work is always brilliant, captivating and well written! BRAVO Alex!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Tammy Saphire 11 months ago

    So mysterious and well written!

  • Joey Gervais 11 months ago

    Great story!

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Woah!! This is so trippy, unique, and well-told. Chilling!

  • Komalabout a year ago

    Such a unique piece. Keep it up! I am new here and looking for amazing writers. Thank you!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I really liked the uniqueness of your opening scene, it drew me in and set the scene for your story beautifully! I love that you played into that classic myth of vampires having no reflection and how you built off of it in such a creative way! This sis such an enticing and thrilling concept you came up with! This was surprising and incredibly engaging! I found myself glued to your words and unable to peel my eyes away! Truly unbelievable and such a fascinating read, I love this piece! 💜

  • K. C. Wexlarabout a year ago

    What a fun and creative take on the challenge - i love this! agree with the person below that it would be scarier with a more abrupt end :)

  • Very good story & concept. I would probably drop the denouement in the final paragraph & simply allow us to wonder for ourselves what comes next, but that's just me. Well done & congrats on top story. I have yet to ascend to such heights.

  • Milo Blakeabout a year ago

    Love concept of vampires being our reflections. Cool idea!!

  • Robin Jabout a year ago

    So the reflection basically stole your life, right? Or is it that the reflection is showing you how life should be?

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh damn! What a twist in the creature feature. Well done and congratulations on your Top Story! 😄

  • noorabout a year ago

    really good!

  • Skylar Sturtevantabout a year ago

    This was a really good story! I like the originality of it.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is such a good idea and well executed. Congrats on top story.

  • Beau Greenabout a year ago

    that was an amazing read, I'll definitely have to check out your novel!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Loved it. Especially the explanation of how the mirror came about. Congrats!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This started so unassuming bit was chilling! Great work. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Wow!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • This is excellent, loved the surreal entering the room through the mirror part, a great ending.

  • This was so creepy! I had goosebumps when the reflection said "Why do you think we have no reflection? We are the reflection!" That was awesome! Loved this story!

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.