Fiction logo

Several Attempts

Reset Your Password

By Nettie BPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
www.kofi.com/nbphotoart

I want to go on record to say that I don't believe in coincidences and that everything happens for a reason. But we all know that sometimes things happen that push that idea to the very edge, if no reason can be found then what is it? Unexplained? Unknown? I sometimes have been known to just call it scary. This particular incident can only be described as that; scary.

It was on a Friday that I decided to stay late and finish up a project for work, of all days right? I was the last one to leave the office which, of course, meant locking up and setting the building's alarm. No big deal, I've done it a hundred times before, and on this night as I left the sun was setting low and dark clouds were rolling in with a low grumble in the distance; the storm was finally coming.

I live about 20 minutes away from work in a small cabin-like home outside of the small town I work in, high on a hill overlooking the town with the closest neighbor a few miles away in all directions. I live alone with my Aussie who is only too happy to see me when I finally get home and the rumbling has increased in sound and distance.

It isn't long before a clap of thunder followed by lightning opens the clouds to let the rain come pouring down. I change into comfy after-work clothes, heat up some leftovers, and settle on the couch for an evening in front of the tv with my puppy curled up next to me. A few minutes pass when I hear a beep from my phone, I reach over and it is a message from my boyfriend.

He works for the national park as a backcountry ranger and is currently stuck at a ranger station unable to get back to headquarters because of the storm. A few more texts talk about my day, missing each other, and now they got a call about some tenters having problems and he needed to go but will text later. I tease him with a text that I'm going to go soak in the tub while he plays in the rain. (His response will be for you to imagine.)

I get up and get the tub ready with extra bubbles and soft jets for a night of relaxation as well as a glass of wine. Cue the soft meditation music with a touch of candlelight for a special effect. My eyes are closed and I'm lost in the soothing massage of jets, bubble fragrance, and soft music when I hear something from the living room. I slowly open my eyes and hear it again. Footsteps. Movement. But the steps are almost like a shuffle and coming closer to the partially open bathroom door.

I'm about to call to my Aussie when shadows in the bathroom have me look down and he is next to the tub, standing now, with the hair standing up between his shoulder blades, I sit up, turn off the jets and lean forward. More shuffling. He takes a couple of steps forward and lets out a low but stern growl. The shuffling stops and I hear a click. He lets out another growl, louder, more aggressive, and there is a definitive sound of someone stepping back, two more steps, and then nothing.

My eyes are wide, my heart is racing, my hands trembling, and someone is in my house. But how? The alarm didn't go off? I quickly jump out of the tub and dress quickly. My phone. I look around and it isn't in the bathroom, I must have left it in the living room, I turn towards the door, my Aussie has relaxed but is still on alert. Slowly, I walk towards the door and peak, my Aussie in the lead.

Thankfully, I live in a ranch-style house with a very open concept which makes hiding hard and I don't see anyone. I slowly but purposely move towards the side door that leads to the attached garage, under the side table is protection my boyfriend taught me to use. In one swift move, I have it in my hand with the safety off, leaning against the wall. A glance over to the door shows me that the security pad confirms the alarm is on.

Then I hear a beep, followed by several beeps after. My phone. Text messages. I quickly move over to the couch and swipe my phone off the coffee table and look around again. No one. Just me and my Aussie who is staying close. I glance down at my phone and the first message makes my blood run cold. "Several unsuccessful attempts have been. If this was not you, go online immediately to reset your password."

Someone was trying to access my phone, specifically the camera and my photos. But who? When? How? I could have brushed that off but it was what my boyfriend sent that made my heart stop.

"Who is in the house with you?"

"Why are they taking photos of you?"

"Are you ok?"

With a trembling hand, I scroll up and almost drop my phone, the photos that were sent to him were of me in the tub with my Aussie lying next to it. The next is of me leaning forward and my Aussie standing on guard.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.