Fiction logo

Secret Behind Quilt Demand At 44 Celsius

Why would someone ask for a quilt in peak summertime?

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5
Secret Behind Quilt Demand At 44 Celsius
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

My nephew was 2 years old. It was his 2nd summer. Last winter was his first when he experienced many new things and enjoyed them at the age of 1 and a half. He learned many new words, expressions, and above all clear likes and dislikes. His age was full of surprises for him. Our whole family was learning many new expressions and ways of showing attitude from him.

He was the sparkle of all family members. Everyone wanted to tell him new concepts and wanted to see his happiness. My elder sister was very close to him and spent most of her time with him. Both used to enjoy each other’s company.

The winter was full of surprises for him and one surprise was Groundnuts. Family members especially my sister ate groundnuts while sitting having a quilt on the bed.

She used to watch TV while eating. At that time my nephew also sat with her and ate ground nuts happily. This became their routine. At night my nephew used to ask my sister to take quilt on the bed and bring groundnuts. Every person in the house was enjoying this routine.

When Summer started and reached its peak. One day My Nephew came running to my sister and demanded for quilt. My sister was shocked. How on Earth anyone can demand a quilt at 44 degrees Celsius? She asked him “Why do you need a quilt, sweetie?” My nephew opened his closed fist before her. In his hand was a whole groundnut piece. He found it somewhere among his toys.

My sister burst into laughter. We all discussed how my nephew did not forget in 4 months about the relationship between quilts and groundnuts.

This also showed us that children memorize the rhythm and the connection of different things as we show them and practice them. We unconsciously present them with some theme and they absorb that. So be careful in making some connections before your children. You may forget but they want the same connection and presentation.

Originally published in Medium

LoveShort StoryHumorFantasyfamily
5

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi2 months ago

    Your passion is contagious. Keep pursuing your dreams with unwavering dedication.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.