Fiction logo

Late Night Phone Call

I feel sorry for myself. Why would I not value her in her life? Her death closed all the doors

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
Late Night Phone Call
Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

Late at night, there was a loud knock on the door of our hostel room. Ashi and I were in the room. Ashi asked, “Who is it?”. The watchman replied that there was a call from Rubina’s house. Ashi got up and left to listen. I also followed her. It was quite late at night, and I was praying that all would be well. This incident is from 2001. Mobile phones were not common. The hostel phone was not far from our room. On the way, I asked the watchman why the call came at that time.

All of us had spent four holidays. Rubina did not come. We thought she would come in a day or two. All three of us were roommates for 5 years.

I thought that call would be from her. But so late at night?

The watchman’s reply shook the ground from under my feet. He uttered a phrase that echoed in my ears till today. “Robina has passed away”. I thought maybe I was sleepy so I didn’t hear it right. Then I asked again “Brother, what did you say?” The watchman repeated the same and my heart stopped beating.

Ashi also had answered the call and was very worried. The watchman told all the girls of our batch. It was unbelievable, and no one was ready to buy it. Robina left us four days ago, happy and healthy. Dehydration was the cause of her death. She had acute diarrhea that resulted in excessive loss of water. When she was taken to the hospital, it was not possible to hydrate them through any means.

She was an M.Sc.(Hons) Student. She was full of life and had dreams. Her death made me repent for what I could not do for her. When someone is with you, appreciate it and do what you can for her/him. Time is crucial and takes away chances.

ClassicalStream of ConsciousnessShort StoryLoveStream of Consciousnesssinglefriendship
4

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.