Fiction logo

Second City Muse

Forever Friends

By Jen JadickPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Second City Muse
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I met you in Chicago. We instantly clicked over music and books. I got lost in your deep blue eyes and you loved my stories.

“Become a writer!” you told me.

“Me?” I questioned.

Years later, I’m writing from a different city while you are still in my favorite city; still encouraging me. I write more and doubt myself less.

“How’s the book?” The weekly query.

“Working on it.” The standard answer.

I’ll always be working on it.

“Love you.” The weekly goodnight.

“Love you too.” For the rest of my life.

Short StoryMicrofictionLovefriendship

About the Creator

Jen Jadick

Underemployed medical assistant for a posh orthopedic surgeon. I spend my days wondering "what if" and weave my thoughts into stories. I mean, what if that guy broke his arm jumping off his garage on a skateboard?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jen JadickWritten by Jen Jadick

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.