Fiction logo

Search And Secure

The resistance leader seeks an endangered marigold plant while avoiding canine robotics on a remote island.

By Ace HowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Search And Secure
Photo by Luke Schobert on Unsplash

It's been taking some getting used to but the feeling is becoming normal.

Portal travel is one of the best things a human can experience in their lifetime. Too bad it wasn't around just a few years back. We might of had an advantage. It was only a week ago I left Mars and now here I am, entering this machine occupied island in the middle of the Atlantic.

Where part of the ocean you ask?

Not exactly sure.

But my guess is somewhere near the Bermuda Triangle and all it's mysteries. The only part of the planet where this hidden island would make sense to be located.

Soon as I stepped foot onto the eerie paradise, the energy says it all. Postcard like but having that feel of the tourists being wiped out. It's amazing how there are so many necessary fruits, crops, and sources of fresh water.

You really could live here.

Who knows, maybe that'll come later.

Right now the marigold plant is the mission. This one is rare, with all it's possible health benefits and healing properties. Between technology and western medicine, humans have gotten away from the natural beauties our planet has to offer. I should be able to obtain the plant soon enough. Don't know what color I'm looking for but I was told but my sister Nikki that I'll know when I see it.

Tucked away a few yards out I peep an area that's full of green. Trees, bushes, and herbs. It's moving on it's own and it wouldn't be wise to blow my cover so I decide to take cover in a nearby ditch. I glanced up just enough to get a good look at what I'm dealing with.

They way they moved. Like they'd been doing it for centuries through instinct and reproducing. Four legs and about a hundred pounds each of pure titanium wired possibly wired with blockchain. Not sure but I have to assume. Neatly positioned razor sharp canine teeth that would tear of a limb in a swipe.

Two of em.

Most likely the guard dogs of the island. They were noting like the ones revealed at M.I.T. a couple years ago. By far more advanced and highly aggressive. While I happen to gaze around towards the sky I noticed it!

Stuck out like a sore thumb.

Long stems with a black head and a patch of white.

The marigold plant.

A much needed resource during these times.

More rare than I could imagine seeing that it grew from a tree opposed to the soil directly. Now if I could distract them damn dogs. They stood right beneath the plant.

So that was it.

The reason why they were here.

It makes sense. But did A.I. plan on human life entering the island? Only time will tell.

If I took a shot towards the plant I could risk damaging it along with blowing my cover. Needed to do something quick though.

I reached inside my travel pack to retrieve a small detonator that covered the same radius of a grenade. I set the time for one minute so I would have enough distance and time to keep the dogs distracted while I obtained the plant.

Before I go to toss the detonator, my wrist is held back by a brotha behind me who appeared from lord knows where. I took my time before reacting so he would come to his senses and I wouldn't have to knock his ass out.

He stood there quiet and signaled for me to do the same. He meant no harm and seemed like he wanted to help. From the looks of his clothing he'd been stranded on the island for a few months if not a year by now.

The robotic canines growled as they surrounded the area near the plant until they didn't.

Raised a brow for me.

WTF?!

I quickly cancelled the time and shut off the detonator.

The man who stopped me from launching the detonator pointed towards the area.

A woman appeared from the shadows as the dogs followed her lead.

I glanced at the man in utter disbelief.

"Who are you?" I asked.

The man could only smirk as his face had an entire book written all over it.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Ace Howell

The Pen.

A weapon for defense, a tool for building, or an instrument of destruction.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.