Fiction logo

The Planet Red

On a heist mission to a now colonized Mars controlled by the 1%, a resistance leader from Earth needs to seize a rare device of blockchain tech and return home before he meets his demise.

By Ace HowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Planet Red
Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

The closer I got, the bigger the light grew.

Never thought we would live to see this day but it came faster then anyone could picture.

"It's me again, Aries."

I feel like Captain Kirk and shit. I remember those Star Trek reruns like it was yesterday. Stories were dope, just never understood why nobody came across no brothas in space. Media can be funny like that, especially in those days. Guess it comes down to who controls it though.

Soon as I stepped outside this well lit portal you knew off the rip where you stood. The sky was a unique type of red, like a camera filter. It's mind blowing but also obviously dangerous in many ways. You can feel the density of the air, even through this suit which is a lightweight space material. Nikki, my sis...bless that girl. My eyes and ears through it all. She got me here but it's up to me to get back home, or else I'll be a permanent resident of Mars or worse.

The skyscrapers are similar to Earth but the steel is very much extraterrestrial. An unmarked smaller building named Station H is where I need to be. My compass reads I'm not too far away, just a few yards north. Always prepared for combat or a shootout but wanna avoid all of that best as possible. Me and Nikki agreed to suspend contact until it was time for me to return.

This mission was too important to jeopardize.

Almost there.

No need for heavy surveillance as everyone assumes you're a worker and supposed to be here. The attire gives you a one up as well. I proceeded through a side entrance. The interior was mostly offices and a few labs. Attached to my compass was a particular device that attracts the energy of advanced tech. The one I was searching for isn't that far but which door?

I took a step to my left an noticed a door that seemed to be off limits. There were no signs, numbers, or writings throughout the building. This is the part where gut instincts are required. I attempted to open the door as it was locked. I withdrew a small canister and sprayed the lock with a foam liked substance. On the opposite side was a cartridge where I could produce and release extremely low temperatures of freon. I froze the foam and broke the lock off like a piece of candy.

I entered the office.

As I glanced around there was only a desk and a chair. Why would a partially empty office seem that much off limits.

"Was this a trap?"

Damn I could some eyes around this spot right now. None of it made any sense.

I refocused my attention to survey the entire room again. I gazed down toward the end of the desk and a noticed a package that looked suspicious. It appeared as your average everyday delivery. Fuck it, I had to find out. I made my way towards the package and felt the weight before I picked it up.

I sliced the box open with a razor and there it was.

Shiny, a good weight to it, and nothing like we had on Earth. This was the next answer we needed to not only take our fight further, but to strengthen it.

What was it you ask?

Fine organic blockchain. A natural resource of Mars.

You see the stuff we have back home is broken down, diluted, stepped on like a cheap key of coke. It gets the job done but this...can do so much more.

ALARMS SOUND OFF!

Shit!

I hurried to pull out my tablet to contact Nikki. Not enough time for a live call so I sent the distress signal.

"Get my back now!" I typed.

She responded back with a message that read " Attach the cord to the tablet and connect with blockchain. After type in code and hit return/enter."

Easier said then done.

I never moved so fast in my life. I followed her instructions until I realized there was one problem.

What the hell is the code?!

Before I contacted Nikki I thought to myself for a minute. The alarms were still going and Mars' law enforcement was on their way. I heard stories about them.

Artificial Intelligence boogeymen that when they exterminate you it's like you've been cremated instantly.

Come on Aries, think!

I took a deep breath.

Only had one shot to get it right.

I glanced down to the tablet keyboard and typed "power.in.we" and hit the return/enter key.

AT THAT MOMENT...

A circular portal appeared from the blockchain device. I tossed that along with my tablet inside my travel pack and dove head first into the portal like an olympic swimmer.

As I was being pulled into a straight passage through the airwave portal I never looked back. The portal closed right before the A.I. bots reached it or could even let off a shot.

For now I was home free.

The fight will live to see another day.

The uprise will continue.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Ace Howell

The Pen.

A weapon for defense, a tool for building, or an instrument of destruction.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.