Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Sea of Blood

Wednesday 19th June, Story #171/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 7 days ago Updated 7 days ago 3 min read
Sea of Blood
Photo by Anandu Vinod on Unsplash

Blushing, he drew back. He wanted her, (ohsomuch!) the softness of her was impossible.

Always the same dance: swaying closer to the boundary, sliding a toe over, pulling back. One day I'll go too far. We won't be able to stop.

He made her feel irresistable... and yet, he resisted. Panting, trembling, longing naked in his eyes. He could neither do it, nor leave her in peace.

Some might have accused her of teasing. Or brought her a posy and a ring, begging for her hand and her whole life with it.

He made her feel so good, so safe... so she hated that she had to ask.

"Joe, why don't you ask me to marry you?"

"If I could marry anyone," his eyes were dead serious, "it'd be you. Only you. If I lived a hundred lives, I'd choose you in every one of them."

Her heart didn't know whether to sing or sink. To be loved that way, to hear it, to know it. Not cheap words to weasel under her skirts, either. Heck she, the shy one, had started pushing him, wanting more... Always he rebuffed her with excuses.

His Adams apple bobbed.

"If I tell you, you'll think I'm crazy."

"I won't."

He chewed his lip.

When I started working in the stables, I was only a boy. One night, I went to fetch two horses in from the rain. The soldier unloading the cart didn't see me. Murmuring to this huge bundle, he was. The covering came undone and I saw... a woman. Naked. Belly huge and straining. For a moment, a shiny fish-tail where her legs should be. I hurried to hide in the abandoned bathhouse before he could spot me... but that's where he brought her. He left and I heard the locks slide home. She slithered into the pool.

It was... unreal. That tail, sometimes there, sometimes not. Storm howling, with snatches of eerie song. In the moonlight her skin looked blue, like the summer sea, and pale where it was stretched tight. She suffered and heaved and thrashed. Then they cut a baby out of her belly, and she died in a sea of her own blood.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count, according to Google and excluding note: 366

Submitted on Wednesday 19th June at 21.37

Edited because I lost some formatting when I copied over and didn't notice.

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 171 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

The story behind the story: If you'd like to read the ones before this one (shouldn't be necessary, but could be nice) here you go:

Little Broken Things

The Stinging Salt

Out of Water

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

MicrofictionShort StorySeriesFantasy

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 days ago

    This was heartbreaking and beautiful all in one breath!! Great work here LC!

  • "Sing or sink" and "sea of her own blood", I especially loved those wordplay! Awesome story!

  • Was the baby her maybe? Ohhh, he loves her and wants to protect her... hmmm. Great story!

  • Caroline Craven7 days ago

    Yikes! Best birth control ever! I think seeing something like that would put me off too! Great story. So well written.

  • Lana V Lynx7 days ago

    Oh wow, what an ending, LC! Now I wanna know what happened to the mermaid's baby.

  • Mark Gagnon7 days ago

    Mind twisting! Does this mean mermaids can't give birth naturally? A strange tail indeed.

  • John Cox7 days ago

    What Hannah said.And there’s always something not quite right with a perfect guy!

  • Gerard DiLeo7 days ago

    Something definitely fish going on here! I was hooked.

  • Very Hans Christian Andersen of you! Liked the story! 🤓

  • Hannah Moore7 days ago

    Yeah, I mean, I'd be scared of knocking a girl up after that.

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.