Fiction logo

Scream 6 - Movie Review

Best Scream Movie?

By Havi NagpalPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

So Scream Six is the sixth film in the scream franchise a horror movie franchise that has been going strong for far longer than I ever thought possible especially after the passing of the late great West Craven, in this installment Ghostface comes to Manhattan that's right because we he hasn't come to Manhattan he's done college campus he's taken LA but not New York and we have ourselves something that feels new, different.

A Line from the trailer: "there's never been one like me Gail this isn't like any other ghost face"

Just like the last one felt different something about this one just feels different right out the gate though I will say you know how there's always a ghost face killing at the beginning this has something that the scene ended where I was like I haven't seen that in a Scream movie, I am interested, I perked up in my chair it was familiar but a new take on the familiar it piqued my curiosity and I was in it for this film.

This movie expands as a sequel should but the soul the heart and soul of scream doesn't get lost in that expansion it uses these new locations in fun ways the world feels bigger but it still screamed to its core all work to continue in this film what the previous film had which was a ghost face that's very menacing one can say almost angry I suppose it comes down to efficiency Ghostface feels like a more efficient killer, Starting three Scream movies he's tripping over people he's getting refrigerator doors slammed in his face when it's clearly coming the counter argument is well it's hard to see out of the Mask guess it's been figured out new mesh technology in the eyepiece is because he never comes across as bumbling in here comes across as a menacing badass with perfect 20/20 Vision who will shotgun you in the face with your own shotgun, Ghost Face killings are Savage they're bloody they're violent they're angry also this is probably the most anxiety in due sing scream film of all of them that cat and mouse game that goes on in certain scenes like that Subway scene you saw in the trailer there are a couple others which it brings you to a simmer just boils you just keeps you there like all right we're just gonna keep you here for a few solid minutes no time for rest your heart's just beating out of your chest the entire time, I'm like dude I need a minute that was awesome that's when this movie was doing it right I loved feeling like I love that this movie gave me that.

Hayden Panettiere

Hayden Panettiere's back I appreciate the fact that she is back because Kirby and Scream 4 was a standout character she died but we didn't see her technically die it was that leeway of like okay if you can bring her back that'd be great also she works how they Incorporated her into the story I like that she was back and I appreciated that they made it work that she was back it didn't feel forced I mean not forced for a scream film anyway it's some of these things start feeling like it's a very small world out there an actress who is not back is Nev Campbell as Sydney Prescott she's not in this movie I'm of two minds of it.

On one hand if you want to keep making Scream movies you can't have ghost face coming after Sydney all the time and if Ghostface is coming after someone new you can't have Sydney just butt in and be like hi I'm here obviously I'm the most qualified right at what point is she just gonna live her life on the other hand that's not the reason she's not in it it was a paid dispute I think they should have paid Nev Campbell whatever money she wanted because I feel like she's earned it for scream Courtney Cox as Gail weathers is back though her role in here does kind of seem redundant so I'm glad that I don't feel that for Sydney now with Nev Campbell gone it falls on Jenna Ortega and Melissa Barrera to carry this film granted they were the leads in the previous movie as well but in a world where the studio didn't pay Nev Campbell, Nev Campbell didn't come back it would have been easy to have the vibe of scream doesn't work without Nev Campbell and I don't mind saying it's most Alyssa Barrera and Jenna Ortega who make it work.

Annoying Things

The Thing that was most annoying in this film there are instances in here where people get stabbed and should die but they just don't some of them just don't die some of them are just up and running around in the next scene I'm like how is that though and it comes across like they are afraid to kill characters in this film and I shouldn't feel like that in a Scream movie it doesn't always happen there are people who bite it absolutely but it happens enough for me to feel like they are afraid to kill characters it all depends on what you want out of a scream film what you're accustomed to getting out of a scream film.

Conclusion

Celebration of horror check! Menacing Ghostface double-check! gory bloody kills absolutely! celebration of scream also there! because you're not just celebrating horror movies now it's the sixth installment of scream so now you have scream celebration as well all wrapped up in a new location in the big city that lends for new possibilities and you feel that kind of scope I had myself a good time no alcohol required alright so Scream Six have you seen it what did you think about it if you have what's your screen order from best to worst the new screen movie so it's in there somewhere your list this time will be different than the last time so whatever you think comment below to let me know.

MysteryHorrorFantasyFan FictionClassicalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Havi Nagpal

Hey there, I'm Havi! I'm a passionate movie lover and an avid writer of movie reviews.

My writing style is pretty casual and light-hearted, and I try to inject humor into my reviews wherever possible to make them more engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.