Fiction logo

Scene Study

Siblings.

By Antoni NimaPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
4
Scene Study
Photo by Hamed Hoseini Pur on Unsplash

SCENE.

André is sitting in his apartment. He has just opened another beer after smoking another cigarette and the apartment smells like it. He is in his head with various visions of bliss and despair.

A few moment of silence before Azar enters. She looks around at the state of the apartment, drops her keys and take off her jacket before speaking.

She is very aware of the mess and smell. He *acts* oblivious.

AZAR: Hey

ANDRÉ : Hi.

AZAR : What’s been.. What’s going on?

ANDRÉ : With?

AZAR : You.

ANDRÉ: Nothing. Just sitting here.

AZAR : I see that. I haven’t heard from you.

ANDRÉ : You didn’t call.

AZAR: I texted you last night.

ANDRÉ : But you didn’t call.

AZAR: I texted.

ANDRÉ: Did you?

AZAR: Seemed like you read it.

ANDRÉ : Probably one of those “opened but didn’t really see”. Was a bit busy.

AZAR: Ok.

(pause)

What were you busy with?

ANDRÉ: Oh, you know. This, that. Living.

AZAR : Living. Got it.

(looking around the mess)

ANDRÉ: Yeah.

AZAR: Have you been out?

ANDRÉ: When?

AZAR : Whenever.

ANDRÉ : Yeah, sometimes.

AZAR : It sure looks like you’ve been busy here.

ANDRÉ : What is it you want to ask Azar?

AZAR : What’ve you been busy doing?

ANDRÉ : What is it to you what I’ve been busy with?

AZAR : I was just asking.

ANDRÉ: And I said. Busy living.

AZAR : Ok.

(A pause, a standoff)

ANDRÉ: You hadn’t called anyway. You could’ve asked if you were interested before.

AZAR: I said I texted you.

ANDRÉ: You texted me a day and a half after I called. I said you could’ve called. You could’ve called back.

(Another standoff.)

AZAR: I texted because I missed your call. Regardless of when. I thought you’d call back.

ANDRÉ: I thought the same thing.

AZAR: That’s why I texted.

ANDRÉ: Well, I’m here. I called. You didn’t answer. Why is it up to me to make the “big” effort?

AZAR: It’s why I texted.

ANDRÉ : A text is just a way to avoid, but pretend like you’re answering.

(a long glare)

AZAR : Well, I’m here now.

ANDRÉ : Great. Want a beer?

AZAR: No.

ANDRÉ: Ok.

AZAR:

(Azar looks around again, this time very exaggeratedly)

I don’t want you to run out.

ANDRÉ: You’re so thoughtful.

AZAR: It comes from keeping a clear mind.

ANDRÉ : Thoughtful and wise. Congratulations.

AZAR: I do my best.

ANDRÉ: I’ll be sure to get you the medal you deserve. Sister of the Year.

AZAR:

(quietly under breath)

Sister. Yeah. Looks like you need a mother.

ANDRÉ : What?

AZAR:

(sarcastically starts picking up some of the mess.)

Oh, Nothing.

ANDRÉ : I didn’t invite you over.

AZAR: Well, I am here.

ANDRÉ: You can go.

AZAR: I’m fine.

ANDRÉ : Don’t do me any favors.

AZAR:

(That’s rich)

I’m not doing you any favors.

ANDRÉ : So what are you doing?

AZAR: Calling you back.

ANDRÉ : Ah. A 3-day late callback. Thank you. A house call even. How lucky am I..?

AZAR : You were drunk when you called.

ANDRÉ : Was I? Maybe I am drunk now.

AZAR : I can see that.

ANDRÉ : So, it means next time you’ll be less disappointed.

AZAR: Next time, we’ll see.

ANDRÉ:

(Loudly under his breath)

Doubt there will be a next time.

(She takes the bate)

AZAR: And why is that?

ANDRÉ : Just a guess.

AZAR : That’s rich.

ANDRÉ : It is anything but. If I was rich I'd be doing much more than what I am doing now.

AZAR: If you were rich you’d still be drunk, but at a bar instead of drinking several cheap beers at home.

ANDRÉ: Exactly. Misery loves company.

AZAR : Misery might, but drunks are always alone. In a bar full of people or at home.

ANDRÉ: Again with your wisdom. Thank God for you. So is it now you’re telling me I am so unlikable that no one will want to even just drink with me?

AZAR: I’m saying you’re not drinking for company. You’re drinking to get drunk. You don’t care who’s there.

ANDRÉ: Fuck off.

AZAR: You fuck off.

ANDRÉ: Drinking is my buddy. A better buddy than you.

AZAR: Do you realize how sad that sounds?

("/" Slashes indicate speaking at the same time, about where they cut off.)

ANDRÉ: As sad as someone coming into someone else’s home /just to put themselves above everyone else? /You always do that. You/come here just to make me feel small. /Well, guess what, I don’t fucking care what you think of me.

(continued)

AZAR: /No, being drunk, and alone is sadder... / than that!/ You asshole./ Sure I make people feel small.

ANDRÉ: If I was doing better than you in any way, you’d be sure to tear me down, and if not me you'd be tearing down your girlfriend, or your neighbor with the stupid fucking boxes, or complaining about how the barista made your coffee, or even yelling at the poor bum on the street. Just so you could feel better /about yourself.

AZAR: /Great, deflect, your shitty feelings on me because you’re a lonely fuck.

ANDRÉ: I’m lonely because people don’t answer my calls.

AZAR: People don’t answer your calls because you’re always drunk.

Shots fired, the standoff over, and the siblings left staring with nothing but smoke in the air.

ExcerptShort StoryScriptMicrofictionfamily
4

About the Creator

Antoni Nima

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ha Le Sa3 months ago

    This is great work! Theater enthusiasts will find this piece both enlightening and inspiring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.