Fiction logo

SBP

Suspicious Brown Package

By Michael ShuffieldPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Where am I? Everything is a blur, I…I can’t think or recall how I got here, wherever here happens to be. I can’t move or speak, someone help! Please, anyone!

I just need to roll over to my knees and then stand. There’s no use; I can’t make a sound or move. What is my name? I can’t recall who I am or from where I came. This is all just so bizarre. Help! Ugh. If I could just…move… a…little, but I can’t, HELP, HELP! I’m paralyzed. Did someone drug me? I can’t take this, HELP, HELP!

Okay, relax, just…take it down a notch. Relax. Breathe. Inhale four seconds, hold four seconds, and exhale four seconds, that’s it, nice and calm, in and out. Think, think.

Where did all this begin? Someone grabbed me; yes, I was held in a dark room, a pitch-black room, that is, but where? I can’t think clearly or recall. Wait, wait, while I was in this room, yes, that’s it, a guy grabbed me or was a guy? I don’t know, but they slammed me onto a table, wrestling me down no matter how I resisted, and resist I did.

Those same gloved hands have now grabbed my mouth, holding it open as another person shoves things in me, ugh, ugh, gah, gah, mmm, mmm. Oh no, what did I ingest? Drugs? It had to be illegal drugs. My captors forced drugs down me, and now what? Use me like a mule to traffic their illicit substances into a foreign country? I hope, for my sake, they wrapped it well to prevent leakage into my system.

If caught, I could be charged with who knows what and held responsible for the addictions and deaths of hundreds. (Gasp) What about the children? Oh no! The Children! HELP! Children’s lives are in the balance!

Hold on, this person’s holding me down while the other duct tapes my mouth, and now my cries for aid will go unanswered. Even now, the calls seem to disappear, vanish on my tongue. Wait, now they’re binding me. Stop this! I have rights-Ugh, and now they’re shoving me in this body bag of sorts. I am resisting with all that is in me to no avail, and now one of the thugs has picked me up, taking me who knows where.

Put me down, you brute, I insist. Okay, just a bit of a wiggle, and I’m free from this miscreant. On three. One, two, three, ah, ugh, mmm. I can’t move. I have to rest. The substances they forced down me must be putting pressure on my diaphragm. I can’t breathe.

I hear muffled voices, two deep voices. Just as I suspected, both are men, but how could I identify them should the police find me? If I could just get a glimpse of my captors, I…I can’t see. Ugh, I’m exhausted from struggling. I need to rest again, just for a moment. Breathe, just breathe.

I hear something open. What is it? A door? I can’t tell-ugh, oh, ah, they roughly tossed me into a trunk I think, I may have broken something when I landed. Oh, it hurts! My entire body aches inside and out now. I hear car doors open and close. The engine started. Where are they taking me?

Now we’re moving, and speeding up. Ugh, ouch, slow down! This guy is a maniac behind the wheel! HELP! Call the police, someone! Stop this madness! Please.

I must have passed out for a while, but still, so much pain. Okay, now we’re slowing down, slower, slower, and we’ve come to a complete stop. One door opened and closed, footsteps are coming to the trunk, it’s open, and he lifts me, now he’s carrying me someplace, but as to where it is we are going, I cannot see, but I hear birds, children laughing, and cars passing. I think this is a park of sorts. None of this makes sense. Why do this to me and bring me here? This is a place of relaxation, a quick getaway from the stresses of life.

I don’t get it. Why force me to ingest illegal substances, bind, gag, and place me in a body bag in the first place and now bring me to a park? This is madness. Wait, he’s putting me down on; I think this is a bench? Why a bench? He’s walking away, thank goodness. Good riddance, jerk, you, you brigand, you criminal!

I can hear the car driving away. It’s getting further and further away. Now, call for help before they return. HELP, HELP! Someone, anyone! Call the police! Surely, someone will now see me and call law enforcement; I can’t go unnoticed here.

I hear someone walking past. I can’t understand, but they are standing just in front, inches from me. HELP! What are they saying?

Now, they’re running, I hear people screaming and children crying. What’s happening? HELP! Whatever it is, I want to get away from it too!

Hold on, are those, yes, sirens! Finally, the police are coming. I am saved! The sirens are getting closer, closer, and now they are here. Yes! Free me, officer, let me go.

Why are they standing so far away? I hear their radios and muffled speech, but no one is coming to my aid. I’m right here. What is the problem?

I understood one word, ‘suspicious,’ of course it’s suspicious, look at me! How many times do you see a person bound and gagged with tape sitting on a park bench?

I heard more, ‘SBP,’ what is that? My initials? Did those degenerates write it on the body bag? What is it? Wait, bomb squad? Is that what I heard, bomb squad? Get me out of here. I want nothing to do with a bomb! Help me, officer, help!

I have been here at least an hour now; this is absurd. My lawyer will have fun with this one. Heck, I could try this case and win. Maybe I will when this is all said and done.

I hear a large vehicle in the distance, and it’s getting closer, closer, but now it has stopped. What is going on here? I demand to know, and right now. Someone had better start talking.

Radios and voices continue in the background, and now a helicopter overhead flying back and forth. Why? For whom do they search?

I keep hearing ‘SBP’ repeatedly along with ‘suspicious package and suspicious brown package,’ but what does that have to do with me? I am the victim here! HELP! HELP!

Wait, what’s that sound? It’s a smaller, buzzing machine coming to me, but it stopped just in front of the bench. I hear mechanical clicks and whines. It’s touching me, but why? I’m no threat, I’m no criminal, and what is that incessant ticking I’ve heard the entire time? I’m so angry; I could explode.

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.