Fiction logo

Sally Loves Tommy

Chapter Two

By T. K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 14 min read
2
Sally Loves Tommy
Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

She didn't tell Tommy what she had seen. She had hope that she would make up with her parents and didn't want Tommy any more upset with them, than he already was. They rode in silence, Tommy wanted Sally to be able to get her thoughts together, so he drove to the park. Once there, he got out and opened her door. He took her hand in his and said, "Let's walk and talk about where you want to go from here." She responded, "I really haven't thought about the particulars. I thought we should talk it out together. I know I don't want you to feel pressured into anything, so I would like to hear your thoughts." "Well, last night you proposed", he began, "remember that?" She shook her head, of course she remembered. "So when I got home, I began to make plans for US" I spoke with Pops and he thought we were moving a little fast. I told him exactly how I feel about you and he understood. He said that he had fallen in love with you when you met too. :-) His suggestion was, we both complete our college education and live with him and help at the restaurant part-time to save for our own place once we graduated. I didn't tell him anything about what happened with your parents, because I hope we can work that out and be civil for you, at least!" Sally squealed and wrapped her arms around Tommy's neck. "I love you, Tommy White! More than you will ever know!!" "NO, I completely know!! Because I love you just like that too!" he hugged her tight and kissed her deep. They went and sat on a bench and talked about the future starting with today. Then they took her things to Tommy's house and got her settled in. After that they went to the restaurant for lunch and to update Pops. He was all smiles when Sally walked in with his son. "What's this I hear that you are in love with my son?" He laughed and hugged her as he said, "He is most definitely in love with you too, young lady! And I couldn't be any happier with his decision!" "That is very sweet of you, Mr. White." said Sally. "Mr. White?!? You are family now! You call me Pops, just like everybody else around here does!!" Pops went to the kitchen and cooked the 3 of them some lunch so they could sit down and discuss what was next. While pops was cooking, Sally and Tommy came up with something to tell him why Sally was already moved in, so he wouldn't know about what Sally's dad had said to Tommy. They wanted him to like Sally's parents whenever they got to meet. :-)

When grace was said and they began to eat, Tommy said, "We've already moved Sally into the house, Pops." Thomas was surprised, but pleased. "GREAT!" he said, "We really will be a family soon then!" "Yes, sir!" Tommy said as he put his arm around Sally. "We plan to go tomorrow and buy our rings and apply for the marriage license." "THAT QUICKLY?" Thomas asked. "Why wait?" said Sally. "No reason, I was just a little surprised. So, when and where do you plan to have your wedding? I will definitely cater!" Pops responded enthusiastically. "Well.... we had planned to keep it quiet and simple", Sally said. "No need for catering and all of the extra hoopla. We would rather save money and start our life together without all that debt and stress." "So, just close family and we can have it here?" Pops asked. Tommy spoke up and said, "Pops, we just want a private ceremony at our preacher's house, with a witness or two." "That is crazy talk!" said Pops. "This is a BIG reason for a celebration! You have to have more people that you would like to share it with than "a couple witnesses"!" he made air quotes to punctuate the phrase. "Sally's parents and siblings....she does have siblings, right? And I will definitely be there! And do you not have any friends that would like to celebrate with you?" "I have a sister and a step-brother, and they couldn't care less about my life. And I am an adult, so my mom and dad don't have to hold my hand." replied Sally. That sounded a little odd to Thomas, but he let it go....for now... They continued lunch and Pops told them that they would have to wait until the following weekend before they could have the celebration. He needed to take care of a few things. They agreed that they could wait 10 days. It wasn't like they would have to spend that time apart.

The next morning, Tommy and Sally left bright and early to go buy their rings and apply for the license. Thomas got up as normal and went and opened the restaurant. But as soon as he had enough staff there and the breakfast rush was over, he left to have a talk with Sally's parents before the lunch rush. He had known Pastor Gilbert Rollins since they went to high school together. And he had known Bert's first wife, Judy. He hadn't met the new Mrs. Rollins because he and Bert had had a few words and they hadn't seen each other in 20 years. That was when Judy had left Bert, because she was in love with Thomas. Thomas felt that since Judy had passed away 6 years ago, that it was high time to be adults and bury the hatchet. Bert was a Christian man and so was Thomas, surely they could have a civilized conversation for the sake of their children and, possibly, future grandchildren. Thomas knew he would find Bert at the church and felt that was as good a place as any for them to settle everything. Hopefully, pray together asking for guidance and shaking hands after coming to an agreement about wedding arrangements. Boy, was Thomas in for a surprise! And you know Gilbert was in for a shock too!

Thomas went into the church and sat on a front pew and began to pray about what to say to Gilbert. He heard footsteps coming, so he stood to greet the pastor. At first, Gilbert didn't recognize him. He walked up and shook Thomas' hand and asked, "Is there anything I can help you with brother...." He paused for Thomas to introduce himself. "Bert, you don't even recognize me? It's Thomas. Thomas White!" Bert's eyes got big and he took his hand from Thomas'. "What has brought you here today, Mr. White? I really have much work to do to get my church ready for my flock this Sunday morning!" Bert had puffed himself up to look important and better than Thomas. "I have come to discuss our children with you." Gilbert replied. "Excuse me?!? I do NOT understand what you mean!" said the pastor. His face began turning red and Thomas thought he might just explode in front of him! "Didn't my son come and meet you just this past Sunday at dinner?" he said. "THAT WAS YOUR SON?!? I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN!!!" screamed Bert as he sat on the pew to keep from taking Thomas around the neck. He began to pray and breathe deep and long. After about five minutes, Thomas quietly asked, "Are you ok? Did you not know that my son and your daughter are very much in love and going to get married?" Bert stood up and the rage that showed on his face was even worse than the last time that they had words. "OVER MY DEAD BODY!" screamed Bert, "GET OUT!! GET OUT OF MY CHURCH NOW!!" He stomped up the aisle, slung open both big doors and showed Thomas out, slamming them closed and locking them after him.

Thomas was completely dumbfounded! How could a true man of God have SO much hate in his heart? He went back to the restaurant to wait for Tommy and Sally to come in for lunch. He felt so badly for Sally, now that he knew why she didn't want her parents at her wedding. That must also be the reason why she moved in with Tommy so quickly too. He had to be sure that was NOT the reason for the rush on their marriage.

When Tommy and Sally arrived, it was the lunch rush, so Thomas stayed in the back cooking and let them finish their lunch before having the heavy discussion that he needed to have with them. When they finished their lunch, they waited for the rush to be over, so they could share everything with Thomas. Thomas gushed over the beautiful rings and Tommy slid Sally's engagement ring on her finger. They wanted Thomas to celebrate every step of their lives together, because he was so understanding and supportive of them. When they showed him the marriage certificate, Thomas said, "Sally, I know your father from many years back and I also know that he has become a pastor. So, I was very curious as to why you didn't want him to marry the two of you, let alone, why you didn't even want him at your wedding. So, I went to his church to speak with him this morning." Sally gasped and Tommy asked, "Why would you do that? I am sorry that we hadn't told you the whole truth, but we were just trying to bide our time, in hopes that God would intervene and change Mr. Rollin's heart." "I completely understand that now, son! And I am sorry that I didn't come to the two of you first. I may have made it worse! You see, Sally's mother, Judy, and I married, just after your mother passed away, Tommy. Gilbert and I had been friends in high school and we were still friends. He and Sally's mother had the 2 little girls and she and I started talking and one thing led to another and we fell in love. Judy left Gilbert and, of course that made him cut both of us out of his life. He won custody of his two girls and cut all ties with their mother. He married the woman he is with now, to have a mother for his babies and she had a son from her first marriage. Apparently, he never talked about Judy and the girls never asked about her. If they did, I'm sure he told them that she had died just before he met his new wife." Sally began to cry. "When did my real mother die, Pops?" "It was 6 years ago, Sally" said Tommy. "She used to talk with such pride about her two girls! When she was so sick, she wrote you both a letter. I would have NEVER guessed that you were one of her girls!" Thomas interjected, "She was very private about who her girls actually were, because she never wanted your father to block her even more from getting information about you and then she would completely lose you! But I knew who you were when I met you that first day. You look SO much like her!! I went to your father to talk to him about all of that, but I was very rudely sent away before I could!" "That is kinda the way it happened at dinner last Sunday." said Tommy. "He didn't send me, but he was very rude and I politely left." "I knew that my father was rude, but I would have never believed the hatred he has and how racist he is before now", said Susan, "And how deceitful, to keep my sister and I from our mother for 20 years! How can I ever forgive that?" "Because you have more love in your heart than anyone I have ever known, Sally, you deserve to forgive him even if he doesn't deserve it!" said Tommy. Thomas added, "Your mother had that kind of love too, Sally. And she raised Tommy with that love, so that you can now be loved the way you deserve to be loved. He didn't recognize her in you, because he only knew her as his mother. We always told him about his real mother and he has her picture. I think he had probably melded their looks together into one mother figure. I will give you the letter that Judy wrote when I get home tonight. I want you to read it before you decide anything else, please."

That night, as soon as Pops got home, he went to his room and got the letter. He called Sally upstairs. She and Tommy came up and Thomas said, "Go into your room and take all the time you need. Tommy and I will be downstairs if you need anything, let us know. We will always be here for you! You are family, no matter what!" Tommy hugged her saying, "NO MATTER WHAT!" and kissed her cheek. They left her and went downstairs to wait. Sally went into their room, sat on the bed and cried as she read the front of the envelope. It read, "To my most precious daughters, Sally and Sarah... I WILL LOVE YOU ALWAYS!!"

"Sally and Sarah, I hope you don't hate me for what I had to do. I did try everything in my power to stay in your lives. I hope you never go through anything like this, so that you actually understand it all. But, please, know that I have always and will always love you both with every ounce of my being! I am so proud of the way you have grown up and the accomplishments that you have made! Trust me, I have kept up with you! I hope you each find a true love, like I did with Thomas. I know your father loves you, but he never knew how to love me. I don't think that is his fault, he just never opened his heart to me like he did to you when we had each of you. I always had hope that he would open his heart enough to see what he was doing wrong one day, but it never happened in my lifetime. I am SO sorry for that! Perhaps when you each have children, he will soften and that his unweilding control issues haven't affected your relationships. Just know that you are my heart and always love and live to the best of your abilties! With all of my love, Mom"

So, short and sweet. Sally had so many questions for her mother that would never be answered! Her father surely wouldn't answer them truthfully. Why had her mother spoken of his mean nature so diplomatically? Didn't she hate him for what he had done to us all? She laid down on the bed and cried until she could no longer cry. She walked down the stairs and Tommy immediately stood and took her into his arms. "Are you ok?" he asked. "I don't know yet." she answered. "Can you just hold me for a bit?" Thomas stood and said, "I will give you both some alone time and fix some dinner. Are you hungry?" "Not at the moment, but I'm sure with time and the smell of your wonderful cooking, I will be once it's ready. Thank you so much for everything, Pops" said Sally as she hugged him too. That made Thomas happy as he left them alone. Sally read the letter to Tommy even after he told her that it was ok to keep it private, if she wanted. "You are my family, Tommy. I always want us to share everything. Good or bad, we will help each other with all problems and celebrate everything good together." Tommy agreed and listened to Sally read the letter and then voice the questions she had about it. "Sally, growing up with Judy makes me saddened that you didn't get to experience the love she had for everything. There wasn't an iota of hate in her soul. I had never heard any bad thing that she had to say about anyone, so she never even spoke of your father. Only about her beautiful, precious daughters. Anytime I ever asked where you were, was the only time she ever had a look of sadness, so I stopped asking. I figured she would tell me one day, but then she got really sick, so I did all I could to keep her happy and content." Tommy held Sally and she cried again.

When dinner was ready, Thomas called them in. As they sat around the table, they held hands and Thomas said, "Lord, thank you for this family and the love that we share. Thank you for providing the meal that will sustain our health, so that we may begin planning a wedding for this Sunday afternoon. AMEN" "AMEN!" chimed Sally and Tommy together. And they ate their meal and discussed the plans for a beautiful wedding that would take place in just 2 days...

Wedding Bells

Love
2

About the Creator

T. K. Wilson

I've always told my true event stories to friends, but decided to try my hand at writing fiction. Wish me luck and give me any support that you think I might deserve! Even if it is a read and subscribe to read more... THANK YOU :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.